1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

New builder of 2 dof race sim

Discussion in 'New users start here - FAQ' started by Ned, Aug 1, 2017.

  1. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    ha ha sim.jpg

    Hello This is my 2dof build, not as good as I have seen on this site but will do to learn how to do. Next is the electronics not looking forward to that part, but will manage somehow. Hopefully I can ask some of you experts if needed.
    • Like Like x 3
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi, this weekend I am going to finish the frame and get the motors hooked up to the driver and Uno I will try some sort of testing with full weight see how my wiper motors perform, I am not sure how to go about purchasing the sim tools as I have read the are versions of it and my only option that I can see is to buy version 2 as I read it. And not sure if this is just a download or have to wait for it to arrive via postage snail mail system, any advice would be appreciated regards Ned
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    There is an eligibility criteria, including length of membership and fleshing out your build thread, but once you progress your rig and are near finalising it you can apply for a free DIY license for SimTools 2, see here for details: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/request-a-free-diy-simtools-2-0-license.262/

    You can download SimTools 2 for free and run it in demo mode, it includes the fully functional plugin for Live For Speed, specifically for testing purposes but will not run other plugins, you need a license for that: www.xsimulator.net/simtools-motion-simulator-software/
    • Old Old x 1
  5. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi Noorbeast, thanks for the reply, I have purchased simtools v2.1 $100.00 au dollars, just now looking at what I purchased its very confusing to me but with time I will work I out? Regards Ned from the Mainland ha ha.
  6. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    The version you have bought supports all the additional functionality modules that have been released, like Video Rider and game Dash, and will include those that are being worked on but have not yet been released, like Game Vibe, which will allow SimTools to drive motion and transducers.

    Cheers from across the Strait :cheers
  7. GTexas

    GTexas New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Messages:
    21
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Balance:
    337Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF
    Hi noorbeast,
    I had applied a month ago for the license key via the webpage form with a link to my build thread, but never got a reply except the autoresponder acknowledgement. I understand the review takes some time, but after one month I would really like to move to the next stage. I have therefore applied again, maybe it slipped through on the first time.
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I checked up for you and your initial request is still pending, as your build thread needs to progress to the testing phase. Free licenses are not issued until then.
  9. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Well as promised I rough finished the sim frame and connected the 2 motors, this test was just to see if all pivot joints and connecting rods would run without hitting or extend past there limits, I hooked up a car battery and ran both motors together without arduino input and of course the motors were doing full 360 turns one direction, I tell you, you would not of wanted to be in the seat for this test at very least you would have walk away with some sort of whiplash it was like a mechanical bucking bull (lmgo) now to learn how to hook up the arduino and mm motor shield and see if I can control this beast. Also purchased a new gaming computer which is now playing VR in steam with ps4 equipment it is awesome.
  10. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello all, I am looking for some help if you don't mind, I have purchased sim tools 2 and have my licence. I have built my 2DOF sim and can get it to move when I open the Arduino program, I have copied RacingMat_2DOF_Arduino_code and put in Arduino program when I press upload the simulator moves like a mechanical bucking bull. I have printed out Sim Tools Quick start and followed the instructions, I have managed to download Live for Speed and patched successfully, I have also run the game and to my way of thinking if the patch worked I am on the right track so far. So to my problem as per Quick start instructions with setting up simulator axis it states setting up the "Default" it states to RIGHT click on the game engine tray (which I think is a type o) so I click on Axis assignment button and then under games list axis 1 I select Default, then click axis 2nd tab select presets drop down and select sim force gt (in fact I have tried all selections) and then move onto the Arduino game engine interface settings which I just input exactly what is on the quick set up when I go to game engine select Output testing select turn on and move the slides nothing happens at all no motor movement, I have tried running Live for speed at the same time but that disables game engine sliders, I have tried to have Adruino program up and running at same time but still no motor movement.
    I am ready to chuck in the towel please help regards Ned
  11. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey Noorbeast thanks for your time, I am not sure what Hexa strings are but nothing activates the motors unless I press upload in the Adruino program then it fires up and runs through its cycle and then stops, if I press upload again it repeats what it just did. Its cool but it's not what I want it to do. Are there updated instructions for sim tools 2.1 as I have searched for days trying to get this thing running and can not find any other instructions.
  13. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Ha Ha Ha I have to laugh my simulator MM just went up in smoke, 1 puff then 2nd puff a fair bit of smoke not sure if it was just cheap junk I bought off ebay or I did something wrong, I did notice the 5 volt wire pulled out of its socket not sure if that had anything to do with the explosion. I have ordered 4 new MM boards so have to wait for them to see if this Xsim package I bought works. Regards Ned
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2017
  15. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Frustrating indeed!

    MMs need heat sinks and fans, were you using some, something like this: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/xilence-cooler-for-moto-monster-sparkfun.211/

    Faulty wiring will also do it but cheap MMs are also a known issue: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/

    SimTools works just fine, while you are waiting for the MMs you could use this sim emulator to learn about and practice with SimTools: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/simulating-a-2dof-simulator.278/
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hello Noorbeast, could you tell me what would you recommend other than cheap ebay MM? Also what are you running or using??

    Also what is the best way to upload video on here, I want to show how wild my machine is with no SIM Tool input. Just for laugh.
  17. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Also is there a better option to Arduino Uno or am I better using them??
  18. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Also to answer your last post, I had 2 heat sinks on MM and a fan above the MM I checked when the sim was running before the explosion and to the touch MM was very cool maybe slightly warm, the 2 12 volt motors were getting hot and I have disconnected all 3 earth points from the motors.
  19. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    to see the thing with no Sim tools input as yet as I can not get Sim Tools working As yet???? [​IMG]
    • Funny Funny x 1
  20. Ned

    Ned Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2017
    Messages:
    63
    Occupation:
    fixed operations manager
    Location:
    melbourne
    Balance:
    658Coins
    Ratings:
    +31 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hope the video worked, any input of what to change to make improvements would be appreciated and any hints on getting sim tools working would be fantastic also what is the best code for 2 DOF sim
  21. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,187
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    105,871Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,745 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I use JRKs rather than Audiono+MMs, which are expensive but are pretty easy to configure as they have graphical software to do so: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/jrk-setup-guide-eaorobbie.14/

    As previously mentioned the SMC3 code for the Arduino is perhaps the easiest to configure, as it also has graphical software for settings: http://www.xsimulator.net/community...3dof-motor-driver-and-windows-utilities.4957/

    If you are using non genuine cheap MM clones then it pays to check them on arrival, as they are known to be problematic: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/reputable-monster-moto-suppliers-testing-before-use.158/

    A number of members have moved away from MMs to instead using the more expensive but rel1able 32 or 64 Sabertooth boards: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/sabertooth-motor-driver-max-36v.271/
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017