1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2000 watts server supply: DPS-2000BB (A)

Discussion in 'Electronic and hardware generally' started by Pit, Mar 25, 2015.

  1. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,792Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,038 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Daniel thanks for sharing your thoughts. As I have posted above I have no issues anymore. Sometimes I am going through the process as long as I can see there is some progress but now I will waste time for nothing. The DPS-2000B is a very powerful but sensitive psu. Bypassing the "intelligence" makes no sense to me. I am going to post more information in the new psu thread today. BTW not bad the power consumption of my two winches on a 220v line :
    20150418_171046.jpg
  2. Alexey

    Alexey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    455
    Occupation:
    Electronics Technician
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Balance:
    8,006Coins
    Ratings:
    +610 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Power factor could be better (can't do anything about that) but that current draw is a good indicator that the system isn't going to overload the wall socket.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,792Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,038 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I measured all again, I connected all gadgets (all motors including PSUs and ventialtors, speakers, 3 LED projectors, PC (i7 3.8 GHz, GTX 670 SLI), Notebook (Ard/MM), smartphone, T500RS wheel, bass shaker, butt kicker) to one wall socket and the powermeter as well.
    1. No driving, all gadgets on: ~950W, power factor 0.88 - 0.97, 4.2A
    2. Driving on Nordschleife: ~1200 W (~1450 W peak.), power factor 0.88 - 0.95, ~5.00 -6.00 A (9.4 A peak).
    IMO not too much I expected more. The peaks are coming from crashes.
    • Like Like x 2
  4. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    5,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +476 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    How was it setup before ? So it loosk good after all ?
    I'll get my power diodes and resistors tonight so I'll do some tests.
    I will start to assemble the motion rig probably in a couple of weeks. Getting the metal tomorrow :)
  5. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,025
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    29,792Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,038 / 30 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Before two winches one PSU.
    Great, I will follow your tests :)
    It looks very good!
  6. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    437
    Balance:
    1,180Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,399Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  8. gigi

    gigi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    437
    Balance:
    1,180Coins
    Ratings:
    +132 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK, 4DOF
    Twoor three times happened a return of power from the motors to the psu.
  9. insanegr

    insanegr !N$@n€

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Athens
    Balance:
    16,641Coins
    Ratings:
    +495 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  10. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,705Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I've created and tested this "Capacitors power bank" of 24 caps of 10000uf/25v connected all together in parallel ... then used in parallel with a normal desktop PSU 12V that kept shutting down when using a big 70Amp burst current wiper before adding this beauty then worked like a charm ...

    2015-04-27_18.42.55[1].jpg 2015-04-27_18.43.27[1].jpg 20170313_023953[1].jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2017
  11. vthinsel

    vthinsel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2015
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    FRANCE
    Balance:
    5,050Coins
    Ratings:
    +476 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Nice. You just missed a "0" in the text. The caps you use are 10 000uF, which makes more sense. Have you protected the "caps bank" by diodes or something else ?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  12. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,705Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Yes it's a 10000uf/25V "typo" ... corrected thanks :cheers

    No diodes here at all ... this power bank can absorb any feedback voltage/spikes ... and is connected and treated as if you have a car battery in parallel to the 12v charging line in parallel to the h-bridge supply lines ...
    protection diodes are actually used in the h-bridge circuit to direct any excessive voltage back to the power supply which is bad for the PSU ...

    The issue with some power supplies is that they cannot provide such huge amps at the start/reverse of a motors and that what causes many of us to select bigger PSUs ...

    So, Go for more caps enhancing the output stage of the PSU if you need .

    Caution : When done with playing .... you have to use a bleeding 35w filament lamp or 1/2w resistor for a good 2-3 seconds to make sure they are really empty "LED is not recommended as they will stay ON like forever " :grin .

    Huge difference at the motor starting torque with absolutely no shutdown protection to the PSU .:thumbs
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017
  13. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,705Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Got the idea from here ... :D:D
    • Like Like x 1
  14. speedy

    speedy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,194
    Location:
    Alexandria , Egypt
    Balance:
    7,705Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 9 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Some information references ...
    http://physics.bu.edu/~duffy/py106/Capacitors.html


    Edit: [this paragraph is c/p from the next Sparkfun link ]
    =======================================================
    Energy Storage and Supply

    It seems obvious that if a capacitor stores energy, one of it’s many applications would be supplying that energy to a circuit, just like a battery. The problem is capacitors have a much lower energy density than batteries; they just can’t pack as much energy as an equally sized chemical battery (but that gap is narrowing!).​

    The upside of capacitors is they usually lead longer lives than batteries, which makes them a better choice environmentally. They’re also capable of delivering energy much faster than a battery, which makes them good for applications which need a short, but high burst of power. A camera flash might get its power from a capacitor (which, in turn, was probably charged by a battery).​

    https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/capacitors/application-examples
    ===================================================================

    So If me myself having a problem start/reverse a big DC motor from a normal power supply which keeps shutting down => Due to the short time , but high burst of power needed ...

    Then this is what I've made and what we might need and I confirm again it is working with these normal chemical capacitors ... :cool:
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017