1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question 180 degree hall sensors with SMC3 and sabertooth.

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Mike Stuart, Jun 12, 2019.

  1. Mike Stuart

    Mike Stuart Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Washington State
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    I am using the https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ket-serial-pid-motor-driver-w-softstart.9277/ with my 2DOF build and all is great except that my motors only seem to want to use much less than 90 degrees of axis instead of the 120 or so they should be able to use. My motors never even get within 1/4 of the distance to my actual clipping limits. Is this due to the 180 degree pots? Does SMC3 set itself to use 360 degree then divide in half? Is there any workaround?

    Here is my build, although i need go in and update the page. https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/2dof-gearmotor-build-design-in-process.13104/

    Thanks for any help.
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    Hall pots output the same whether they are 360, 180, 90, or whatever. However they output .4 to 4.6 volts instead of 0 to 5 so they don't quite use the full range of the arduino's ADC.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Mike Stuart

    Mike Stuart Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2019
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Washington State
    Balance:
    261Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    BlazinH, Thank you for the info. Is there a way to increase the range within the (your) Arduino code, or within Simtools, or SMC3? I would like just a little more range in my rotation.
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    You're still getting the full range of the pots its just full output will be at 4.6 volts instead of 5.
  5. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,984
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    14,502Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,673 / 30 / -1
    - Minor correction - I knew I should have checked before posting because I always make the same error. The Magnepot hall pots output .2 to 4.8 volts so not as bad as I previously stated. I remember its a total of 8% less so 4% on each side. But I always forget to divide by 2 also since its 5v not 10 :oops:.
    • Like Like x 1