1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Seattime's Sims

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by SeatTime, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Cannot answer, as I have never used wiper motors.
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Been super busy, but my new sims setup moves on - seat base is now full steel and everything is 'Solid' with nothing flexing or distorting in anyway (helped by the new beefy hand made front 'hinge'). This is all critical for accurately tracking the simulation data and keeping the system aligned during high loads. FI the arrow points to one of the parasitic running plates which can be changed out to vary the operation of the paddles if I later find it necessary. Will now fit my thigh pressure system, which I think is quite innovative/different :). Stay tuned.

    G Systems SeatBase.jpg
    • Like Like x 4
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thigh pressure system is coming along well. Just need to add the bowden cable and top thigh shaped paddles and it will be ready to test. FI:


    • Looked at lots of other solutions, but most did not apply pressure exactly were I wanted, were more complex, or had the potential of fouling other systems in the seat.
    • Have not settled on a height for the carbon rod so it is likely to be shortened.
    • The system is removed for easy entry/exit and like a quick release steering wheel it just slots into a sleeve at the base.
    • As the required height of the system will change for different pilots, the bowden cable will be easily adjustable (harness material/velcro).
    • A spring will be used to limit/control the torque/pressure applied to the top of the thighs.
    • Another spring will be used to keep the thigh paddles slightly off the thighs when no pressure is being applied.
    • Things may change after testing :).

    Thigh system.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  4. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    From testing, thigh system has evolved. Way simpler and less intrusive design and can stay in place - bands adjusted with velcro. Basically looks similar to the real thing, but straps are a bit wider and go further back.

    Thigh system type 2.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  5. apointner

    apointner Siddhartha

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2014
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    N 48° 9'0.88" E 12° 5'45.84"
    Balance:
    723Coins
    Ratings:
    +17 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Question: do you use elastic mesh belts for the Legs? I tryed this and it turned out the mesh fits perfect to different bodyshaps witch reduced pain and immersion break.
  6. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    No, just standard Harness material like you would use in the real application. I do however install a spring in the Bowden system if required - which basically does the same thing, but I can adjust it.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Balance:
    414Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Love following your build process. Always innovative ideas! Question about your bowden systems - do you need to secure the servo motors to the wall/floor/rig to prevent them from moving while in use?
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, but only to stop motor torque from bouncing them around. Normally strap them to a rubber sheet, which stops any motor/ballscrew noise being transmitted and them amplified by the equipment enclosure. Have so far got three motors for the seat base heave/sway/surge with the paddles being parasitic and two for the seat back sway/surge with the paddles again parasitic. Last two other motors are used for the thigh and shoulder harness tensioners (From what is shown in the photo, have added carbon fibre extenders to the thigh system). The combination works brilliantly (still more to come :)) and with high speed jets easily the most realistic response then any other sim that I have been in (never been a in centrifugal sim). My son says it feels like being in a G-suit. Cannot wait to get back to it all in the new year.
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. sberns

    sberns Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Balance:
    414Coins
    Ratings:
    +82 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN5, Arduino
    Thanks. Can’t wait to see what you add next!
  10. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,829Coins
    Ratings:
    +329 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Wow, thanks for the video SeatTime! Excellent format with the seat both occupied and empty.

    Are you using any roll or sway cues on the bottom portion of the seat? It's a little hard to tell but I think all I'm seeing there is heave and surge. Edit: Same with the thigh system, looks like maybe it's heave only?

    Also, about that beefy front hinge. Is your bottom cushion heave action working on that hinge, so the front edge doesn't move up or down at all? I was actually tinkering with the idea of doing it that way for a number of reasons. That's how my newest drawing is set up.
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2020
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The bottom of the seat has sway, surge and heave. As in the real world the bottom part of your body does not move at the same rate as the top, but still also early days with the settings. Thigh harness is heave only, as it also moves with the seat bottom
    Yes, heave uses the front hinge, which is part of two second class levers for torque amplification.
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    710
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,829Coins
    Ratings:
    +329 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Ok so I was seeing some very small sway movements on the bottom, very good.
  13. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Realised that I now have the option to easily fit big screens to the capsule as it does not move. May do this for MS FS2020 and other software that does not currently support VR.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2020
  14. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Using pressure plates, so big movements not required.
  15. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Started building motion against a real Roller coaster video with the Simtools apps - Only did a test, but it works well in my sim and I can add in all the data that is often missing in NL2.

    Video with Motion.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  16. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Just tried running Video Ride player in my VR headset using 'Virtual Desktop'. If you left click on the player it goes full screen and you then have this large wrap around video wall. While not perfect, IMO still easier/better then looking at a real flat screen.
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,087 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I have suggested to @yobuddy that the best way to ensure universal video support in VR would be via VLC 4, which will have VR support: https://vrscout.com/news/vlc-media-player-vr-support/

    The nightly builds are here if you want to have a play at any stage: https://nightlies.videolan.org/build/win64/
  18. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
  19. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,357
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    112,906Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,087 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    That is the challenge being worked on.
  20. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,550
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,519Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,816 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Oh Ok :). But FI, IMO Video Ride Player works perfectly fine in Virtual Desktop right now. A hot key in Video Ride Player to start the video when in full screen would be nice.
    • Useful Useful x 1