1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Showroom 2/3DOF Flight sim first build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Typhoon56, Jan 5, 2020.

  1. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    After lots of reading and research and pondering iv started my 2DOF build, at a later date il turn into a 3DOF (yaw).

    With sadness's I will be stripping down my current VR sim pit for its components and to make room for the 2DOF, iv had lots of fun with that project but I think the motion will add a great deal more immersion to VR than fumbling around for switches that i don't use all that much anymore.

    I have a few ideas floating around in my head for what im trying to achieve, the project will just evolve from what components/materials i have on offer and hopefully the ideas/guidance/experience from you loverly lot.

    Sim side.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    So yesterday I stared on the main pivot point, I used a Land Rover Discovery prop shaft and welded it to a bit of 100x50x500 channel that I machined the flanges down to 39mm as the allumium extrusion is 40x40, I also made the main pivot post from 120x80 box section I left this long as I don't know what hight I need it yet, prop shaft flange is bolted onto this. prop shaft.jpg pivot mock.jpg pivot rail.jpg pivot.jpg pivot post.jpg pivot assem.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  4. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    so I plan on mounting everything on the two 40x40x 1500 allu extrusions and the pivot point being able to slide underneath so I can dial in the balance point, the rails will be 500mm wide.

    I will be using the seat (sea king helicopter crew seat) again and just cutting mounting rains down to 500mm, I will also be retaining the much loved home made transducer that thing kicks so hard.
    Screenshot 2020-01-05 at 10.46.57.png thumbnail_IMG_20200105_104929579 copy.jpg
  5. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    so my first concern is the weight of the trustmaster rudder pedals, I understand you need to make the rig as light a possible and I will with only the basic of controls being added but these pedals are superb and I must keep them so if I have the balance point correct should I be worried ? thumbnail_IMG_20200105_110245205.jpg

    Im planing to use this gearbox https://www.bearingboys.co.uk/FCNDK-Worm-Gearboxes/FCNDK40-Worm-Gearbox-601-Ratio-56B5-151910-p

    and making this motor fit https://www.motioncontrolproducts.co.uk/products/8/25/12vdc-traction-motor-90zyt-199-12-nm/

    and having the leverage high up behind the seat.

    could I keep the the way iv mounted control column and rudder pedals on the 18mm ply but just narrow it down to 500mm, or do I need to use extrusion and sheet material (heal/foot rest) to save weight but buy the end of that fabrication I don't think much wight would be saved.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2020
  6. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Had a few evenings this week to push on with the simulator, I sadly dismantled my current VR sim pit for the major components needed for the 2DOF build, had a few hours in the workshop, I shortened the seat rails down to 500mm, lightened the transducer base and raised it up in the seat mount for clearance of the pivot point if needed. I also fabricated a bracket to hold the modified thrustmaster control column and ejection handle what does function in the simulator but I'm also toying with the idea to use it as the emergency stop on the rig. Back at home iv started to assemble the components.
    seat chop.jpg trans refit.jpg stick :ejection.jpg pivot point fit.jpg thumbnail_IMG_20200109_194239468.jpg

    Iv also taken delivery of most of the components needed for the build.

    delivery.jpg

    I plan to work on project over the weekend, will post more progress.
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Some more progress on the project today, mounted the rudder pedals to rig using 18mm ply that was lightened and toped with 2mm aluminium.

    Rudder pedal base .png

    Next I worked on mounting the potentiometer to the gearbox, using the 18mm output shafts I purchased, hope the series of photos do enough explaining if not ask away, flexible shaft couplings to follow.

    output shaft std.png
    pot assembaly .png

    Back home I assembled the pedals and fitted the collective.

    rig assembaly .jpg

    I think next job will be making the shoulder mounting braked to take the tie rods, bit of head scraping and templates for that so I can achieve the correct decrees.
    • Like Like x 4
  8. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    So this evening I fabricated the shoulder mounting points, but on installing found way too much flex back and forth on the 6mm unequal angle so will have to come up with another idea, maybe just use another bit of 40x40 box and plate to spread the load instead of the angle.
    thumbnail_IMG_20200113_161342009.jpg thumbnail_IMG_20200113_164523480.jpg thumbnail_IMG_20200113_193355711.jpg
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Triangular gussets would likely help with the flex.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  10. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    The flex is the angle twisting along its length, so it's probably best to just replace that I feel, but thank you for your input it's appreciated.
  11. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    So I swapped out the angle for some box and its stopped the flexing that's good.
    thumbnail_IMG_20200114_185335985.jpg

    I then started looking at getting the balance point correct buy sliding the universal joint along the rails, I think its about right with myself in the seat, but need a second person to help, but my pregnant girlfriend is not the best choice, so will get a hand from a friend tomorrow.
    thumbnail_IMG_20200114_185351399.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    After finding a good balance point on the rig I was able to work out the dimensions for the position of the gearboxes and then come up with a bit of plan for the lower frame, today I managed to find a couple of hours to fab the frame up.

    parts.jpg frame topside.jpg frame underside.jpg
    The gearboxes will be mounded to bar of aluminium extrusion to give a chance for adjustment will be clearer later once installed.

    In the fabrication iv added a place for a flanged bearing to be bolted and three transfer balls to be fitted these will be used for the yaw motion in a latter upgrade once I get the 2 DOF functioning correctly

    piviot pont.jpg transfer balls .jpg

    Im hopping to get the two frames bolted together tomorrow.
    • Like Like x 3
  13. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Today I bolted the motors to the gearbox and fitted the shaft coupling to the pots
    pot mount.jpg

    I then set about making some adapter plates for the boxes so they will fit the extrusion on the frame.
    box base plate.jpg

    Back at home I bolted the newly fabricated base to rig and then installed the boxes.
    thumbnail_IMG_20200119_113808981.jpg thumbnail_IMG_20200119_113819898.jpg thumbnail_IMG_20200119_115413402.jpg
    • Like Like x 3
  14. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Little more progress on the simulator, built a wooden frame to take the monitor and speakers with the possibility to mounting some electrics/amps and fans for a latter project, wired everything up temporary so I could get everything working correctly in DCS before I start dabbling in the motion side of things.

    thumbnail_IMG_20200127_165644543.jpg
    Lost my man cave to this project now.


    thumbnail_IMG_20200127_165552948.jpg
    Bit of mess at the moment but hopefully only for testing.

    Iv also fabricated the 80MM arms using some tapper locks with welded bosses, this was a lot cheaper than having to buy a broaching tool for what I would only use once, hope the photos make sense.
    Screenshot 2020-01-27 at 18.13.25.png
    thumbnail_IMG_20200127_154825916.jpg

    Iv also started on the wiring, that won't take long to finish, so getting close to testing, that means I have to start with the software and program side of things (starts to worry).
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Been busy recently, but found some time to try getting the project moving (excuse the pun) got everything wired and powered up and all the necessary programs installed.

    Had serious motor twitching and no controlled movements, so a bit of head scratching and searching the forum, I thought I would try and swap out one of the 360 hall effect sensor for a 10k potentiometer I had laying around and this seemed to have worked ,but I really would like to use the 360 hall sensors, has anyone had any issues like this with using these hall sensors ?

    360 hall sensor use:
    https://uk.farnell.com/bi-technolog...-5/sensor-hall-0-2v-20v-to-10v-pin/dp/2319666


    10k pot laying around:
    http://www.leobodnar.com/shop/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=103_81&products_id=193

    pots.png

    Thanks Lee
    • Like Like x 1
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  17. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    After a couple of hours tinkering with the rig, iv had success in getting both motors moving and function correctly with the 360 hall sensors in the SMC3 windows utilities, I then moved onto getting them working in sim tools, but I can only get one moving in output testing (roll).
    Screenshot 2020-02-11 at 18.39.33.png

    anyone see if iv done something silly here , or able to point me in the right direction ?
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,241
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    106,170Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,759 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try this:

    [<Axis1a>][<Axis2a>]
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Milt

    Milt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    - 153Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm new to SimTools myself, but I believe your interface-output should read [A<Axis1a>][B<Axis2a>]
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    Just tried this and only one motor works but this time it's the opposite motor to the one before even when I try the old imterface-output as before, it's still the opposite motor.
  21. Typhoon56

    Typhoon56 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Balance:
    346Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, AC motor, Arduino
    So I have both motors working in SimTools, but if I dont check the direction of force box the motors turn opposite but when I check them they go the same direction, anyone have this happen to them ?