1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 2dof, arduino+ ibt2, wiper motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by polybasss, Oct 23, 2018.

  1. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @noorbeast , New problem, the right motor overheats, while the left can be touched without problem the right burns. This morning I burned one in a session of about 20 minutes, I thought it could be an engine problem but I can see that, I have the same settings for both engines in Smc3



    SSm1.PNG SSm2.PNG
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,506 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There could be a number of related factors, presuming the original motor was not faulty.

    The first is that wiper motors are not very powerful and you have a full frame rig (lots of mass), and what seems to be limited design leverage, in other words the motors are placed pretty close to the seat so have to work hard.

    So check the balance of the rig, with you in it: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...-of-gravity-to-balance-a-motion-simulator.55/

    And consider extending the bottom frame to move the motors back further, something like this: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/shoulder-mount-rod-angles.149/
  3. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Thank you very much for the information, maybe it would be easier to put more powerful engines?
    Anyway, it is not uncommon for only one engine to heat up and the other does not?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,506 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes you could add more powerful engines.

    Improper balance and the nature of a circuit can both contribute to put more strain on a particular engine, if there are no other hardware faults at play.
  5. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    and what motors do you think would be adequate?
    maybe truck wipers?
  6. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I'm thinking that whoever sold it to me says that it worked correctly but of course this was before adding the supports for the Hotas that I asked for, it made them heavy, plus the weight of the Hotas that is not a little may have contributed to losing the balance in addition to the design flaw that you comment
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,506 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  8. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    hello @noorbeast , I bought these potentiometers, I have mounted them but I can not adjust them, I was wrong in the range, right?
    pot.PNG IMG-20190620-WA0016.jpg
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,506 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    What do you mean you can't adjust them, what are you doing and what happens?
  10. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I have created with the printer a coupling for the axis in which I have mounted the pot, well, I move the pot until I have it with the blue line in the smc, then I adjust until I get the right position in the simulator the problem comes when I try to fix the position, as soon as I tighten the screw to fix it I get out of control, I do not know if the pot is too sensitive to have a low range 0-5 v or maybe the coupling is not the right one

    This is the pot
    https://es.aliexpress.com/item/Sens...291.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.2d3a63c0gk5agV
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,566
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    102,345Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,506 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Is there any misalignment between the pot and shaft it is connecting to?

    It sounds like the coupling may be putting side load pressure on the pot shaft, if misaligned.
  12. polybasss

    polybasss Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Location:
    Burgos Spain
    Balance:
    241Coins
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    It could be, I've asked for some couplings to see if it goes better, thanks
    6146RPM2-6L._SL1058_.jpg