1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
  4. All new posts and threads should be written in English. Please do not create dual posts in other languages. If you are not a master of the English language you can use an external service to create a translation of your words, for instance, Google translate or DeepL.
    Due to low activity, we've also closed the french section.
    Dismiss Notice

Question My Forza Horizon 3 Plugin problem

Discussion in 'Forum and Website' started by Sam MAHENDRA, May 17, 2020.

  1. Sam MAHENDRA

    Sam MAHENDRA mahentheman Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Help me please.

    I developed a Plugin for FH3 by following this tutorial.
    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ugin-for-simtools-2-0-api-documentation.9107/

    Used the Plugin updater and it was successful.
    FH3_Plugin_1.JPG
    When I launched the Game Manager, I got this message.
    FH3_Plugin_2.JPG
    When I clicked OK, this was the message.
    FH3_Plugin_3.JPG
    Followed by,
    FH3_Plugin_4.JPG
    This is the full text of the Exception Text.
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
    at SimTools_GameManager.frm_GameManager.‬‬‬‮‍‏‮‬‪‮‪‬‎‏‬‎‍‌‎‮‏‏‪‮(Object )
    at SimTools_GameManager.frm_GameManager.frmMain_FormClosing(Object sender, FormClosingEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnFormClosing(FormClosingEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WmClose(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)
    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4180.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_B
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    SimTools_GameManager
    Assembly Version: 0.2.4.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    EwaRlRjyQRIFJmdLrQQpzimRMOv
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.4.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/SimTools_GameManager.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 10.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 14.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/v4.0_10.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4180.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_B
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4150.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    Game_PluginAPI
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Program%20Files%20(x86)/SimTools/Game_PluginAPI.DLL
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Management
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3752.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Management.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    AssettoCorsa_GamePlugin
    Assembly Version: 2.0.7.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.7.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Sam%20Mahendra/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/AssettoCorsa_GamePlugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    CityCarDriving_GamePlugin
    Assembly Version: 2.0.1802.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.1802.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Sam%20Mahendra/AppData/Local/SimTools/GamePlugins/CityCarDriving_GamePlugin.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.
    For example:
    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>
    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

    My FH3 Plugin is attached below.

    Any help please?

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Octavio Olvera

    Octavio Olvera G4m3r43ver

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    34
    Occupation:
    Trade Marketing
    Location:
    Veracruz. Mexico
    Balance:
    - 21Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    How did you create a plugin for a racing game with no telemetry data?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,718
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,793Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,892 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. value1

    value1 Nerd Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,165
    Location:
    Zug, Switzerland
    Balance:
    9,461Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,174 / 11 / -1
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Joyrider
    Was there an error during compiling? Your dll generates all kinds of irregular moans when checking it with the PluginValidator.exe
    Can you try to compile it again?
  6. Sam MAHENDRA

    Sam MAHENDRA mahentheman Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Well, as suggested by @noobeast, I tried the memory hook. It was tiresome. So, I looked for a DLL editor and came across this one,
    'Hex Editor Neo'.
    I unzipped the "ForzaHorizon4_GamePluginV2.0.0.2", and edited the ForzaHorizon4_GamePlugin.dll by simply replacing the letter 4 in the ForzaHorizon4_GamePlugin.dll, with the letter 3, saved it as ForzaHorizon3_GamePlugin.dll; then edited the other two files, ForzaHorizon4_Banner.jpg, by erasing the letter 4 and typing 3, saved as ForzaHorizon3.jpg, and also edited the ForzaHorizon4.cfg to change the ForzaHorizon4, to ForzaHorizon3 with a text editor, saved it as ForzaHorizon3.cfg. Zipped up all the three files as ForzaHorizon3_GamePluginV1.0.0.1.zip

    Launched the "SimTools_PluginUpdater"; it updated well, no problem.
    Launched the SimTools, selected ForzaHorizon3 and was able to test my hacked ForzaHorizon3 plugin.
    I was able to simulate the motions on the virtual axis. Here it is.
    FH3_Plugin_0.0.0.1.JPG

    But ALAS, belatedly I discovered that, FH3 does not send Data Out.
    Ha ha, all that effort wasted, but it was fun.


    I have requested Microsoft to add the Data Out feature to FH3.
    I like playing FH3, as it is an Australian themed game.

    Attached Files:

  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,718
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,793Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,892 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    As you discovered creating a plugin is a lot of hard work and effort. By any chance did you contact @value1 about hacking his work? I am not admonishing, I am just acutely aware that we all rely on a very limited number of members for plugins, which benefits us all, and hence as the beneficiaries need to be appreciative and respectful of the countless hours and skill they put in to creating plugins, that they then make available to the rest of us.
  8. Sam MAHENDRA

    Sam MAHENDRA mahentheman Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2019
    Messages:
    52
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Balance:
    266Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I am deeply sorry that I neither contacted @value1 nor acknowledged him before hacking his Plugin FH4.

    In order to compensate for the countless hours that @value1 has spent in developing the FGH4 Plugin, I am more that willing to donate a substantial portion of my meager 257 coins. How do I do that?
  9. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    14,718
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    108,793Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,892 / 43 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    You really don't need to do anything other that what you have already done, give credit where credit is due.

    And again my comment is not intended as admonishment, just recognition of some very talented and generous individuals, who make it possible to bring our rigs to life with so many games.

    Nor is there is anything wrong with curiosity and experimenting, we just need to be mindful of and acknowledge who's shoulders we are standing on when doing so. Everyone who creates a build thread contributes something to this awesome community and some push some pretty interesting envelopes when doing so, the ingenuity and creativity of members is really incredible at times and that pushes forward what can be accomplished.
    • Agree Agree x 1