1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

SMC3 - brushless DC motors ?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by Gadget999, Dec 11, 2018.

  1. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,611Coins
    Ratings:
    +111 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I have found some 2kw 48v DC motors that look pretty useful

    they are brushless

    will the SMC3 be able to control a brushles motor ?

    will a special motor driver be needed ?
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,629Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,505 / 30 / -1
    SMC3 doesn't have a brushless mode but if a brushless motor driver exists that accepts pww and direction or inverted pww signals then it might work with mode 1 or 2.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,611Coins
    Ratings:
    +111 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ok - probably easier to stick with a DC motor and a h-bridge

    has anyone used the SMC3 with ac motors - I assume it needs an inverter with pwm and direction
  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,731
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,629Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,505 / 30 / -1
    Agree with first paragraph.

    What do you mean by an inverter? Unless using an ac servo motor with its own controller most use a vfd usually requiring 10 volts which an arduino is incapable of on its own.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    1,163Coins
    Ratings:
    +232 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    If you want the brushless route, take a look at my thread: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/flypt-6dof-brushless-diy-actuators.10799/
    The BLDC-8015A can handle 24V to 50V and rated 15A to a 45A peak
    But there are other alternatives.
    Can you give a link to those motors?
  6. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,611Coins
    Ratings:
    +111 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2018