1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Rear Traction Loss Difference between AC and ACC

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by adamcyan1624, Feb 11, 2019.

  1. adamcyan1624

    adamcyan1624 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi,

    I just got a DOF Reality H3 this week, and immediately jumped into my favorite AC. However, I was a little disappointed that the rear traction loss effect doesn’t really ‘kick my ass’. I tested the motor alone in SimTools and apparently it is capable of giving me the kick. A hour ago I moved to testing ACC with the motion. Rear traction loss effect really started to shine there.

    So my question is that is this a problem that can be solved by tuning the game settings/profile in SimTools? And I s there any difference in the motion code for AC vs. ACC (using different outputs from the games to simulate the effect)?

    Thanks everyone!
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  3. adamcyan1624

    adamcyan1624 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,746
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    19,891Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,458 / 29 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    AC and ACC are quite different in how the Data is Crunched with the Algorithm and then outputted to Simtools.

    While AC is Good in general and really good Above the limit (drifting/High Slip Angles in the +16-18 Range) ACC has a Very Very Accurate and linear track of the TL Axis Up to and At the Amount of slip angle a GT3 Can achieve**GT3's Aint Drift monsters after all eh** So imo its likely a Different point of data that's being used *or multiple points* on ACC with the new Physics models ect ect...i haven't queried Aris on it, As its rather moot, but could drop a question in Discord.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. adamcyan1624

    adamcyan1624 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Cool!
    I’m new to SimTools and still studying how it works. But is it possible for a common user like me to change the code that specifies what data to use from a game (for example AC) to simulate the rear traction loss effect? I’m guessing the code is within the game plugin files, correct?
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You can write your own plugin: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...lugin-for-simtools-2-0-api-documentation.131/

    Or do you mean how to tweak a motion profile in SimTools: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/

    Which of course can include tweaking traction loss behaviour: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/traction-loss-in-simtools.175/
    • Agree Agree x 1
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  8. adamcyan1624

    adamcyan1624 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Thanks a lot!
    I was intended to write my own plugin for Assetto Corsa, but it seems that a lot can be done in tuning center. I’ll definitely try it first.
    One more question for plugin writing though, which example suits AC best? UDP, memory mapping, memory hook, special dll, or simply AC’s own data acquisition method?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    12,282
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    94,594Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,958 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I think AC has Shared Memory and provides telemetry, but @value1 would know for sure.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. adamcyan1624

    adamcyan1624 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    35Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Tuning max/min simply did the magic! Thanks for the help! If @value1 can guide me a little on AC plugin writing, I’d appreciate a lot.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  11. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,063
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    5,434Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,930 / 10 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider