1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 DOF SimuKit Build

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Leo Burton, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks @Nick Moxley
    Ok will give it a go.

    I haven't got around to the tuning min/max settings yet.
  2. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    what do you mean you haven't gotten around to min/max setting's ?
  3. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    In the Fine Tuning Centre. I haven't gotten into that to edit the max/mins after capturing data.
  4. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK


    FIY the "captured" min max's might not always translate to quality motion, but again with time you'll realize what does what and can fine tune from there. Out of sheer curiosity what are you min/max's on which games ?
  5. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,669Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Min/max is one of the first thing to tune. It's very important! Your profile depends on these values ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    So, I moved my Steam install from my SSD drive to my D Drive to make space. All went well, except I can't re-patch Burnout Paradise.

    Dirt 3 and F1 2013 are fine as the patch location is the my documents folder on C drive. Is there a way to delete the patch so I can redirect it to my D drive? The option to 'delete patch' is greyed out. Thanks.
  7. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Sorted it out. Found the cfg file and deleted it. Burnout is backup and running.
  8. Seth2Christ

    Seth2Christ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    172Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good job.
    The tutorial of Wanegain is really well done.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  9. ilbiga

    ilbiga Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    231
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    372Coins
    Ratings:
    +136 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Good job!
    Nice idea of the joint self-made!!!
  10. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks @Seth2Christ and @ilbiga

    Yes, @Wanegain's tutorial is super easy to follow for a complete noob like me. It gave me the confidence to dip a toe in the sim world.

    Every step is covered, no welding required. Wanegain supplies the U-joint as part of the kit. Can be built in a day, if you're handy with power tools! It's small enough that is fits in a corner (so its semi-tolerated by girlfriend!)

    Loving this sim more everyday. There goes my social life!
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,669Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
  12. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    So decided to re-enforce the brackets after getting some gear slipping, so I took the brackets to my local car garage, and they very kindly welded me a brace for a tenner.

    I have run the profiles at 100%, and no gear sipping! So I'm very happy now.

    While I took it apart I took the opportunity to paint it, and I made the stupid mistake of choosing gloss paint, (should have gone with a matt/satin finish). It came out terrible, was painting outside and bits of fluff kept landing in it, then it started raining, the primer didn't seem to take so the paint kept absorbing into the edges.

    But it doesn't matter, the important thing is it can run at full power with no slipping now. Theres still a tiny bit of play, but not enough to disengage the pot gears.

    Don't let the pictures fool, it looks a lot worse in person! lol

    IMG_3903.jpg
    IMG_3915.JPG
    • Like Like x 2
    Last edited: May 18, 2015
  13. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    Nice gold paint job :)
  14. christian

    christian Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Germany/München
    Balance:
    997Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5, SimforceGT
  15. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks @Paul Shortland
    If something's worth doing, it's worth doing tacky!
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Another good thing about the SimuKit is the footprint. It stores away nicely in a corner.

    IMG_3924.jpg
  17. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    Any chance of a pic or two regarding how your wheel and pedals are attached to the top piece of MDF?
  18. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    @Paul Shortland
    I just drilled 4 x 10mm holes in the chair base, after finding the centre of gravity.

    Because of the COG of my full frame choice (I think the simukit was designed to be a seat mover), I needed to adjust the pivot point forward, on the top MDF plate, and move the motors back. Chair Base.JPG IMG_3926.JPG
  19. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    IMG_3927.JPG Sorry, I misunderstood.
    The pedals and wheel are part of the GameRacer Elite cockpit.
  20. Paul Shortland

    Paul Shortland Active Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    153
    Location:
    Northampton - UK
    Balance:
    256Coins
    Ratings:
    +71 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, AC motor
    Gotcha, I see how it fixes. Mine will be more home made but nice to see the detail :thumbs