1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Should monitors be static or move?

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by thosirl, Nov 20, 2021.

  1. thosirl

    thosirl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    21Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Hi all,
    With a motion system should the monitors be static, or should they move with the rig?

    I've currently got an SFX100 based rig with Triple curved 32's on a static floor stand, but to allow clearance around the rig, I'm sitting at a distance of 900mm from the screens. I sometimes feel that I'm too far from the monitors and doesn't feel all that 'immersive', so I'm contemplating trying a Samsung G9 49" 1000R Curved Ultrawide, and fixing it to the rig, so that the viewing distance is more like 600mm.
    I'm not comfortable fitting the triples to the rig, as I feel like 3 monitors bouncing around is a liability, whereas a single ultra wide is something I should be able to secure better.

    (In terms of FOV I've got 130degs on iRacing, and this would reduce to about 105 on the Ultrawide, on the basis of being 250-300mm closer, should actually gain some vFOV being closer)

    I'm assuming I'll break even on buying G9 and selling the triples, so this should be net/net in terms of cost. The G9 would be a neater solution from a space and cabling perspective, and free up some GPU ports to play with VR a bit easier also.

    Any thoughts from a motion perspective on what is the preferable solution - static or motion screens?
    Is bouncing any kind of monitors around a bad idea? I play a bit of Dirt Rally 2.0 also and like the yumps!
    From an immersion or experience perspective, is static or motion monitors a better or worse idea?

    Thoughts?

    Thanks,
    Tom
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Bouncing any kind of monitors around is not really what they were designed for, though plenty of people have mounted screens to a rig they are subject to a lot of force and strong vibrations, particularly with powerful modern day rigs.
  4. Joey

    Joey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Technician
    Location:
    Nijmegen
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Move definitely move! That is if you can mount them without wobbling all over the place but personally I stand playing on a motion rig with static monitors. It just doesn't feel right :nerd
    Although I play VR only anyway so its not an issue for me ^^
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    17,324
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    125,068Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,800 / 47 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    VR is the way to go, nothing beats it for immersion, but with often poorly optimised sim games it does mean you need a beefy PC and a quality HMD.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Joey

    Joey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Technician
    Location:
    Nijmegen
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Its not so much the games not being well optimized but VR in general just is a b%tch to run.. Basically you're running 2 games at the same time.
  7. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,416
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    9,246Coins
    Ratings:
    +321 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    If your screen(s) are big enough you can get the image to move with the sim.

    Most profesional sims use projectors and large screens for an immersive experience

    Professional sims do not seem to use vr - vr does allow a 3d image and the depth perception seems to help with braking, however most race drivers use braking points so 3d is not necessary

    I found the screens do not like being moved about and are not designed for motion
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2021
  8. Historiker

    Historiker Dramamine Adict Staff Member Moderator Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,066
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Balance:
    9,408Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,053 / 14 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have had both, in multiple configurations from 2DoF, 3DoF and 6DoF. Before VR I preferred my single/triple monitors mounted to the rig. Although as @noorbeast mentioned I have destroyed a monitor or two. If the monitors were big enough and close enough they were fine static mounting.
    But now I have VR....and so...I didn't even bother mounting my triples correctly to one another, lol.
  9. Joey

    Joey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2019
    Messages:
    56
    Occupation:
    Technician
    Location:
    Nijmegen
    Balance:
    315Coins
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Nah. There are plenty of "professional" rigs that use vr. If there was a reason its probably convenience. vr isn't as plug and play as a monitor. And then there is vr sickness.:grin
    For the most part vr is still something for the tech nerds that have no issue with a little tweaking to make it work.
    In any case there is absolutely no reason you should have to choose between a monitor or vr for laptimes.
    Also if you're able to mount monitors at all 4 corners keeping them from flexing movement shouldn't have an impact on the lifespan. Especially under 30 inch
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2021
  10. herve069

    herve069 Simracer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Messages:
    29
    Occupation:
    workshop instructor
    Location:
    France
    Balance:
    - 56Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I would say for realism they should move, but for their lifespan, staying static seems like a better solution ...