1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom 12v Winch Motor Driving Simpit

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Historiker, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,496
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    113,848Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,120 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Plenty of room to play, nice setup!

    The drop power cord is a good way to reduce the normal snaking lead(s) to power sockets.
  2. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Two will suffice Craig :)

    You will notice that I used to have three monitors, and I explained above why I no longer do. I much prefer the single monitor over the triples.

    Thanks @noorbeast, I need to get a blue power cord rather than the green one that I am using.....just needs to be blue! :D
    • Like Like x 1
  3. NjMotion

    NjMotion Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Messages:
    258
    Location:
    España
    Balance:
    1,605Coins
    Ratings:
    +243 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, 6DOF
    Great game room !!!
    You enjoy it a lot, buddy.:thumbs
  4. iWill

    iWill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Retired [early]
    Location:
    Kingston Beach, Tasmania
    Balance:
    511Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Awesome! AND A Doctor Who fan! Love your half-TARDIS, I only have the DOOR. If you were to move the TARDIS 1 foot to the right and put full-height mirrors either side, you'd have an optical illusion that would get people doing double-takes. I plan to do that with mine-- one day.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks iWill, unfortunately it took a tumble when we were dry-walling. I need to repair the top assembly and put the window framing back in. Great idea though on the mirrors. I actually made it for my daughter for Christmas a few years ago. She was a huge Dr. Who fan but my timing was really bad. By the time I presented it to her, her interests had moved on and her reaction was "wow, that looks nice daddy" :(
  6. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    As promised; here are the videos :)

    Assetto Corsa
    Lotus 49 @ Spa



    iRacing:
    Spec Racer Ford @ Laguna Seca



    And of course Euro Truck Simulator 2 :)

    • Like Like x 9
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  7. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Awesome Update Historiker, You have a Ridiculous amount of space to play with there, Lucky you.


    @Edson Lourenço Bezerra I suggest you start your own thread and post pics/video's there so we can all advise on the rig and motion. (PS your seating position looks wrong big time.)
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks @Nick Moxley , the space will fill up quickly. I am going to use the empty corner for building giant scale r/c airplanes such as this one I built several years ago:

    • Like Like x 7
  9. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hey @Nick Moxley , do you get into Assetto Corsa multiplayer at all? Have any favorites? Groups you drive with?
  10. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,063
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,885Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,962 / 20 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Great plane!

    9b2ffe7d0d54782226f6cd0fce72f0e0.jpg

    The bumps in the fileds are not 1/3: not easy... :p
    Nice landing, congrats!! I do the same on Phoenix RC: triple screen and RC emitter but I wish I could do it IRL
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    There are some general open lobby's that are great, the Aloog guys have some decent server's that are usually populated at all times of the day/week......the Minorating thing has helped big time with the crasher's/hackers as the server admins just ban their steam id and its done with.....Careful tho, read the rules PER lobby as some might only allow 1 or 2 tires off the track, some have instant bans for stupid things.(granted you dont want to race in those lobby's anyways)...but overall its a decent experience from my perspective.
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  12. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    It is really good to hear that there is some type of control system in place to keep down the troll activity.
  13. Blame73

    Blame73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,179
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    8,078Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,043 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    even too much... I'm the one who Always gets hit at the first corner and who tries to avoid everybody not to ruin anybody's race. Well, I got kicked cause I went off the track... At nordschleife!!!
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Edson Lourenço Bezerra

    Edson Lourenço Bezerra Edson Bezerra - Desenvolvedor Open Source

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Occupation:
    Analista de Sistema
    Location:
    Jundiaí
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Messrs.'ll Organize a 4FUN to the class of motion Yes, rFactor2, AC, PCARS or Game Stock CAr?
  15. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,575
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,804Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,376 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    "...and yes, I prefer a single monitor " :D :D :D It is a big single monitor though ;)

    Looks great, I will always have a big soft spot for this rig :) a lot of inspiration for me and I'm sure a few others came from this and your detailed build.


    So whats next, when you building your 6DOF ????? Surely new house = new sim ?? :cheers
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The 6DoF frame is in an enclosed trailer parked next to the shop. One of these days I have to get back to it. The real delay is in the motors. They are loud (as you can hear in my videos). I have been tossing around ideas as to what to use instead. I also have a 1/3rd scale SE5a WW1 fighter to build (a friend bought me the plans for Christmas). I keep thinking that if I wait long enough a new idea for motors will appear, or a new and cheaper motor driver, etc. For example; 130v 90:1 motors are cheap, but as far as I can find there is no way to adapt them to simple PWM PID control.

    Yes, it is a bloody big monitor, and I like having all that pixel real estate :)

    As for being an inspiration...I was inspired by many before me, and you my friend are inspiring many who are new to this obsession...er....hobby. But thanks for the kind words.
    • Like Like x 1
  17. iWill

    iWill New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Occupation:
    Retired [early]
    Location:
    Kingston Beach, Tasmania
    Balance:
    511Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    Too bloody right mate! (Yes, I'm an Aussie) I use a 55" TV myself. My rig doesn't move (on it's own) yet, so jerking the huge screen around is not an issue. I'm just a learner in the haptic/motion control/robotics/cnc field.

    Before I build a rig with motion control I need to get my own man cave like @Historiker. What a pity I don't have any children leaving home whose room could be co-opted for the purpose.

    I get that number, size and positioning of screens is going to largely be a matter of personal preference but I would like to know what people's experiences -as opposed to opinions- have been with choosing and using screen configurations. I'm also critically interested in the question: Should the screen move with the motion-rig? I think this is a topic for another thread. If I can't find one, I'll start one.
  18. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,786
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,497 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK

    No, The Screen should not move with a seat mover, Full frame its up to you. I came from running a single 47" TV for the past 2-3 years and just recently picked up 3 43" 1080 TV's on Boxing day (250$ a pop) and Holy CRA* the difference is night and day, Highly doubt ill find myself on a single screen in the future.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  19. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Which proves that it really is a personal preference because, as I mentioned before; I went from a 3 monitor setup back to a single monitor and I doubt I will ever bother with triples again. I have to qualify this with the information that I do use TrackIR for head tracking and it feels natural to me, and of course my 4k monitor gives me a great deal more horizontal resolution than a standard monitor.
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,930
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,463Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,820 / 13 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh I am so in a quandary now.....I was tinkering around with my dead 32" LCD (the reason I went from three to one) and I fixed it (bad capacitors on the power supply board).

    But that wouldn't be an issue at all. I would continue to use one of the LCDs on the wall of the man cave, I would put another in my wife's loft (women cave?) and perhaps the spare save to put in the future basement family room?

    However.....I am also building an F-18C Hornet replica simulator cockpit and need a monitor on it.

    Do I put the triples back on the racing pit (give @Nick Moxley an AHAH! moment, lol {just kidding around Nick}) or put them on the F-18 Hornet pit? My first inclination is to sell the two extra TVs and buy another 4k TV.....

    20160201_170048.jpg

    20160131_160829.jpg

    My cockpit is based on the excellent design and work by K-lu found on Hornetpits.org. I imported his Sketchup file into solidworks and extracted 2D drawings from his 3D model. Here is the link and a picture of the 3D model:

    http://hornetpits.org/index.php?topic=235.0

    850928cockpitKlu.jpg
    • Like Like x 7