1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

P3DV4.2 Simtools and DOFReality H3 Setup

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by RCFlyer, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. RCFlyer

    RCFlyer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I fly P3DV4.2 with the Oculus Rift and will be using the DOFReality H3 motion platform. I have downloaded and installed the latest Simtools Pro version and the latest plugin for P3D. I will be using two computers to control the simulation, therefore, I have installed Simtools on both pcs. I don't have the H3 as yet, but, I have ran Simtools with the sim and do get data in the Game Engine on the second pc.

    Now for my question(s):

    1. Do you need to use roll, pitch, and yaw, if you are using the extra1, 2, 3 axis?
    2. Is there a need/benefit to using motion cancellation with the flight sim? I only use a flight sim, no vehicle simulation.
    3. Does anyone have a set of presets they would be willing to share?

    Thanks,

    Danny
  2. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2018
  3. RCFlyer

    RCFlyer Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    200Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Noorbeast, thanks for the reply. I appreciate the value of learning to create/refine my own motion profiles, and, will certainly be involved in that process as I get the motion platform going. I also see value in having benefit of what other folks have found to work. I will certainly share my results and was hoping others who are using P3D would do so as well. I will review the information at the link provided for P3d.

    Thanks again,

    Danny
  4. lysa elec

    lysa elec LYSA ELEC

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    82
    Balance:
    - 48Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    with my p3d 4.2 i have no problems for the moment