1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 DOF SimuKit Build

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Leo Burton, Mar 23, 2015.

  1. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Ok, so I start building tomorrow!
    Here is the link to the original tutorial from @Wanegain :
    http://www.racingfr.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=48817&st=0&p=1537410&#entry1537410

    I've got everything on the list ready to go. I've installed Simtools as per quick start guide, and my relevant plugins.

    Let's see how I get on!

    I've got a question about Arduino though:

    Once I've downloaded the Arduino Code files, do I just drag the folder over to the Arduino app. Does it go into the setup section, or the 'main' section? This is new to me.

    Do I leave Arduino running in the background when I open GameEngine/Manager?

    I shouldn't have to do any more 'coding' to this should I?
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I suggest you ask the people you bought it from. They should be providing you with the "how to do it" , thats what a good back up service would do.
    • Dislike Dislike x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  5. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,182
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    10,437Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,258 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,670Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hi Leo !

    For your Arduino you need to install this code, you can read it too, there is all you need to know if you want to edit some variables.

    To install it, you need to open it in your Arduino app.
    In Tools/Board, select Arduino Uno and in Serial Port select the port where your Ard is connected.

    You need to install the Sabertooth libraries before uploading it.

    Once your Arduino is started you can let it run.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  7. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Many thanks and merci Wanegain! That's some great (and prompt) back up service! ;)
  8. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,670Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I hope everything will be great :thumbs
  9. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    So, day one went quite well.

    I went over to a friends house who has a cut-off saw and proper tools, and we started building the MDF SimuKit or 'Simulateur LowCost', which I purchased from @Wanegain. (who has been fantastic by the way, from shipping to support)

    I decided to try his 'solution alternative', as I rather liked the clean lines, and no use of a central wooden strut. We got as far a mounting the Pots, power supply, and getting all the wires ready for soldering and hooking up to arduino board before we called it a day. I'd say we're about 80% done on the build stage. Just soldering and a few tweaks here and there. Maybe a coat of paint.

    I'll be back on it next week when I have a clear day. I need to order a more wood for battening the underside.
    Been a lot of fun though.

    But I'm anticipating the software side will take a lot longer to get right!
    IMG_3676.JPG IMG_3682.JPG
    IMG_3683.JPG IMG_3685.JPG
    IMG_3687.JPG IMG_3688.JPG
    IMG_3691.JPG IMG_3694.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,633
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,958Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,593 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I am curious, what is the thickness of those right angle engine mount brackets?
  11. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,670Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Don't worry for the software part, it's easier than it looks. I can share with you all my config file :thumbs
    • Like Like x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  12. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
  13. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks @Wanegain.
    I decided to go with your suggestion of lowering the vertical panes from 25cm, to 17cm. Its a good clearance, and keeps the motion base low. I was trying to calculate its 'finished' height once I take into account the extra battening and the 7cm wheels I'm putting under it. Plus the height of the Gameracer chair. I'm aiming for a finished seat height of 47cm approx. So when the front wheel&pedal section are removed I can push it up to my desk for the correct height.
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,633
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,958Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,593 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I guess you will find out one way or the other but a sim can generate a lot of force on motor mounts and that does not seem adequate in terms of bracing.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  15. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yes I know what you mean. If they don't work out, I'll upgrade them. But they do seem to be fairly heavy duty. It's all a learning curve for me. I can already think of mods I want to do if this one works out.
  16. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,255Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    those motor mounts WILL flex for sure, You need to be on the Overkill side to GUARANTEE no movement.

    for reference, this small angle was able to be twisted under load, the Big angle....Not Lol



    [​IMG]
    • Agree Agree x 3
  17. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,670Coins
    Ratings:
    +284 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I am using the same brackets and it's not flexing (I guess I have to shoot a video to be totally sure). But I agree that something stronger would be better. You can for example put 2 brackets side by side.
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    even just welding some triangle bits of steel on the sides will help. Ive had 3mm thick brackets before and hat solved the problem.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,633
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,958Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,593 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    A video would be good @Wanegain.

    Flexing is normally is a question of both the material thickness and how it is braced. Initially I had mine mounted 8mm aluminum but it still had a little inward flex, which is what led be to design the brace bar between motors on my sim.
  20. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +126 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Today I finished the build part of the rig. Was a lot easier than I was expecting. The soldering all seemed very straight forward, and well laid out in the tutorial by @Wanegain.

    I had to make some dimension adjustments to allow for the Centre of Gravity of the full-frame cockpit.

    I can already see areas I would like to improve on the next version. I'd like to re-bracket the motors at an angle to lower the height of the rig. Maybe reduce the size of the base itself.

    I'm sure there will be lots of teething problems, I'm not under any illusions, I know all kinds of issues will crop up.

    Tomorrow I will take my first step with Arduino, and then Simtools. Fingers crossed!
    IMG_3735.JPG
    IMG_3736.jpg IMG_3737.jpg
    IMG_3738.JPG
  21. momoclic

    momoclic Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Occupation:
    Retraité
    Location:
    Nantes - France
    Balance:
    2,690Coins
    Ratings:
    +115 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino
    A video of the machine in operation would be very freindly. Thank you.
    • Agree Agree x 1