1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Simulator 2 DOF SCN6 + HTC VIVE PRO

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Damien, May 4, 2018.

  1. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    The transmitter

    Attached Files:

  2. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    for ease of movement and storage of the simulator, I installed large wheels cadie style

    Attached Files:

  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,020
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,294 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Please do not create a new post for each single image and one line explanation, just put them in a single post.
  4. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    The part a little more technical: the dial
    I used 4 bracket U like this

    Attached Files:

  5. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    ok, I just understood how to do
  6. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    As you can see in the pictures, I made 2 pivot links that I then fixed perpendicularly between them.(img 5329 et img 5330).
    I've made a small box that I slip under the cardan for enhance simulator so that the wheel does not touch the ground.(img 5332).
    To lift the simulator and slide the box, I use one of my old motocross hoist.(img 5333 et img 5334).

    Attached Files:

  7. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Here is how I installed my SCN6:
    I first cut a wooden board that I consolidated with long squares
    in aluminium.
    I installed this on the simulator chassis.
    I then drilled a hole for the passage of the rods of the cylinders and I fixed the cylinders.
    (IMG5347 and IMG5348)

    Attached Files:

  8. Bilao

    Bilao New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    100Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    I dont have the perception of the right size of the U pieces of your dyi cardan but it seems that it has a very hight distance between the roll part and the pitch part. I think that can be a problem (just saying this based on the many threats that ive read ). But there are awesome people here in this forum that can do a better analyse
  9. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    there is 6cm very exactly.
    I am making a security on each side to avoid tipping.
    Nevertheless, the simulator is very stable.
    I will post a video of the simulator when I play with it.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I made a base to raise and maintain the cylinders, it is not finished, I must do the finishing (IMG5349).
    Not having an emergency stop button, I used an extension cord with switch that I installed next to my steering wheel.
    All my devices are plugged in, jacks, speakers, subwoofer and steering wheel.(IMG5350).
    On the image IMG 5318, you can see all my wiring.
    Everything is right under the hood, and a good part of the wires are hidden under the pedestal base

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 8, 2018
  11. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    seen from the outside, so there is not much beyond.
    The cylinders on the side (IMG5316) and 5 wires in front (IMG5351).
    Everything is connected to the sockets fixed on a small base (IMG5352) and the sound cable directly on the computer (IMG5353).
    So here is the presentation of my simulator.
    I will add a video of the cardan and one of the simulator in operation as soon as I compressed them.

    Attached Files:

  12. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    The video of the cardan.
    it pivots on the axis allowing the simulator movement up / down and on the axis leaning left and right.
  13. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    The video of the simulator in operation.
    I still have some finishing and a little painting to do again.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  14. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I installed the security to avoid tilting the simulator.
    on IMG 5379, the simulator is leaned to the maximum on the left and bears on the stop (security)

    I put a trapeze made of semi-rigid plastic that can be slightly deformed.
    it makes it possible to dampen the shock during the conctact. (IMG5378)

    There is the same thing on the other side obviously.

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 19, 2018
  15. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I did not know where to post my question so I post it on my project.
    I would like to increase the sensation of my simulator by buying the HTC VIVE PRO VR headset because the sensations of the simulator are very good but the fact of seeing the whole environment around (simulator itself, TV, wall, etc ...) decreases immersion and sensations.
    I do not need VR, which interests me is that the headset replaces my screen.
    So, my questions are:
    - Can the HTC VIVE PRO be used as a simple screen, and ideally a fixed screen without the VR retranscribing my Windows desktop.
    - Do you have to use Virtual Deskop or Bigscreen software or it could work simply by plugging it into the PC like the Play staion VR headset. -Do you need a permanent internet connection if I use the headset without the VR (Steam VR).
    - In the use I want to make, I still need the base stations (not delivered with the headset), knowing that I do not need VR.
    Thank you for your answers

    En français (in french)
    Je ne savais pas où poster ma question alors je l'ai posté sur mon projet.
    Je voudrais augmenter la sensation de mon simulateur en achetant le casque VR HTC VIVE PRO car les sensations du simulateur sont très bonnes mais le fait de voir tout l'environnement autour (simulateur lui-même, TV, mur, etc ...) diminue l'immersion et les sensations.
    Je n'ai pas besoin de la VR, ce qui m'intéresse c'est juste que le casque remplace mon écran.
    Donc, mes question sont les suivantes:
    - est ce que le HTC VIVE PRO peut-être utilisé comme simple écran, et dans l'idéal écran fixe sans la VR retranscrivant mon bureau Windows.
    - Doit-on obligatoirement utiliser un logiciel genre Virtual deskop ou Bigscreen ou cela pourrait il fonctionner tout simplement en le branchant sur le PC comme le casque Play staion VR. -Y a t'il besoin d'une connexion internet permanente si j'utilise le casque sans la VR (Steam VR).
    - Dans l'utilisation que je veux en faire, ai-je malgré tout besoin des stations de base (non livré avec le casque), sachant que je n'ai pas besion de la VR.
    Merci pour vos réponses

    Attached Files:

  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,020
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,294 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    While you could use a VR HMD to play a game as if it were on a giant screen in front of you that would be a complete waste, as being in VR is like putting you in the car or plane, rather than watching it.
  17. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Yes, I agree, but the problem is that I play almost only F1 2017, which is not VR compatible.
    On the other hand, it works with a trackIR.
    So I would like a headset that serves as a screen, and not cinema room as with virtual desktop but as a fixed screen that completely filled the headset.
    And if I want to use it in VR, I will put my trackIR which does not consume energy of the PC.


    Oui, je suis d'accord mais le problème est que je ne joue quasiment qu'à F1 2017, qui n'est pas compatible VR.
    Par contre il fonctionne avec un trackIR.
    Donc je voudrais un casque qui me serve d'écran, et pas salle de ciné comme avec virtual desktop mais bien en tant qu'écran fixe qui rempli entièrement le casque.
    Et si je veux l'utiliser en VR, je mettrais mon trackIR qui ne consomme pas d'énergie du PC.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,020
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,294 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I don't consider the expense of a VR HMD serves your intended purpose very well, use a screens insteaduntil proper VR support is added, or if you intend getting into VR swap to sim titles that support VR.
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Damien

    Damien Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2018
    Messages:
    76
    Occupation:
    watchmaker
    Location:
    Royan
    Balance:
    573Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I will receive the VIVE PRO probably at the end of June.
    When F1 2018 is released, the problem will be fixed because I think it will be VR compatible.
    But in the meantime, I would have liked to use my headset on F1 2017.
    That's why I want to know if there is software that would allow me to use it as a simple screen.
    And if so, do I need base station to make it work because they do not come with and currently out of stock at HTC.


    Je vais recevoir le VIVE PRO probablement fin juin.
    Lorsque F1 2018 sera sortie, le problème sera réglé car je pense qu'il sera compatible VR.
    Mais en attendant, j'aurais voulu utiliser mon casque sur F1 2017.
    C'est pour ça que je souhaite savoir si il y a un logiciel qui me permettrait de m'en servir comme simple écran.
    Et si oui, est ce que j'ai besoin de station de base pour le faire fonctionner car elles ne sont pas livrées avec et actuellement en rupture de stock chez HTC.
  20. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,020
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,203Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,294 / 40 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You need a base station for HMD tracking.

    I would suggest using other titles that support VR while waiting for F1 2017 to add it, that will allow time for you to acclimatize to using VR, adjust your driving style to VR and fully appreciate how immersive VR can be.
    • Like Like x 1