1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 dof seat mover with cv

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Raredog, May 31, 2016.

  1. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I will buy flex couplers then :) didn't think rubber hose would flex too much.

    I've bought:
    2x47A psu
    2x jrk 12v12
    4 ball joints
    2 wiper motors (now isolated)
    Heat sinks
    2x 1 turn pots

    Do I need more?
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I've started the build.

    20x20x1.25mm steel tubing, light and sturdy enough i think. Ran out of tubes...

    Made a frame and welded the cw joint to a base plate, seems to work perfect.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  3. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,297Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,502 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Did you get it balanced properly ? Or have you build in some adjust ability to get it set properly ?
  4. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I've balanced it using a steel pipe under the seat frame in the right height, should be accurate :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 2
  5. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Got a little further:

    Still missing some parts that are beeing shipped.
    Thinking about covering the frame in some cheap carbon film, just to make it a little racey :)

    Do I need both 47A psu's to run the 2 wiper motors? Seems like a lot of power?

    Attached Files:

  6. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Mounted the wheel as low as possible to mimic a racecar, but found out that there was no room for my knees when the seat moves :-(

    Had to cut up the frame and move the wheel and the screen up...

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  7. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Mounted the wheel as low as possible to mimic a racecar, but found out that I would hurt my knees when tilting forward :-( So had to cut up the frame and move it 80mm up.

    Attached Files:

  8. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,071Coins
    Ratings:
    +312 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    Looks good! I'd suggest adding a little bit of support, and possibly using the threaded hardmounting points under the front of the G27. The clamps on mine ended up breaking (someone trying it out got a little bit too enthusiastic). and the RMA process is a nightmare.

    Also, from the photo it kind of looks like you have your wipers mounted with the shafts in the rear rather than facing the sides. Is this the case? Or are my eyes just playing tricks?
    As far as power goes, you already have both supplies, so it can't hurt to use both :). I'm powering both of my motors from a single supply, but it's capable of 60 Amps, so it's probably got a bit more capacity.
  9. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    I will make supports for the wheel, it was just too see if the hight was okay :)

    Yes the axles are pointing backwards, I guess it will work out to the same movement?
  10. Tim McGuire

    Tim McGuire "Forever a work in progress"

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    261
    Occupation:
    Electrical/Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    2,071Coins
    Ratings:
    +312 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    It could work, just that I've never seen it done that way before. It depends on how far you've angled your motors inwards with respect to the base platform. Ideally if you were going to do it that way you'd probably want them to line up with where you want to mount your motor arms: (excuse the poor drawing)

    Alignment.png
    Like I said, usually it's done with the shafts facing the side, as this takes care of that alignment for you, but don't let that stop you from trying your own way out if you want to!

    edit: When I look closer I'm not sure if they're mounted the way I originally thought they were. Do the shafts of the motors point out sideways from the platform, or are they pointing to the back of the platform? A closer shot might help :grin.
  11. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    They are pointing backwards, I thought it looked better, the motors are angled, so i can't see why it shouldn't work, but i'll soon find out :)
  12. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    607Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    Hmm interested in how the motor mounting solution will work. I haven't mounted my motors yet so hopefully you are close to a test run so I can decide how to mount mine. I do like the aesthetic value of your design
  13. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Not too close, the things I bought off eBay takes forever to arrive...
  14. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Progress is slow as I am waiting for parts, but a managed to find the harness from my samurai offroader :)

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  15. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    How long levers would be best? Have read a lot, but as most of you use bigger motors I don't really now what ctc length to go with?
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,067
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    123,923Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,714 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can have multiple holes so you have options, but try 40mm CTC to start with.
  17. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
    Okay, maybe I will make 40, 55 and 65 then, have never seen or tried a simulator, so I really don't know what to expect... But I found out that just a stationary rig makes a really big difference from sitting in the sofa! :)
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,067
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    123,923Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,714 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    With wiper motors 30, 40 and 50 may be better options, you don't have a lot of torque.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  19. Raredog

    Raredog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Denmark
    Balance:
    - 37Coins
    Ratings:
    +65 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, JRK
  20. PiaMan

    PiaMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Balance:
    607Coins
    Ratings:
    +131 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, SCN5, Arduino
    did you get the powered up yet? I curious about the motor mounting solution :)