1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Tutorial 12cm 12V 7segments gear indicator with GameDash

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by RacingMat, Aug 30, 2014.

  1. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,092
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    5,972Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,005 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Cool cool-skype.png Thank you @Matth.Gyver!
    Go through the plugins list and collect what you find there.
    We still can add undocumented dash data afterwards.
    :thumbs
  2. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi Nick! It's detailed into the first topic: you will find what kind of arduino is needed and 2 links with the lowest cost supliers I found :)

    Thanks Matt!
  3. Matth.Gyver

    Matth.Gyver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Ok gentlemen driver, so there is the sorted list of the plugin compatibility (from the plugin page) :
    Maybe a dedicaced topic or other place will be most adapted no ?

    - Asseto Corsa Plugin 3.0.6.0
    -Speed [km/h], RPM,Gear, Shift, Light, Fuel[lt], Fuel [%], Car model, Track name
    - DTM Experience Demo Plugin 1.0.0.1
    - RPM, Max RPM, Fuel Pressure, Fuel, FuelCapacity, Water Temp, Engine Oil Temp, Oil Pressure, Speed, # of Laps, Completed Laps, Best Lap Time, Previous Lap Time, Current Lap Time, Position, # of Cars, Gear, Shift Light
    - Formula Truck 2013 Plugin 3.0.0.5
    -Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp, Fuel, Fuel %, Headlights, Engine Overheating, Brake Overheating, TireDamage, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, PartsDetached, InPit, YellowFlagState, GamePhase, Flags 1. Sector, Flags 2. Sector, Flags 3. Sector.
    - Game Stock Car Plugin 3.0.0.3
    - Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp, Fuel, Engine Overheating, Brake Overheating, TireDamage, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, PartsDetached, InPit, YellowFlagState, GamePhase, Flags 1. Sector, Flags 2. Sector, Flags 3. Sector.
    - GP Bikes Plugin 3.0.0.1
    -Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp Fuel, Fuel [%], Engine Overheating, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, In pit
    - GT Legends Plugin 3.0.0.1[/B]
    - Speed, RPM, Gear, Actual Fuel Pressure, Fuel Litres, Fuel Capacity, Engine Water Temp, Engine Oil Temp, Engine Oil Pressure, Lap, Best Lap Time, Previous Lap Time, Current Lap Time, Position, # of Cars in Race
    - GTR Plugin 3.0.0.1
    -Speed, RPM, Gear, Actual Fuel Pressure, Fuel Litres, Fuel Capacity, Engine Water Temp, Engine Oil Temp, Engine Oil Pressure, Lap, Best Lap Time, Previous Lap Time, Current Lap Time, Position, # of Cars in Race
    - IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover Plugin 3.0.0.9
    -Speed, RPM, Roll, Pitch, Yaw, Altitude and Climb
    - IL-2 Sturmovik: Forgotten Battles Plugin 3.0.0.8
    -Speed, Turn, Roll, Pitch, Yaw, Altitude and Climb
    - KartRacing Pro Plugin 3.0.0.1
    - Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp, Fuel, Fuel %, Engine Overheating, ShiftUp, ShiftDown
    - RaceRoom The Game 2 Plugin 3.0.0.1
    -Speed, RPM, Gear, Actual Fuel Pressure, Fuel Litres, Fuel Capacity, Engine Water Temp, Engine Oil Temp, Engine Oil Pressure, Lap, Best Lap Time, Previous Lap Time, Current Lap Time, Position, # of Cars in Race
    - rFactor plugin 3.0.4.0
    -Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp, Fuel, Engine Overheating, Brake Overheating, TireDamage, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, PartsDetached, InPit, YellowFlagState, GamePhase, Flags 1. Sector, Flags 2. Sector, Flags 3. Sector.
    - rFactor2 Plugin 3.0.6.0
    - Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp, Fuel, Fuel %, Headlights, Engine Overheating, Brake Overheating, TireDamage, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, PartsDetached, InPit, YellowFlagState, GamePhase, Flags 1. Sector, Flags 2. Sector, Flags 3. Sector.
    - Richard Burns Rally (SSE) plugin 3.0.0.3
    - Speed, RPM, GEAR
    - World Racing Series Plugin 3.0.0.1
    - Speed, RPM, Gear, EngineWaterTemp, EngineOilTemp Fuel, Fuel [%], Engine Overheating, ShiftUp, ShiftDown, In pit​
    • Informative Informative x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
  4. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2014
  5. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Matth.Gyver

    Matth.Gyver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Thank's RacingMat
    I hope you could publish in table format because actually it's not very lisible :-\
    I wanted make an html table but the forum does'nt accept html code.
    Otherwise, you can't put the link in the faq ?

    How give you the writte access to the faq ? If I have this access I could do the update.
  7. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Let's wait for the answer from the administrator RaceRay!

    Sorry, FAQ edition access is restricted by administrator (edition allows accidental deletion...)
  8. Matth.Gyver

    Matth.Gyver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    I found a 3inch 12v display in my stock but it's common cathode .
    It seem to be more complicated to drive it (mainly because it is 12v, there is a driver for 5V, not for 12)

    Maybe anyone have a solution ?
  9. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Common cathode will require to source current rather than sink it... You will have to find anoter chip reference. Or maybe someone could advise you (as I have no computer access this week)

    As 4" is better than 3" ;-) you could order a 4" common anode :p
  10. Matth.Gyver

    Matth.Gyver New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Balance:
    208Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    I think that I'll buy a new one, it will be more simple.
    I've tested a free Android application for RBR allowing to display only gear indicator.
    On my old nexus 3 phone the size is approximately the same of my 3 inch 7 segments and I found the size correct.
    I'm affraid that a 4 inch will be too big
  11. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @Cluclu : you'll find some answers here hopefully for your "8 digits and 8 leds" project and how GameDash is communicating with a Dashboard
    :)
  12. stamer57

    stamer57 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    884Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Beau travail
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  13. Lele411

    Lele411 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Gala
    Balance:
    127Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Good Job. Thanks to share the projects!
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  14. Thomas T.

    Thomas T. Impact

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Seller
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Nice On,

    I build this one & it´s great but i can not download plugins to test :)
  15. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,927
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,057Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,847 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Thanks! :)
    Please share some pictures of your work! I would be very pleased to see them :popcorn I could give you some coins ;)
  16. Thomas T.

    Thomas T. Impact

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Seller
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    I will share some Pics when i am at Home
  17. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,753
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,411Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,459 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Oh how i wish i knew how to read a schematic and build little circuits like this. One day maybe. :think
  18. Thomas T.

    Thomas T. Impact

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Seller
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    No Problem, maybe i can help you a little with shematic but not with programming :)
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Thomas T.

    Thomas T. Impact

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Seller
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Ok here some Pics

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  20. Thomas T.

    Thomas T. Impact

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Occupation:
    Seller
    Location:
    Austria
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +23 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Only write me for help