1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

My 6 DOF project with BLDC motors

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Carelsbergh_Stijn, Jan 13, 2019.

  1. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hello, I want to share with you my 6 dof project, I'm verry bussy building it. I'm building this as a graduation project.

    Here are some pictures:
    upload_2019-1-13_11-47-6.png IMG_20181125_115822.jpg IMG_20181125_115925.jpg IMG_20181125_120110.jpg IMG_20181125_120338.jpg IMG_20181127_181942.jpg IMG_20181125_120338.jpg IMG_20190103_165850.jpg IMG_20190105_120141.jpg IMG_20190105_231429.jpg
    If you have any questions please send me a message, if you have advice, send it to me ;-)

    Carelsbergh Stijn
    • Like Like x 3
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,119Coins
    Ratings:
    +794 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    hi @Carelsbergh_Stijn welcome to the forum and have to say your actuators have the makings of being quality units , do you have access to machinery or are these parts custom made by sub contracted machinist ?
    great to see another 6DOF project on the go , so like all the other followers , were looking forward to the development and progress of this version ..Lovely workmanship already and this is early days for you .. great stuff :cheers
  4. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    I'm making the parts myself, I have a lathe and a milling machine.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,119Coins
    Ratings:
    +794 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @Carelsbergh_Stijn then you Sir :) must have a great man cave, I have a lathe Myford 7 but needs 3 phase motor and inverter upgrade and the my CNC router for lightweight stuff ( so many bits so little time ) a Mill would be icing on the cake, But 1st I'd need to add floor space to my garden workshop man cave ( the neighbour's might object to that dammit ) Nice work and a taster of whats to come ... keep up the Good work
  6. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    484Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Nice project wish I had a lathe have you got a plan where to mount the pots yet?
  7. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    6dof2.PNG 6dof1.PNG

    I don't know the lengths yet but I can just chance them and everythings addapts to that, so no problem
  8. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    thanks you and I will
  9. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    484Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I guess it's not a huge deal especially with a lathe but just seems something people tend to have difficulty with and might be worth planning earlier rather than later
  10. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +904 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Using ODrive? Curious to see the result.
    This drive/motors is on my radar for some time and if it works, it's a great and simple alternative.
    Be careful with the size in the feet area.
    Also, you have to allow rotation on the top or bottom or inside the actuator.
    In your drawing it's not visible, but with such a simple mounting, looks like there's no rotation allowed:
    6dof2.PNG
  11. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,

    I don't know if this is correct but I've not seen a 6 dof simulator with universal joints that allows roation of the actuators, but what I have seen is when using rod ends instead of universal joints, they do alow it, maybe you can tell me if this is correct?

    Do you have any suggestions on what to change on my design? for example get the tops of the actuators further appart? I already knew about the feet area, It was just to give an idea, this needs to be changed. my botom radius is 750mm, is this ok?

    many thanks
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +904 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    In my rig, I allow the top joints to rotate.
    It's no the best design, in my case. It has some play: https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...shless-diy-actuators.10799/page-6#post-163059
    You can do something similar or allow the actuator to rotate removing the internal guides. Rotation will be limited by the ujoints, so it still works.
    Removing the internal guides makes the actuator simpler, but if you are using positioning by rotation encoder, it will introduce an error, because one rotation on the motor might not be an exact rotation, since the actuator is compensating the fact of the ujoint being "solid".
    You could correct this by software, but it's not easy. You need inverse kinematics in real time for each actuator.
    I would go with first solution, like I have done, unless you where using a belt system with encoder/pot to detect position.
    But try to put a roller bearing or a good pivot. It's something I need to change.

    I think 750mm radius is enough, I'm using less than that. I wanted it to be compact.
  13. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    The actuator doesn't turn much so if I program my system to not use the last 5mm of the actuator in the case that the actuator is rotated a little bit, could this solve the problem? I don't have a problem with the disseret angles not being perfect. (my actuator can turn inside the guiding block)
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +904 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    For example, if you make Yaw, your joints must allow rotation.
    Or you can use a solution like @JAD (https://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/jads-6dof-with-ballscrews.11686/). Where the actuator can freelly rotate. There's no guide, the guide is the joint that doesn't rotate.
    What I mean in the last post is that in this case (JAD), one rotation of the motor is not always the same travel, because you are compensating rotation on the ball screw.
  15. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi

    as you can see in the pictures, my guide block can rotate freely (it is held onto the metal with 2 circlipses), so there is no problem of the guiding block blocking the rotation:
    Knipsel.PNG Knipsel2.PNG

    so the top part of the actuator is free to turn from the botom part, is there still another problem?

    Kind regards

    Carelsbergh Stijn
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    6,644Coins
    Ratings:
    +904 / 12 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Ah, OK,

    I don't see other problems.
    Waiting to see it moving! :thumbs
  17. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,
    Thank you for the quick response, so the only disadvantage of doing what I do is that the encoder reading is not always 100% correct with the real position?

    Kind regards

    Carelsbergh Stijn
  18. sam poole

    sam poole Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    midlands
    Balance:
    484Coins
    Ratings:
    +41 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    I would recommend using track rod ends rather than universal joints they can get notchy at some angles and How's is your encoder setup any pics?
  19. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    upload_2019-2-4_23-29-42.png
    upload_2019-2-4_23-30-6.png
  20. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,

    small update on my project, all the parts for the actuators are done, now I'm starting on the frame.
    IMG_20190126_225410.jpg IMG_20190127_015323.jpg upload_2019-2-9_14-13-3.png

    Cheers

    Carelsbergh Stijn
    • Like Like x 4
  21. Carelsbergh_Stijn

    Carelsbergh_Stijn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    326Coins
    Ratings:
    +22 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi

    my frame is finished

    IMG_20190312_192707.jpg IMG_20190314_202900.jpg

    And my drawings too ofcource:

    54129476_405522073345001_9162850132268417024_n.png

    Now all that's left is programming the thing, I have already asked for a DIY licence twice and I don't get a reaction, does anyone know why?

    Thanks

    Cheers

    Carelsbergh Stijn
    • Winner Winner x 1