1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

24V Motor controller recommendation

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by cnupa4ka, Mar 17, 2019.

  1. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Hi guys! Which controllers you will recommend to use for these motors? Thank you!

    Attached Files:

  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,503Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Sabertooth 2x32
  3. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    thanks mate. Do I need only one board for both? Also is it difficult for settings? Thanks! :)
  4. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, you need one Sabertooth for both motors, plus an Arduino.
    And no, it is not difficult, because @BlazinH has created a fantastic tutorial.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Markus, thanks my friend. Which arduino I have to order? Uno?
  6. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes, Arduino Uno is fine. Just have a look at the tutorial, which also explains the wiring and includes the required software.
  7. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Is chinese clone works or I have to buy genuine?
  8. MarkusB

    MarkusB Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    391
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    2,836Coins
    Ratings:
    +343 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I don't have experience with these clones. If they are not faulty, they should work I guess.
  9. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,503Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    If you want to try on the cheap you can also use two IBT- 2 h-bridges. But their quality is generally poor and they are easy to damage. Sabertooth quality is top notch and have a rock solid warranty too.
  10. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    I think better Sabertooth :) I just ask is anybody had experiance with the arduino clones :) I have one clone for sim dash. Its working without issues :)
  11. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,503Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    I don't use them but at least one commercial outfit uses them on their rigs. I've seen some driver issues since theirs is different and a few bad boards but other than that I think they're okay.
  12. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    Sabertooth Dual 2x32A where from can I buy it on English seller? Thanks.
  13. ghidossi

    ghidossi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2019
    Messages:
    35
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    hi, yes chinese clone are working well. I use it many time to build 3d printer without any issue
  14. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,548
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,892Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,597 / 10 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  15. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
  16. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,548
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,892Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,597 / 10 / -0
  17. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    I found Sabertooth Dual 60A 6V-30V Regenerative Motor Driver for £100

    How do u think is it good driver? Is it easy to setup?

    Attached Files:

  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,151
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,051Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  19. My.stAr

    My.stAr Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    969Coins
    Ratings:
    +57 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor
    If you use the Sabertooth 2x60 you will need to use batteries. There is no option to get rid of the regenerative current with resitors. Keep that in mind.
    Instead of an arduino you can use Kangaroo X2 Motion controllers. They are much easier to handle. And you can use encoders. It looks like yours motors have a brake. If you don't want to use the brake, you could use the shaft to mount the encoders. You can use the brakes with the Sabertooths controllers.

    I recently bought my Controllers here: https://www.robotshop.com/uk/
    You can also order the kangaroo x2 there.

    It's up to you, which way you want to go. Sabertooth 2x60 or 2x32 will work. Arduino and kangroo should also both work fine:)
  20. cnupa4ka

    cnupa4ka Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    355Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0 / -0
    So my friend are you telling me that I cant use 2x60 with my pcu power supplies?! :(