1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

2 Axis Active Belt Tensioner

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by mars, Apr 26, 2020.

  1. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    More progress - I have mounted the lower rollers to my seat and installed the belts. I have also installed my power supply and Arduino under my chair. See photos below.

    I should have time to test the system over the next few days.

    Mars
    IMG_6705.jpeg IMG_6707.jpeg IMG_6709.jpeg IMG_6713.jpeg IMG_6712.jpeg
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. EduardoMoreira

    EduardoMoreira New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Balance:
    182Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Very good work Mars.
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,593
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    120,722Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,579 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Looking forward to seeing a video of your harness in action, when you get some spare time.
  4. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    I had a chance to get Simtools up and running with iRacing and am very pleasantly surprised by the power of this system. At full pull it can be quite a jolt and actually replicate very hard braking and cornering. I am also very happy that I did a two axis system as the feel of the sway is very convincing. The system definitely adds tons of immersion but I also feel like it will make me more consistent as I can judge braking pressure and cornering grip through the belts.

    I would say that the 60kg servos with this system are plenty strong. They are a bit noisy but when I have my headphones on I can’t hear them.

    I will try to get a video in the next couple days.

    mars
    • Like Like x 3
  5. RENZOREY18

    RENZOREY18 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Balance:
    105Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, Arduino
    Fantastic Mate, I'm glad for your result, we will be waiting for your video.
    It would be great to see how you program the motors and what percentages you use in the simulation tools, and how I make the roller do the necessary force to simulate that jerk when braking on the car.
    How many degrees do I use?
    Good project !!
  6. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Hi Renzorey,

    I will take screenshots of the varying settings I am using and post them here. They are still a work in progress. It took me a while to figure out how to tune things in Simtools but it is very easy to tune while driving.

    If you have any specific questions about the build I am happy to answer them.

    Thanks,

    Mars
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. xxpelle

    xxpelle Discord "TPMax#9574" Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Occupation:
    Discord "TPMax#9574"
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    636Coins
    Ratings:
    +148 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    :thumbs
  8. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    OK - had some time this weekend and attached are the Simtools setting for my belts. These favor surge by just a small amount over sway but feel pretty good to me. I may turn the surge down slightly but for now this is what I am using.

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Mars settings1.jpg settings2.jpg settings3.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    And here are two videos showing the range of motion for surge and sway. The belts tighten a good 2"-3" (5cm-7.5cm) which is more than enough to pin me to the chair under hard breaking.

    Mars

    Surge:



    Sway:

    • Like Like x 4
  10. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    I have had more seat time with the belts and they are so cool! So easy to add and really worth the immersion. I am not sure they make me faster in iRacing but they definitely add to the experience! I have not tried DCS yet but will at some point soon.

    I have a couple questions:

    Racing:
    1) When I get in the car I snug the belts and then accelerate away. As I do the belts loosen but they loosen a bit too much. If I adjust my "Surge" Min in the Tuning Center from -3 to -2 this will reduce the amount of movement in acceleration without changing the amount of movement in braking, correct?

    Flying:
    1) Surge and Sway will be helpful while flying but is there a way to have the belts react to the position of the aircraft? Meaning, if I am flying knife-edge for example, can I have one belt tight and one belt loose? Also, while flying inverted can I make both belts tight?

    Thanks!

    Mars
  11. xxpelle

    xxpelle Discord "TPMax#9574" Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    125
    Occupation:
    Discord "TPMax#9574"
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    636Coins
    Ratings:
    +148 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Hello Mars
    For question 1:
    No - the other way was correct, change -3 to -4, that makes less when accelerating.

    Question 2:
    Yes - with pitch and roll you can of course simulate the side position or climb and fall.
    Overhead is simulated with Heave.
    The value - should also be smaller than the +

    At flight sim, Heave is the most important parameter to simulate negative g-forces
    Last edited: May 31, 2020
  12. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Thanks again xxpelle - I will have to dig into the flight sim range of motion options to see if I can come up with something I like. Knowing heave is very important will help me do this.

    Knowing that -4 will decrease motion for acceleration is very helpful too.

    Thanks,

    Mars
  13. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,209
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    19,994Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,052 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    very good job! thanks for sharing :thumbs

    I wonder how you linked the servo to the roller?

    In your opinion, are the shoulder rollers mandatory?
  14. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Hi RacingMat,

    Sorry for the long delay. I used the large circular servo arm that came with the servo and screwed it into the end of the roller with (4) screws. This made a very strong connection.

    I did not try the system without the top rollers based on the research I did. They remove friction and they keep the length of the belt consistent between servo roller and buckle so all of the change in length of the belts is translated into what is felt. I think they are required to make the system work well.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  15. mars

    mars New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    27
    Occupation:
    Architect
    Location:
    Northern California
    Balance:
    195Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    UPDATE

    My belt system is still going strong. The overall system has proven to be very robust - I have had no problems with it at all.

    I recently started using the belts with FS2020 and it, coupled with my bass shaker vibration system, really make the simulation "come alive". In iRacing I think the belts give meaningful feedback about braking that actually make me more consistent and thus faster. In FS2020 the belts don't give meaningful feedback but they do make it "feel" more realistic.

    Looking forward to VR in FS2020!

    Next I will get the belts working with DCS. As with FS2020 I don't anticipate the belts will make me a "better" pilot but it sure will be fun to feel a trap on the carrier through the belts!

    Mars
    • Like Like x 3
  16. Jesper Knud Sørensen

    Jesper Knud Sørensen New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    5Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi I really want to make a set of this but i have no idea of how to wire it up. can you make a wiring diagram?

    I also need some help with the software how do you flash the arduino and witch can be used?

    And how do you set it up on the computer?

    Hope you can help me
    Best regards Jesper Sorensen