1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question RaceRoom Racing Experience on ProSimu T1000

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by RacingRichie, Feb 15, 2018.

  1. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    I did some tuning of with the tuning center and general movement are ok. However, now I have another issue (of course :) ), which i couldn't figure out: When shifting up while accelerating or shifting down under braking I get a bouncing surge interruption movement, that fades (like a ball bouncing on the floor). I have this with all cars. I also tried the same car in Assetto Corse where it feels right. It's this cut in surge when shifiting. Usually its just one interruption in the surge, but in R3E its a boucing and fading interruption.
    I can do a video of the axis/DOF if it's hard to understand what i mean. Just let me know. Anyone here who can share their config or has idea is much appreciated!
    • Like Like x 1
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Thanks for the reply. ok, will do a video when back from work. I tried the faq you linked. While my gear change is already snappy enough, of course I can also use this technique to make it less snappy, which i did. The movement becomes less intense, but it's still this echoing, fading movement in surge after each shift. It feels like the hood of my car is doing several hops after each shift. Other pitch/roll movements, like when going over bumpers/curbs feel ok, but the shifting surge feels to intense compared to the other movents and the echoing is irritating. :(
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It sounds like your rig is oscillating, but the video should help clarify that.

    When you shoot the video position the camera where the movement of the rig and the screen can both be clearly seen.

    Also post pictures of all of your settings, that way members can make suggestions about what to try.

    When refining a motion profile you should do each axis individually and it would be worth just running surge by itself to tweak it: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 1
  5. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Alright here is the video. I've slowed it down to 50% so the bouncing/oscillation is easier to spot. Looking forward to your thoughts!

  6. bruce stephen

    bruce stephen Hammer doesnt fix it, must be electrical SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,300
    Occupation:
    general contractor
    Location:
    michigan
    Balance:
    8,805Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,213 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    video is unavailable.......
  7. Brett Horton

    Brett Horton Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Occupation:
    UAS Manager / Pilot / Integration Specialist
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    Balance:
    183Coins
    Ratings:
    +186 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    I have the same thing, It is simulating the movement of the cars suspension from gear shifts, from suspension compression then rebound a few times...
    Little annoying but just how the sim is reporting the data.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  8. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    sorry, video should be available now
    • Like Like x 1
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You have not posted pictures of all settings.

    And you need to clarify if you have run and adjusted surge independently or not when creating the motion profile, as per the steps in the earlier link.
  10. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    :) Thank you for your patience. I mentioned about, that I did the procedure from the "snappy gear change tutorial". I did it again... while the UI is not the same anymore and there are now three options. Off and capture are clear. Not really sure what balance does?!

    I've attached my settings and values from the tuning center and as a reference the values from assetto corsa, but it looks like the values are plugin specific, as they are totally different.

    So I've also manually tested different values. If I increase the values, obviously I get less movement for accelerating and breaking, the bouncing when shifting becomes less, but it's still there, still noticable...

    aa1.png

    aa2.png

    tc1.png

    tc2.png
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You do need to do a motion profile for each game as the values will be different when each one is dialed in for your sim.

    Your Axis Allocations are way too high at 260%, while you can go a little over you should aim for a total around 100%: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/axis-assignment-percentage-totals.120/

    So follow the steps in my earlier link, do each axis/force one at at time, use lower Axis Allocations and lower Tuning Center values.
    • Like Like x 1
  12. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    @RacingRichie,

    I am considering a purchase of T1000 3DOF, SCN6 Dyadic. My primary sims are rFactor 2 and Raceroom. So I am researching how well motion system works with those two games. Also, checking if there's a base profile someone created for R3E and T1000 3DOF.

    I am curious if you were able to suppress that echoing motion on gearshift?
    Thanks for your thread, it is really helpful. It will be a bit of wait till I get my motion rig, but eventually, I hope to contribute here too.
    Last edited: May 11, 2018
  13. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I am very interested in this also. I just received my T1000 2dof and my primary sum is Raceroom. I

    I will be searching for a good profile also!
    • Like Like x 1
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    While you can share profiles between similar machines you will get the best performance and result by learning how to create and refine a motion profile to specifically suit your rig and personal motion preferences, see the steps here: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  15. RacingRichie

    RacingRichie Prosimu T1000 3DOF Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Europe/Austria
    Balance:
    74Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, SCN6
    Hey Guys,

    I was planning on creating a "T1000 Profile sharing thread", when i have time... :think

    To give A short answer until I have done this:

    • Was I able to get rid of the "gear-change-osciallation"? -> Yes, somewhat. You really have to invest some time and play with the tuning center.
    Longer answer: By nature (SCN6 facing the ground), the t1000 is very good at simulating every little crack and stone on the surface. So heave easily becomes the predominant DOF you feel, making sway/roll (cornering) and pitch (accerlation/braking) less senseable. You basically feel like you're sitting on your washing machine while its spinning at high speed.

    I want to feel the surface, but I also want to feel (simulated) G-Forces. So For Assetto Corsa I already managed (with SimTools Tuning Center) to get a motion profile that fits my taste (except for traction loss). I still need to do it for RaceRoom Experience and other Sims. Since I race RRE a lot too, might certainly do it some time soon.

    How do I tune? I have a standard car/track combination I might probably find in most sims (for me Mercedes AMG GT3 & Red Bull Ring).

    1. I let tuning center CAPTURE MIN MAX and race 1-2 rounds at 80-90% race speed, so I always stay on track (run offs will falsify the recording). Then I Save the new settings in tuning center
    2. Now I race again 1-2 rounds at 80-90% race speed and use OBS (open source screen recording software) to record my game screen /VR mirror AND Virtual Axis (In SimTools Game Engine -> Output Testing -> Virtual Axis). I also take not of how the driving feels.
    3. I look at the recording (sometimes at slowmotion) to understand which DOF occupies which axis how much at different track situations. With these insights I change the tuning center values, e.g. like stated above: tone down heave and surge, turn up pitch, roll and sway.
    4. Repeat steps 2&3 until it feels better
    In the end I guess it's a question of taste, but by default the design of the T1000 emphasizes heave and surge too much and needs some correction. I will @-tag you guys once I have something to share. :cool:

    @noorbeast : Is there any way to plot graphs of Forces and Axis movement?
    • Like Like x 2
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,470
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    89,558Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,560 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  17. The Iron Wolf

    The Iron Wolf New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    Balance:
    117Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    @RacingRichie thanks for detailed response and for honest info on T1000. Visually small range of motion is one of the biggest concerns I have with T1000, yet, it is very detailed and I imagine it is details that matter the most. I am going through the documentation 0f SimTools and one thing surprised me that there's no profile sharing feature. Hopefully, it will be added in a future. Meanwhile, thread is a great idea.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Onaflyer

    Onaflyer New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Boston, USA
    Balance:
    154Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    I got my T1000 2 DOF setup this weekend and I REALLY like it.:D I like that it is so adjustable and more solid than it looks.
    Installed some universal seat sliders so my son (12) can give it a whirl. I have only just got it going and have not done any settings work aside from ' tuning center'.

    Really won't have much time this week but little by little I will get things the way I want them and make some boxes for the actuators.

    More impressions and questions to come I'm sure! So far just a few laps in R3E VR+motion had me giggling like a schoolgirl.
    • Like Like x 1