1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Power supply turn off when swift movement

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by absyfadhel1, Nov 7, 2020.

  1. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi i use 2x powersupply for my 2dof setup and when in game fast movment the powersupply shutting down why ? i tryed to connect only one power supply and it was the same i change smc3 but nothing changed its still when there is rapid movment the powersupply turn off please help ..

    i used this type of power supply and i have mod it to 12v dc

    articles-atx-psu.jpg
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Our rigs tend to have significant power spikes, LED PSUs are not as sensitive to such surges as computer PSUs, or a battery can be used as a buffer.

    Another thing you can try is lower the % in Game Manager, as that is like adding in some global smoothing, try 95-98% and see if that stops the PSU tripping.
  4. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I use 20% on the game manager .. you mean pc power supply not good for 2dof? so i need to buy like this one and maybe resolved?

    is this one ok?

    41HsUFVx8CL._AC_.jpg
  5. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Correct, a PC PSU is not a great choice, a powerful LED or general PSU is a better idea. Prices can vary a bit between cheap import LED PSUs and the likes of Meanwell.
  6. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    This what happend when i play lfs see when its start to move and accednt break or car turn or shift up the powersupply turn off

  7. Dschadu

    Dschadu Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    1,641Coins
    Ratings:
    +93 / 1 / -0
    It can be overcurrent protection or overvoltage protection. When your motor decelerates it acts as a generator and produces power. As the power has nowhere to go, the voltage rises. This can trip the PSU overvoltage protection. A work-around is a big diode in series directly after your PSU positive output
  8. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    please can you explaine what must i do to fix it?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Did you try my earlier advice of reducing the Game Manager Intensity Level in the Profile Editor, like this:

    Intensity.jpg
  10. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Oh yes i already tryied that but i think its psu problme
  11. PMK

    PMK Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    What is your PSU rated for? What are your motors rated for? Make sure your PSU can exceed the maximum PEAK current that your motors can draw.

    You're probably also going to run into back EMF issues as Dschadu mentioned.

    You can purchase 2 of these (or similar)
    https://www.jaycar.com.au/400v-35a-bridge-rectifier/p/ZR1324

    and wire them like a diode from your PSU to your motors.
    Basically this 'blocks' any voltage being sent back into your PSU which can cause it to trip and shut off.
    PSU_BRIDGE_MOTOR.png
    Obviously if your PSU can't supply the current for the motors it's going to trip but this is necessary anyway.
  12. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Thanks alot for your advice ... where can i find a video for the blocks? I can get it from photot
  13. PMK

    PMK Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    It's going to be difficult to find a video on that wiring as you're not using a bridge rectifier like they are normally used.

    It might be worthwhile spending some time learning how to read circuit diagrams. You're basically just wiring the PSU to the negative terminal of the bridge rectifier and the positive terminal to the positive terminal of the motor.
  14. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    so you tell me that i must coonect the wire from psu to the bridge rectifier and from the bridge rectifier to the motor right?
  15. absyfadhel1

    absyfadhel1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2017
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    bahrain
    Balance:
    84Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    do you think if i use diffrent psu will be fixed without need to this bridge?
  16. PMK

    PMK Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    168Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Correct

    You will likely need to use some form of back EMF protection no matter what PSU you use. It's a really simple and cheap circuit and is definitely worthwhile.
  17. Samborghini

    Samborghini New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Balance:
    14Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    I would recommend getting one of the high current switch mode power supplies.
    As a rough guide check what the controller motor output protection (fuese,overloads etc) are rated at and use this figure together for each channel. Somewhere between 20A to 40A
    I would then measure your load using a multi meter or current meter when the motors peak with fast movement - you may or may not be able to view the peak current (depending on the meter read speed) but this should at least give you a ball park figure. Or if you know the motor rating (watts) you can calculate it out.
  18. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15,804
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    115,446Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,228 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    In addition to the PSU it looks to me that you also have a design problem.

    A lever is most effective when at 90 degrees to the rod, with around 38-40 degrees either side of that about the maximum range before use of effective torque drops off dramatically.

    In the video you have a compact full frame design, which needs lots of torque, small wiper motors of likely limited power and the lever looks to almost be aligned with the rod, where it is pretty much ineffectual:

    Lever.jpg
  19. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,088
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    7,830Coins
    Ratings:
    +247 / 6 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    use a car battery as a buffer to the motor - it takes the spikes and regenerative voltages away from the power supply
  20. Sam Neall

    Sam Neall Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Balance:
    8Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    This is similar to the one I have and I have no issues with my power supply. I agree with NoorBeast it is likely an issue with the motors drawing too much at their peak current.