1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 DOF SimuKit Build

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Leo Burton, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Well, I've broken my sim! Don't quite know what happened.

    Was working fine last night.
    Today I cleaned the house, which meant dusting the sim. I was VERY careful around the electronics, but obviously not careful enough.

    I don't know if I accidentally shifted the pots, but now when I get to driving, the 'central/neutral position' keeps changing. In the Output testing, I can get it move gently but then it hits an unknown point and begins spinning in 360degrees until I click it again.

    I know I've done something physical to the hardware. Do I need to centre the pots again?
  2. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,670Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    You probably should glue the gear on pot.
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,601
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,876Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,423 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah sounds like your pot is not turning with the motor
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    Hope you get it sorted quick!
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Back from holiday, and fixed the rig! Back up to speed. Thanks @Wanegain and @SilentChill. It was the left pot was loose.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Here is an update video with the tweaked Arduino code from @Wanegain. Playing DIRT 3.
    Should look more in tune that the first video.

    • Like Like x 6
  7. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    Hey Leo, sim still running?
  8. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @Paul Shortland
    Yes still running great. Great fun when friends come over!

    No VR headset yet. Still deciding between Oculus Rift and Vive.
    Vive is winning the argument for me right now.
  9. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    I have the rift, can highly recommend it!
  10. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I know its good. I've tried both, and they both have pro's and cons.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  11. Claudio Bello

    Claudio Bello Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    227Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good job! Nice idea