1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

MY first 2dof DIY

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Lucio, Jun 20, 2017.

  1. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hi all. I'm building my 2DOF project, and it "worked fine" in some tests, like this(on the right side you can see both axis):


    However, I am finding it very difficult to regulate the potentiometers. MY system stops working several times after few seconds playing the game (dirt and rfactor)

    Is the behavior of the video below normal? (When I move a pot, sometimes the other motor also moves):

  2. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    481Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Hi!

    There should not be any relations between those movements from pots. So there is something wrong... Hard to tell from your video where wires are connected.

    Does both pots have +5V and GND-wires going to side pins?

    Then wire from middle pin should then go straight to A0 and the other to A1 of Arduino board...
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    hi Fellgood. thanks for you reply.

    yes. i think that all connections is ok. look:
    IMG_20170620_071202057.jpg
  4. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Hi mate, thinking or knowing could be quite different ;) There must be some creeping current between the pots.
    https://www.arduino.cc/en/tutorial/potentiometer
  5. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
  6. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    481Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    One more notice... which code do you use in Arduino? At least SMC3 is not pin compatible in the way you have mounted MM over it...
  7. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Hey fellgood. i used this code...
    sorry, i didn't know about SMC3. Is there anything I can do to solve this? some adjustment?

    Code:
    /* 
    Arduino code for dynamic playseat 2DOF
    Created 24 May 2011 by Jim Lindblom   SparkFun Electronics https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10182 "Example Code"
    Created 24 Apr 2012 by Jean David SEDRUE Version betatest26 - 24042012 http://www.gamoover.net/Forums/index.php?topic=25907
    Updated 20 May 2013 by RacingMat in english http://www.xsimulator.net/2dof-wiper-motor-playseat/ in french : http://www.gamoover.net/Forums/index.php?topic=27617
    Updated 30 April 2014 by RacingMat (bug for value below 16 corrected)
    */
    
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2017
  8. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    I deleted the code not to mislead someone to use a code without any installation manuals etc. You're using the RacingMat Code https://www.xsimulator.net/2dof-motion-simulator-truck-wiper-motor-playseat/4/

    AFAIK the MM and Ard are working "piggy-back" if you use the RacingMat Code. NTL I suggest to try the SMC3 sketch/code, much more versatile and SMC includes a nice tool for changing parameters on the fly (SMC3 utility)
  9. dr.feelgood

    dr.feelgood Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    FINLAND
    Balance:
    481Coins
    Ratings:
    +43 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Sorry @Lucio, can't help you much more, but a thing just came in my mind, that different drive directions could be mixed between motors (been there and done that)... But there is lot more knowledgeable guys here. Hope you get that solved :think
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino

    Do you recommend me to use another code?
  11. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Andrew Eccles

    Andrew Eccles aceinnz Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Balance:
    - 521Coins
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Have you got some good heatsinks on the motor controllers? If not - they will start overheating and become sluggish - and eventually die.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Pit. Using the SMC3 Monitor Utility, i I had the impression that I'm having a voltage return (or creeping current - Correct me if I'm wrong).

    Look:

    pot_test_smc3.jpg
  14. Pit

    Pit - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Balance:
    30,416Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,088 / 31 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    Either way there is something wrong with your pots, the max position should be close to the max limits line and not close to the target line. i suggest checking the pots one at a time. probably there is a short of the pot case to one of the wires. But this is an assumption only.
    • Like Like x 1
  15. RufusDufus

    RufusDufus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    681
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    Balance:
    15,650Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,009 / 9 / -1
    I notice in your photo of wiring you have POTs connected to A0 and A1 of Arduino?

    When the moto monster board is piggybacked like you have done I believe these pins are used for other functions... see schematic: https://cdn.sparkfun.com/datasheets/Dev/Arduino/Shields/MonsterMoto-Shield-v12.pdf This is likely to be causing problems.

    If the code you tested is meant for piggyback use then you are probably using wrong pins - check their instructions.

    Now you are testing with SMC3 you will need to unplug it as a piggyback board and wire as detailed in SMC3 thread.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Lucio

    Lucio New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Occupation:
    Engineering
    Location:
    Brazil
    Balance:
    190Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    Fixed !!! The problem was a bad contact on the 5V pin of the Arduino. I discovered using a multimeter directly on the potentiometers, and saw that it was only coming 3V. Now is ok !!!
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1