1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

speedometer with arduino

Discussion in 'DIY peripherals' started by HK-ADLER, Jan 12, 2020.

  1. HK-ADLER

    HK-ADLER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    Hi,
    I want to share with you my new project.
    I want to build a full speedometer with the most important instrument .
    Now I am working on the design (CAD files). I want to print the parts with a 3D printer.
    I will share with you the whole steps and I hope you will give me your feedback.
    Thank you all


    here is the display part:



    the schematic:

    Oled arduino.png

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 4
    • Creative Creative x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,053
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    18,737Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,955 / 18 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    thanks for sharing this!
    maybe you could specify in the name of the video "Speedometer with arduino Oled display" with Simtools?! :)

    are you using GameDash?
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. HK-ADLER

    HK-ADLER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    yes I am using GameDash.
    I updated the title of the video ;)
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  5. HK-ADLER

    HK-ADLER New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Vienna
    Balance:
    - 95Coins
    Ratings:
    +15 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    Arduino
    finally I completed the project.
    The parts list:
    - Stepper motor NEMA 17
    - OLED 128X64
    - 2X Arduino Nano
    - Wires
    - 12V 1A power adapter
    - TMC 2208 ( motor driver)
    - 3D printed enclosure
    gauge parts.jpg

    the result:
    RPM gauge fertig.jpg

    I had to use 2 Arduino because when I use one Arduino for the motor and the OLED the motor will move very very slow because the functions of the OLED need a lot of time and then the whole program is very slow.
    Maybe when you use another processor for example with 96MHz or faster it could work.

    here is a test in forza horizon 4:


    I hope you like my project and I'm waiting for you feedback
    Thanks
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    962
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,008Coins
    Ratings:
    +218 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    thats cool !

    i have seen people use a real speedo/dash from a motorcycle too