1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Need Help with Dirt Rally

Discussion in 'VR Headsets and Sim Gaming - Virtual Reality' started by Antsu75, May 18, 2019.

  1. Antsu75

    Antsu75 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Balance:
    98Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Hello! Im trying to get vr motion cancellation/compensation to work in Dirt Rally with OpenVR but I can`t start Dirt Rally in Steam so it would be possible to open OpenVR menu?? Im using Oculus Rift
  2. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Balance:
    619Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    I might be wrong but I suspect this could be difficult since Dirt Rally exclusively uses the native Oculus API. I notice for example that on the Steam store it's listed as only compatible with Oculus and not Vive.

    A Vive headset can probably do motion compensation for Dirt Rally, because first the game has to be patched with something like Revive to go through OpenVR in order to work with the Vive. As a side effect of using Revive, the InputEmulator gets a chance to manipulate the tracking data.

    I suppose you could try using Revive to patch the game to force it to OpenVR and then maybe the Rift could access it that way since OpenVR is also compatible with the Rift? I don't know if anyone's ever tried that, though. Also the process for using Revive with Dirt Rally is apparently a bit complicated and people get the best results when they manage to avoid installing the Oculus software at all -- which presumably isn't an option for you since you're using a Rift as your headset.

    Like I said, I might be wrong about all this. I recall that the Rift already inherently has some limitations with motion compensation due to combining OpenVR and the Oculus API. Trying to get the Rift to additionally go through OpenVR to display an Oculus-native game sounds like it's going to be trouble. You can always try Revive and see what it does, just be prepared to reinstall Dirt Rally if the patch breaks things completely.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Antsu75

    Antsu75 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Balance:
    98Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Thank you. I got it working by using Revive (an older vers) now got motion compentation in Dirt Rally. It really makes it nice! Only have to figure out how to make a stable grip for the controller, so i get rid of that "microshake" but I think that's gonna be a smaller problem
  4. dododge

    dododge Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Balance:
    619Coins
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0 / -0
    Good to hear. Also interesting to know that running a Rift with Revive is a viable workaround for Oculus-only games.

    There's been some trouble with rig vibrations causing motion compensation tracking to drop out or shake the view too much (see the "OPEN VR CODER NEEDED" discussion for example). If you have transducers on your rig make sure you have the controller as isolated from them as possible.
  5. Antsu75

    Antsu75 New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Balance:
    98Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    Now after testing a few times it's seems to be more like a mechanical problem. After fixing the controller at the front behind the weel it works a little bit better. Now it allmost ok. I think if I get a solid fix back of the rig it should be fine