1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question Programming SCN5 for harness tensioner

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by ShawnStashek, Feb 24, 2018.

  1. ShawnStashek

    ShawnStashek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Stevens Point, WI
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    I am implementing a harness tension system on my build utilising a scn5 100mm. Way more travel than needed but it was the shortest travel offered by Simxperience that was plug and play with the rest of my system. I have the sx4000 control box working with sim tools and all actuators assigned. The scn5 will be mounted horizontally under the seat with the actuator rod facing the rear. There will be a roller behind the harness holes on the seat and one at the bottom rear of the seat. That will route the belts under the seat where they will attach to a bracket on the scn5. I would like the actuator to start at the mid point and retract under braking g force to pull the belts. I assume I want to use surge for this, but I don't want the actuator to extend and give slack under acceleration g's. I've been searching but haven't found anything regarding the actual programming, just the physical aspect of the build.
  2. Martyn

    Martyn Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    - 64Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    You can adjust surge with tuning min / max setting to only affect braking forces.
    However, do you really need this? What kind of motion sim do you have? If scn standart 2dof seat mover i think there is no need for tensioner..
  3. ShawnStashek

    ShawnStashek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Stevens Point, WI
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    2DOF frame mover with traction loss. Do I need it, no. But I already have the stuff, so I'm using it. Thanks for the help.
  4. Martyn

    Martyn Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Europe
    Balance:
    - 64Coins
    Ratings:
    +19 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN6
    Well of course you need belts tensioning its great thing:)
    I mean that with 2dof seat mover you can mount belts to base frame and when the seat frame tilts front at braking, the belts are tensioned just by physics:)
    Thats exactly how i have it and works perfectly, no need for extra a acurator..

    Edit: ouch sorry just noticed you have frame mover there is it different...
    Sorry for misunderstand..
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Ringorumble

    Ringorumble Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    175
    Balance:
    219Coins
    Ratings:
    +46 / 1 / -0
    You cant compare a belt which is tensoned by physics to a motor (120W , See thread) tensioned one .. You dont need that much surge and you can pull real hard which you never have with that "physics" try.
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  6. Tonantsa

    Tonantsa New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    Finland
    Balance:
    111Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    SCN5
    Has anyone managed to do this with SCN5?
    I have three of those and I'm going to build 2dof with tensioner.
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,034
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    25,397Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,344 / 20 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My guess is that he does not want to also affect the surge settings for his seat actuators. He would still want acceleration on those ;). A second 'surge' on Tuning Center (if available) would although make this possible (I do this for NL2).
  8. ShawnStashek

    ShawnStashek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Stevens Point, WI
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    My rig is still under construction so I haven't played with this yet.
  9. Guzz226

    Guzz226 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Any progress?
  10. ShawnStashek

    ShawnStashek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Stevens Point, WI
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +66 / 0 / -0
    Yes, rig is complete and tensioner is fully functional. I am using Simcommander for software. I just use the braking g-force effect and apply a smoothing filter to keep it from oscillating and get a consistent pull. Here is the rig in action.

    20180928_142209.jpg
    • Like Like x 5
  11. Guzz226

    Guzz226 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    2Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for sharing

    That is awesome!
  12. Newgun

    Newgun New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    94Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 4DOF
    Glad to see it’s working under SimCommander.

    Is this possible to do with Simtools?

    I, too, might have an SCN6 that I’d like to use for tensioning but as OP stated, would like to not have slacking during acceleration.

    I’d much prefer @SeatTime ’s harness tensioning kit but I’m not sure if it will ever be available for sale again.