1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Where are all the Kickstarter campaigns?

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Leo Burton, Feb 2, 2015.

  1. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +127 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    My wheel height is 70mm.
    I bought 150mm threaded rods (m10)
    I would like a total base height of 35cm. My seat has 17cm from it's base to the seat height, so there will be a little maths involved to get the final sitting height just right for my desk. Hence I ordered shorter threaded rods.
    What length did you use for the 17cm height?
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,106Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It would be handy to create your own build thread @Leo Burton, that way all the info relating to your project will be in one place.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Leo Burton

    Leo Burton Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    London, UK
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +127 / 1 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Yes, I absolutely will be doing that. Hopefully I can document as much as possible.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,106Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The other advantage is that in addition to documenting your build you also capture all community contributions in a thread you control. I look forward to following you build thread once you create it @Leo Burton.
  5. Wanegain

    Wanegain Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    560
    Location:
    Bruxelles
    Balance:
    1,709Coins
    Ratings:
    +286 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Instead of ordering new threaded rods, you can just buy a hacksaw...

    I have not measured the length of the rods.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,094
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    124,106Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,720 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have suggested they post the project here for informed feedback, and I do think it needs it in a range of areas: http://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/2xgsk3/open_source_motion_platform_plansdesigns_for_diy/

    Their project site is here: https://sites.google.com/site/6dofplatform/home-1

    The parts list and budget are here: https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&...nw2ZG9mcGxhdGZvcm18Z3g6NTllOGVmMDVjY2FkZDVlZA

    These are the planned motors: https://www.teknic.com/model-info/CPM-SDSK-3421S-RLN/

    And the E3PS12-75 as a power supply: http://www.teknic.com/products/servo-motor-dc-power-supply/
  7. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think this is a great idea and ive had mass production in mind durring my builds . my next build will be the lightest one so far with adjustable seat and pedals using arduino - moto monster and a new 600w psu just like the one in my pics. i would build these all day long for $1200 plus shipping.
    • Funny Funny x 1
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2015
  8. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    cost him $1100 delivered, and its big motors and JRK, sent from Sydney to Singapore
    seatmover.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Some more photos
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The new owner has had dbox guys play on it and are stunned that their $10k rigs move like this one, in fact, Ive been told this one does just as well , in fact a bit better with motion.
    Scary
    • Like Like x 1
  10. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think that is a very nice design , ive seen those motors for sell . i havent personaly been on a sim with them though . my rig uses two wiper motors from plymouth mini vans with the long blades. I have a friend that is about 325lbs and he gets throne around in there i personaly think wiper motors work great . i also prefer to have the wheel and pedals move with me . when i play dirt 3 the motion caused by large jumps causes that belly dropping feeling , even without heave, my 6 year old can reach the wheel and pedals on my sim and in less then 30 seconds i can make it fit a guy 6'6'' . it cost me roughly 400 plus labor to build my sim . the next frame i build will be lighter for shipping reasons and few other changes to make it take up less space and some sheet metal to hide everything.
  11. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    couple pics of my adjustable steering

    Attached Files:

  12. eaorobbie

    eaorobbie Well-Known Member Staff Member SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,582
    Occupation:
    CAD Detailer
    Location:
    Ellenbrook, Western Australia
    Balance:
    20,087Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,666 / 22 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, SimforceGT, 6DOF
    Wiper motors wear out very quickly specially if you have your motion tunned up nicely which I think I could only name 2 videos I have seen of Ards in motion that comes close to a nice profile, for speed and accuracy on what's happening on screen. Most move in a very arcade motion.
    Plus the major draw card of not using them is most are between 26-50rpm if you are lucky, resulting in maybe 150mm/s on the lever, pretty poor. The motors @bsft shows and I use the same , punch at 150-180rpm resulting in 500-600mm/s on the end of the lever. This is the major difference in using wipers against real motors.

    Pure speeds and violent vibrations while staying in sync with SimTools, end result is way more immersion into the games.

    But again wipers on a first noob sim is not bad ,shows what can be achieved , very cheaply , spend a couple more dollars on the rig and not the seat or steering wheel , you end up with a rig that can match the speeds and accuracy of commercial sims. Wipers don't come close.

    Sorry to go on but baffles me your thinking of the Ard - MM - wipers - Commercial , Goodluck.
    BTW will you licence them to Simtools or just provide the sim with no software.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  13. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi its really just an idea ,i play dirt 3 all the time my simulator stays in perfect sync with simtools and wiper motors do a reasonable job , but what im really getting at is that although a 2dof low cost setup is far from professional or ideal for a serious sim racer . in all my searching unless you have a fat wallet the only way to own a sim is to build one .I agree with you better motors like on the rig above would be needed at the least for a production run, to much trouble with wipers like isolating the ground but even then with the added cost of better motors. its eye opening noone has done this .. And i think it would be best to license software with simtools .this sim would be for people that cant build there own . So its as plug and play as possible a nice entry level sim for under $1200 all you need are controls .
  14. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    with the seat mover I posted up, I could make it a full frame for about another $50 of steel, problem is, full frame 2DOF are a little more sensitive to weight. So its has to be more carefully balanced.
    If you do build and sell, is the buyer says he is 90kg and you balance it, then he suddenly becomes 120kg, he will upset the weight balance and the sim will not move right. Then you will get a phone call with an upset buyer.
    The larger motors do not need earth isolating and are far better in quality, and for the $100 each they cost, its a better investment. Ive sold to friends, 4 sims using these motors, and apart from having to change the gearboxes on one of the sims to 60:1, I usually run 25:1, they have been no problem.
    Ive chewed out plenty of wipers in my time. They are fine with a soft profile, but you wind it up and motors get chopped out.
    Mind you, I run the JRKS on them as they plugged them into their own PC, so an over the phone setup was needed.
    If you look at complete plug and play and the buyer is a pc noob, I am guessing unless you sell a PC with it, they are still going to have to go through a setup time. And are you going to charge for that time? That and you are planning to run arduinos. Ergh, coding problems I can see.
    Its kind of pointless selling them with Simtools, unless you are prepared to spend several hours on the phone assisting the new owner with setup of boards, ports, settings, and then help them write profiles. And if you intend to charge them for that time, that would raise the price, unless it is an "unseen" or "service call" cost to be added. And with most items like this, the possibility to charge for such work can net a decent profit.
    Overall, it is not as simple as it looks.
    What happens when the new owner wants a new game in and has to set it up? are you going to charge for that time as well? or are you just going to direct them here and then they find out Simtools is actually free to the private user and help here is free. Thats happened more than once and the "buyer" of a sim has been slightly upset with the original seller to say the least.
    What happens if they install a game where one of the plug ins is not moving uniform to the rest, race 07 plugin comes to mind, you need to change direction of motors. Another service charge?
    I am guessing you intend to do something like this with power supplies included
    Less pc, wheel , pedals
    [​IMG]
    or this
    [​IMG]

    When for a complete solution, you may have to look at something like this
    [​IMG]
    pc , games, motion set, but less wheel and pedals, a few games all installed with motion set. However , the new owner installed a new game and guess what? I got a phone call! As I dont charge for that sort of thing, it still took an hour of my time over the phone to help them set a profile. They read the doc, but still needed assistance.

    This is not as simple as it looks to be a re-seller, licencing is a small part of it. Back up service and time is the BIG part.
  15. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I understand theres alot more then meets the eye. I plan on having my psu case house the arduino and moto monster with plugs for easy removal by end user . all other parts are self explanatory . I would encourage the use of the simtools fourm , could include links to profile setups or screen shots . I have a ? do most people prefer to have a full frame or seat only platform
  16. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    seat mover to full frame is personal choice.
    ive sold both as I built them for friends, because I happened to have either frame here, they could try both.
    You can make the ard-psu as pretty looking as you like, once they plug it into a PC, thats where the fun starts.
    If you encourage the use of simtools and documentation, then you cannot charge for simtools nor the service call you may have to make to help.
    Parts are not self explanatory as you may think. Documents get misread.
    Personal experience talking here. its not a simple as you would like. 4 built and sold sims, and I have been offered to build more sims. No chance.
    Thats why Simx, Dbox charge a shitload, it is true written plug and play software and simulators
  17. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Could the coding techs for simtools make a modified version of the software with all the presets for my sim and game profiles built in ?
  18. bsft

    bsft

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    yes, at a cost, contact @yobuddy for this. He can write custom software at a price.
    But what about equipment? are you going to warranty it? Or what if a pot fails, even for JRKS, its not a "replace and go" procedure, it takes time and explanation.
  19. dustin

    dustin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    My sim has been running over 8 months and ive had no problems with it yet . how long is it common to see a sim run with no problems with a board /motor .
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,697Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,005 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Plenty of people have had the same idea of commercialising their DIY sim, but if you seriously look at it, unfortunately the numbers don't add up. It comes down to , what the general public will pay, against - expected sales, labour costs, profit, business cost, supportability (labor cost in supplying support) and warranty. These all take away from the businesses bottom line, making it not worth it. At best it may give you some pocket money to supplement your hobby.
    • Agree Agree x 1