1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Showroom My 5 dof + G Seat/Belt Tensioner cockpit build

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Projects' started by Moe Colontonio, Feb 10, 2021.

  1. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    After purchasing a Pro-Simu 3dof back in 2018, I decided to upgrade the whole setup to a 5 dof. I've added a few goodies along the way.

    Started off with a simple frame plan, and precutting all the parts.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Mockup for welding top frame
    [​IMG]

    Welded up
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Top frame, and lower frame with rollers installed. I used spring loaded "suspension" rollers to take up any slack or twist in the frame. https://www.mcmaster.com/catalog/127/1435
    [​IMG]

    Lower frame will ride on 1/4" AR plate
    [​IMG]

    Test fitting the SCN 60 Actuators
    [​IMG]

    Completed rig, with SCN20 traction loss. Complete specs:
    5 dof with simtools
    Virpil T50 CM1 with custom adjustable extension
    Thrustmaster Warthog throttle
    Slaw Device Rudder Pedals
    Pimax 5k VR or triple monitors
    Custom built AV8B left panel
    Custom built AV8B Nozzle Lever
    Bass Shakers

    [​IMG]


    Once completed, I started adding some goodies to it.

    Adjustable stick extension (just change the tube)
    [​IMG]

    Landing gear switch
    [​IMG]

    Hand built AV8 Nozzle lever, all aluminum, lever and STO stop are run with a Bodnar board.
    [​IMG]

    AV8B left cockpit side and Thrustmaster MFDs
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Added a GS5 G seat and belt tensioner, along with Brunner CLS Stick and Pedals
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    The problem is the setup is now too heavy for the SCN6-60s!
    [​IMG]
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2021
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    About a week after completing the above rig, while browsing the forum I came across the SFX 100 actuators. I thought it was a cool project, and figured I'd upgrade at some point. I've now decided it's time, as it's become too heavy for the SCN60s with the addition of the G seat.

    I'm going to go with a Thanos controller, and 110ST motors to ensure that weight will not be an issue.

    To start, I had to design and build adapter plates to adapt the SCN100 to the larger 110ST motors.
    [​IMG]

    110ST motor mated to the SFX100 actuator. I purchased the actuator bodies from E Racing Lab rather than spend the time fabricating them out of aluminum. I prefer metal to plastic or printed parts. https://eracing-lab.com/collections/diy-projects/products/diy-professional

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The ST110 motor to SFX100 will require a 10x19 coupling, which has been a challenge to find. I ended up going bigtime and buying a set of US made Oldham style coupleings from McMaster for $360. Guys on this forum did find me this solution, but I didn't want to wait. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/400...lgo_pvid=326da702-9d37-46c9-9628-b558ed2cf498

    Here's a link to the Fusion 360 CAD file (.f3d) for the adapter plate I designed, 6061 Aluminum. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YeajOnrvORI08XsY5Ww1tXxta5u9l4fu/view?usp=sharing
    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2021
  4. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    More to come...
  5. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,514Coins
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I already purchased a SimXperience GS5 seat. I love the G seat, hate their software. I tried to get it to work with simtools, but it's just not gonna happen as I'm much better at welding than figuring out serial port inputs. So for now, I'm stuck with waiting on them to come out with plugins for the games. A 3rd party came up with a way to make DCS work, but I'm still waiting for MSFS 2020 which blows my mind that they haven't done that yet. A future project might be to throw out all their interface stuff, and make the motors run with arduino, but that will be a whole learning process for me and I want to get this thing done first.
  7. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Completed adapter plates
    [​IMG]


    Cutting down the motor shafts
    [​IMG]

    I see in the Thanos wiring diagram that he's got inline RFI filters on the motors. Will I need this if I only have the motors plugged into my power supply, and nothing else? Might add an AC cooling fan for the server case but that's it.
  8. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,514Coins
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0 / -0
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  10. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,514Coins
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0 / -0
    I've read others doing this with success. Thanos has a video on wrapping cables, uses a jumper wire to bridge across the connectors.
  11. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Any issues with switching the power supply to all 5 motors/controllers at once? In other words, I'm gonna plug everything into a 240v/30A PDU, then switch the PDU itself.

    Also, if I wrap the cables with RFI shielding and ground that, do I still need the inline filters?
  12. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    1,514Coins
    Ratings:
    +139 / 0 / -0
    PDU should be fine turning on the drives.
    I would personally do all the things for the emi/rfi.
    If you want to cut corners I would say the most important two things are ferrite cores and shielded wires. You only need one inline filter as its only for things upstream of the drivers.
  13. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I finally got the time over the weekend to assemble all the actuators/adapters/motors. I did notice that 2 of my ball screws were nice and easy to turn, and 2 were much stiffer. The good ones I can turn with 2 fingers on the input shaft, the stiffer ones I can't, but can still easily turn them once the coupler was installed. I'm going to try to test them each tonight and see how they run with the 110ST.

    [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Well, actuator test complete.


    Now to assemble the cabinet for the controller and get them all wired up, then start cutting on the existing rig to get the new actuator mounts welded on.
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Got the welding done for the new mounts, got everything painted, and the big parts assembled.

    Cut off the old mounts, and came up with a bracket system for the SFX
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Test fit went well
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Parts painted, this Rustoleum Hammered crap is great. One coat and super durable.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Assembly started.
    [​IMG]

    Got everything bolted together, still waiting on the traction loss stuff so I'll use the SCN for now. Tonight I'll start the wiring.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2021 at 20:06
  16. Moe Colontonio

    Moe Colontonio Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Balance:
    624Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have no idea why the above images are not showing. Imgur is garbage, can anyone recommend an image host, or tell me how I can just post them here?
  17. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16,281
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    118,642Coins
    Ratings:
    +9,461 / 46 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    • Like Like x 1