1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 2dof foot mount sim powered by 12v Electric Jacks

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by mariano68, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I think it is better to do a new thread, so people can find it easier if needed.
    For those fellow members that lives in countries that it is difficult to find suitable motors other than pitty wipers, there is another cheap alternative, introducing the "2Ton Electric jacks"
    These are 12v 120watts motors, using a 50:1 gear box (or near that...) and around 55RPM

    criquet-electrico-para-autocamioneta15tn-2tn--160501-MLA20337614733_072015-O.jpg criquet-electrico-para-autocamioneta15tn-2tn--13554-MLA133966356_9014-O.jpg 71xu9IH8jlL._SL1500_.jpg

    You can find these ones on Amazon for U$S60 http://www.amazon.com/Black-Bull-EJ212-Automatic-Electric/dp/B0027Z6F3W/ref=pd_sim_sbs_263_2?ie=UTF8&dpID=41lqJukJ9eL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR160%2C160_&refRID=0S0KQBTFYEK0HV6YA7YP

    I got mines locally for U$S35 new .

    The mod is simple, just remove 4 bolts to free the motor, cut the shaft to size, you have to make a new mounting and the lever, to get something like this:
    jack mod (Large).jpg

    About the pot mounting, I decided to drill a hole in the center gear to put a 1/8 screw, and mount a gear there. That gear does 1,5 turns to get the 90 degrees we usually use for our sims:
    por mount.jpg

    The end result:
    IMG_20151101_162537.jpg

    This video will help understand better the E jack insides (not mine video):
    • Like Like x 6
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2015
  2. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Also, the jacks comes with two limiters, that someone with a little more knowledge than me can use to stop the levers to get out of range.

    Some more pics of my WIP sim:
    (Sim based on @Archie 's foot mount fim)
    Buttkicker LFE mounted at the rear with a metal plate to add effect:
    IMG_20151101_162407.jpg
    IMG_20151101_162422.jpg IMG_20151101_162443.jpg IMG_20151101_162505.jpg IMG_20151101_162522.jpg IMG_20151101_162537.jpg IMG_20151101_162838.jpg
    The nuts were lathed to add freedom of movement to the ball bearings.:

    IMG_20151101_162723.jpg

    Pedals and wheel mounts can be moved, the wheel also can go up and down:
    IMG_20151101_162906.jpg

    I'd just finished to redo the control box, adding a second MM, so now each Jack has his own PSU and MM.
    First test of the new box with SMC3:



    I want to thanks to all the guys that helped me in the way, specially @Pit @noorbeast @Archie @bsft and for sure I'm forgetting a lot more!
    • Like Like x 8
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2015
  3. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    This is live, so I hope I can add a video playing assetto just to show some real movements later.
    Also as a WIP, once I be sure it will be final, it will get a black powder paint.
  4. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Nice job @mariano68 , good to see another "foot motor" spawn simulator.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Really interested to see those Jack motors in action during a game.

    I want to gauge the speed for the possibility of making one of them into heave. :)

    Well done @mariano68
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Thanks!
    The speed is about 50RPM
    Video during a game soon :)
    Also the pots are super cheap 1 dolar, I have better ones ready to replace.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    I'm so bad at driving that I can't keep on track to get a decent video :oops: on assetto Corsa:(
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Don't worry about driving skills.

    Members of this forum are watching the sim move, not the driving.... :)
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    Assetto Corsa is no ProjectCars or Race07.....Pick a relatively low Hp car and try again, Remember slow is fast. Especially when your just learning. Yes Street cars will have less "detail" in the motion but if your struggling to keep it on track, a 500hp race monster isn't going to help.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Yup, did some rounds with the KTM, I'm getting a little better, I just need to invert the effect when you get over the "pianos" (border of the curve, don't know the name in english) is it heave or roll ?
  11. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    When you hit the "pianos" (Rumble Strip) it will be a mixture of Heave and Roll, however being a foot mount I tend to keep heave to a minimum in favour of pitch. Of course with roll, if you hit a rumble strip with the left side of your car, your sim should lean to the right, as you would expect in real life.

    I only mention it here, not to state the obvious - I am sure you have it covered, but we see so many videos with the forces replicating what the car is doing, not what the "person in the car" is feeling.
  12. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Thanks for the translation :)
    Exactly, if I hit a rumble strip with the left tire, the left "Actuator" will go up so the sim will lean to the right, isn't it? Even if I'm turning to the right.
  13. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes - It's why I found a foot mount sim so much easier to work out / tune. The front part of the sim is basically the front of the car so it's easy to work out the forces / axis.

    I've taken my foot mount sim apart now, and turned it into a shoulder mount sim. Pics will be up soon.

    Nice to know that your Sim will "carry the torch" now ;)
    • Like Like x 1
  14. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Yeah I'd read that :(, could you tell me what was wrong/or don't liked?
    I'm looking forward to see your new one!:cheers
  15. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,366 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I LOVED my foot mount sim. But it was HUGE and I needed to reclaim some of the space in my room. I could have made a compact foot mount sim, but I wanted to test what a shoulder mount sim was like. So I decided to go down the shoulder mount path.

    PROS:
    Must better response to Surge and Sway and Roll.
    Much smaller foot print. I've saved about 120cm's in overall length and around 40cm in width.

    CONS:
    Pitch is poor, you just don't feel the "slope" as much.
    Heave can be hard to offset. Too much and your teeth fall out, too little and it's pointless having.

    I'm also looking to add in Traction loss at some point, and in order to keep it compact, a shoulder mount was the way to go.
    I could have done it on my foot mount, but the base for the pivot point and the traction wheels would have been massive and taken up even more space.

    Looks like you have the space though @mariano68 , so keep the faith with the foot mount. You will love Assetto Corsa tracks if you have your pitch set right. The ups and down on Nords used to have me grinning from ear to ear...

    Damn... I miss pitch.... :roll

    :grin
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Yeah, it will take some time to tune it right.
    Also, after seeing how strong these the motors are, I think I will make adjustable levers, so 5cm for racing and maybe 8 for flight sim.
  17. OlympusSim

    OlympusSim New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    Balance:
    499Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Spanish
    Muy bueno Mariano68
    Lo habia pensado, pero los que habia visto en Argentina no me convencian para hacer unas pruebas
    A la espera del video

    English
    Very Good Mariano68
    I'm Thinking the same but i had not thought those who had been in Argentina did not convince me to do some tests.
    Pending the video

    Good Work
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  18. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Ok, first video of sim moving
    Playing Project cars with the dk2 just to show some movements
    Remember I weight 110kg...and the simtools settings are wip.

    Not a good angle, also looks like the Ujoint does a little rotation, not much but some.
    I used headphones so you can check how much noise the jacks does (not much).
    • Like Like x 1
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,612
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    96,472Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,106 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The torsional twist is significant and will soak up a good deal of accurate motion.

    As it is a uni joint where is the torsional twist originating from, does the slim mount post twist or is it something else?
  20. mariano68

    mariano68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Occupation:
    builder contractor
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    3,719Coins
    Ratings:
    +385 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, 4DOF
    Mmm that can be... I will check and if it is originating there I will be forced to add heave :D.
    Anyway, the jacks does their work fine, don't you think?