1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

ROLL UP ROLL UP OCULUS SENSOR WORKS ON THE MOTION PLATFORM AGAIN !!!

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by SilentChill, Dec 16, 2018.

  1. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,028 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    At least it did for me for about 20 laps please can anyone else try and see if it does or was i really lucky ?
    • Like Like x 1
  2. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,113
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,413Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Will give it a go later today, although one day I will have a new Pimax, still only a couple of thousand backer in front of me :):rolleyes:
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  3. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,028 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Do you have an estimated time scale for delivery or is it just wait and see ? Look forward to your views on it whenever you do get it.
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,487
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    95,839Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,050 / 39 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Pimax said the majority of backers would get their HMD by Xmas, but given they are only around the 500 mark realistically that is not going to happen, mine is about mid 4000 in the que :(
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,113
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,413Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes, their estimates are wrong to the point of concerning, considering this is not the first product they have released (Pimax 4K).
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2018
  6. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Balance:
    442Coins
    Ratings:
    +26 / 0 / -0
    I'm in the 5000s and I think the kickstarter goes at least into the 7000s, not to mention the original delivery estimate was February 2018 :rolleyes:. So yeah, you can basically ignore anything they say regarding production and delivery timelines. They've even started(?) taking orders from regular consumers with some, uh, "optimistic" promises about delivery dates for those, too. It'll show up when it shows up but don't make any plans around it.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. anton_Chez

    anton_Chez Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Messages:
    33
    Balance:
    305Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Backer 4200 or so here, patiently waiting for mine to arrive.....

    For a year :grin
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Brass Yeti

    Brass Yeti All show - No go

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    This has gone a little off topic. Can anyone else confirm what SilentChill has experienced? SilentChill is it still working for you?
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,028 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah I just have the occasional recentre issue but I'd say 95% it's working well.

    If you look at my last few YouTube videos they are all with the camera on the rig
  10. Brass Yeti

    Brass Yeti All show - No go

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    156Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Just tried it myself... It's a no go for me. I kept jumping around in the virtual cockpit every couple of turns.
  11. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    18,548Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,028 / 29 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I have also only have 1 camera connected and my touch controllers are not connected don't know if that helps or not and the camera is at the same height as my rift.
  12. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,113
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    26,413Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,408 / 23 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My camera is at head height, off to one side and around 30 centimeters from the Oculus Headset array, works well.

    Oculus Tracking Camera.jpg
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Grumpher

    Grumpher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Can anyone else confirm with 6DOF and single sensor rig mounted that this works?
  14. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    641Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Have tried with mine and works well most of the time sometimes jumps up and down though possibly the sensor juddering
  15. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    641Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    I had this but was OK after repositioning sensor
  16. Grumpher

    Grumpher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Just need to be sure because i'm managing the software systems for a commercial motion racing rig, updating could have side effects but if it fixes the auto centering issue than i'd be willing to give it a shot.

    How did you position the sensor to get it to work?
  17. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    641Coins
    Ratings:
    +38 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    the problem I think could have been down to my arms getting in the way so i put it just below head height the opposite side of the gear stick about 60cm from headset
  18. Grumpher

    Grumpher New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    30Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Just tried the latest version, no change. still bobbing up and down