1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

2 DOF Motion Simulator // New SteeringWheel

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by foppaul, Sep 28, 2017.

  1. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sorry for the late reaction..

    I am indeed running SMC3 tested the output with the untility tool and it works fine. I'll try your settings.
  2. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    After about a month of other projects, i've started with my simulator again.

    I have build a small test setup to get a the settings right
    [​IMG]

    This worked great, after that i rebuild al the electronics on the simulator. Everything worked but I am not really satisfied with the result. The motors will get really hot when the load is high, and cooling doesn't seem to do the trick. We've also noticed that the acceleration isn't that great.

    After changing some settings and some more testing was decided that some stronger motors are needed. BUT... I dont like these smaller, incremental changes. Later pneumatic cylinders crossed my mind. Those react a lot faster so the movement will be more realistic. And on top of that I can get a bigger stroke, what means more movement. I've done some reseach on the forum and found out that a large number of the members doesn't recommend pneumatic cylinders, but I want to test it anyway. It is my hobby to build and engineer stuff haha.

    That was quite a story, now I am left with one question:

    [​IMG]
    This photo, from the SMC3 tutorial, show that each motordriver recieves one PWM signal, enable left rotation and enable right rotation. I've checked that with my drivers (that was the reason why they didn't work the first time). And there the pwm signal goes to both enable left en right. And the enable left goes to pwm left, and enable right goes to pwm right. In my opinion it doesn't add up. Can someone please verify where this goed wrong.

    Thanks!
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    631
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,954Coins
    Ratings:
    +118 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino

    Which motor drivers are you using ?

    Are the motors 12v or 24v how many amps ?

    Do the motors move correctly in the smc3 test program ? You may need to do some pid tuning
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 1, 2018
  4. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Change of plans, thanks to @speedy 's posts I started interesting myself in AC motors with VFD. Had some stuff laying around so I thougt, why not give it a shot.

    First I etched the PCD. After finding some faults I measured all copper trails en solderd any mistakes lose contacts:
    [​IMG]

    Then I build a test setup and it seemd to work. I didn't had any shielded cable available for the motor and the VFD so I noticed a few malfunctions. But that should be solved with a shielded CY - cable.

    [​IMG]
  5. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A ''little'' bit more serious than a whipermotor:

    [​IMG]

    Sadly I am facing a new problem.. the analog voltage 0-10, created by the pcb, that is used to set te frequency of the vfd, is inverted.

    That means: when the potentiometer gets close to te centerline the motor speeds up. And when the green potentiometer line gets away from the blue centerline, the motor speeds down. So it is the wrong way around.

    Does anyone have some knowledge of speedys pcd? And can you help me with that?
    • Like Like x 1
  6. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Because you don't like the technical questions and only like the fany pictures, i'll skip the questions:

    First complete build
    [​IMG]


    The control box
    [​IMG]


    Mechanic part and electronics done
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Next step - Software
    • Like Like x 1
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,473 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    What technical questions? Unfortunately, I don't think @speedy visits here anymore? Matching motors to a sim design is not always a straight forward exercise.. Depending on the requirement - Big is not always better.
    • Like Like x 1
  8. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    The motors look really big, but they are only 240Watt.
  9. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    A quick question, I'll upload photos later this week..

    I have an issue with my motor settings. When the motor turn to the target, the motor travels past the target and then back. Past the target and back. Past the target and back. This goes on for a while and it eventually flattens out. The motion goes fast, and the computer recognizes the motion. The but somehow it reacts late and doesn't brake on time. I've played with the Kp, Ki and Kd values. Downsizing Kp seems to work but does not solve the problem. The other values make the problem worse. Can anyone help me with the settings to extract this problem?
  10. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,153
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    100,065Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,339 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
  11. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,184
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,002Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,473 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Being AC motors, I'm guessing most of your issues will be with the settings of your VFD. Having used SMC3 on a variety of DC motors over the years - never had to do too much with the PID for stable tracking.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sorry I forgot to post an update. With a lot of lot tuning i managed to decrease the back forward part. But it 's not completely gone. Overall it works well.. but it results in some weird movements (shocks) while playing.

    The VFD is set to maximum speed. It takes 10 milisecond to increase or decrease the frequency to the max or min. Which is I think fast enough..

    Does anyone have a wild thoughts with some things I can try?
  14. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Update!

    I added a gas strut to lock out any laterhal movement in the CV joint. It works great so that is a tip to other builders.

    [​IMG]

    After that I build a monitor support:
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Just ordered two extra gas struts. They will be used to damp the motor movement. I hope this prevents the overshoot and siplifies the PID settings. (don't mind the mess (; )

    [​IMG]

    ----------

    I've got CMPS working, so the rpm leds (simhub) runs while simtools runs. Now it's just tuning the PID and waiting until @yobuddy adds gamevibe to the F1 2017 plugin so I can get on with the bass shakers hahah
    • Like Like x 1
  15. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,549
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    27,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,598 / 10 / -0
    Were you able to fix this problem?

    My guess is its the potentiometers you are using.
    Others have had this problem before, using better potentiometers seems to have fixed their issue.

    Take care,
    yobuddy
  16. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes! A friend of mine changed the arduino code. Used a mapping to invert the signal.

    Hmm I can try that, i'll update later!

    Thanks you
    • Like Like x 1
  17. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Better pots made the tuning a lot easier. The movements are still hard to tune, but i think it is possible.


    Ofcourse i have printed some new brackets, this thime i've used flex couplers to fix the pots to the motor axis.

    [​IMG]


    And I've added two transducers :)

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The power supply is probably too small, but a capacitor or battery will absorb the power demand.


    Next steps --->

    - Driving wind simulation
    - Setting up the software for the transducers
    - Again, tuning the PID
    - Add some nice features like led's, buttons, dispalys, etc.



    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 6
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2018
  18. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Update!

    All my friend have short legs and long backs ;p so I've build something to move the pedals:

    [​IMG]

    And I printed/glued/sanded/ a new steering wheel, cause the logitech one is a bit boring haha

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    That will be it for today! I'll be working more on the simulator lately so more updates will follow
    • Like Like x 4
  19. deaddudehangin

    deaddudehangin New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Balance:
    6Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    Have you checked the settings on the vfd to see if it is a coast to stop mode? There could be a way so it actively breaks the motor in its settings. The could be why it's over driving the stops
    • Like Like x 1
  20. foppaul

    foppaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Nederland
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino

    Thanks for your input!

    I've messed with almost all the settings on te VFD. It seemed to help to increase the braketime but eventually I set it back to 0.0 because it didn't solve the problems. (to much increasement did, as you said, move it way past the stop).