1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

24V Motor controller recommendation

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by cnupa4ka, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    969Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    You can use your PSU. The question is, whether your PSU can handle regenerative current.

    What I'm saying, is that you cannot use resistors to dissipate the energy from braking. Most guys here use batteries for that purpose. You can also clamp some brakes to your motors.
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  2. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Here is my SPUs

    Attached Files:

  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,469
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,609Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,139 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes but you need a 12v car battery in parallell to get rid of the regenerated current from the motors.
  4. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    or better replace it with 2x32?!
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Not better if you need the additional amperage the 2x60 provides.
  6. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    This is the motors I will use..

    Attached Files:

  7. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Also I just use a 100 watt power supply with no battery to run two 2x60's so a battery isn't always required.
  8. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    So what about in my case? How do u think?
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    A 2x32 should run those okay although they may peak over 32 amps at times.
  10. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Depends on rig design and how much regen it makes. Also depends on robustness of supply.
  11. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    I mean can i drive the motors with these power supplies without batteries?!

    Attached Files:

  12. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    What about if I use this circuit?
    Is the PSUs replace the charger for the batteries?

    Attached Files:

  13. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Use of our motor drivers with cheap AC adapters is not recommended. Use a battery or at least put a battery in parallel with a DC supply.

    They say that for 2x60

    So that means I can use it with my PSUs but with battery in parallel to pick the regenerative current?

    If yes what battery size I need to put?

    The motors is 24V and I will use 2pcs PSU in series.

    Thanks!
  14. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Yes.

    One 24 volt or two 12 volt in series with a minimum of 25 amps hour for 2x32 and 35 amps hour for 2x60.

    Since your supplies aren't designed for charging batteries just be sure to disconnect them when not in use so you don't risk overcharging.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Succinct and to the point, added to the Sabertooth section of the FAQs :thumbs
  16. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Thanks mate for the nice reply!!! :)
    I will think what to do.. May I will change for 2x32..