1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Motor shaking juttering

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by getti, Nov 12, 2018.

  1. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    One of my motors is juttering and shaking slightly as soon as I sit in the rig. I was thinking it was the potentiometer mount was too flimsy so I 3d printed better ones but that hasn't fixed the problem. Anyone one know what this could be? Bad potentiometer maybe? I'll post a video below.

    Thanks
  2. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  3. prodigy

    prodigy Burning revs

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    418
    Location:
    Croatia
    Balance:
    6,471Coins
    Ratings:
    +362 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Is that a Hall potentiometer or normal one? Do you have another to try?
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    It could be hardware, swap pots side to side to check, or interference, clip on ferrite magnets can help with the latter.

    It could also be PID settings.

    Is the computer set to English Local:
  5. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It's just a regular 10K potentiometer. I don't have another one here but I'm thinking to pop out today to the electronics store and pick one up.
  6. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good idea I will swap sides now.
    What do you mean English Local?
  7. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I swapped the pots from side to side and somehow the problem is gone. I didn't have a lot of time but I'll do some more testing when I get home from work.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  8. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  9. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Ok I had a chance to test more and the problem is still there. I swap the pots from side to side but the shaking is still on the same side and it's even a little bit worse now. I thought I had some ferret clips somewhere but I can't find them. Any suggestions on what I can try in the meantime.
    Thanks
  10. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  11. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    521
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +494 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    is it doing this in game ?
  12. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes it does it when I'm sat in the car, really annoying. Can't feel it as much when driving though.
  13. Daguru

    Daguru Rally drivers do it in the mud

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    521
    Occupation:
    window cleaner
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Balance:
    957Coins
    Ratings:
    +494 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Whats your max min settings ? might be set to low causing movement where there shouldnt be ?
  14. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Max, Min? Tuning center values?

    I doubt it's related to Simtools cause the shaking happens even when the PC is off and simtools not running.
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2018
  15. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I think it might be from interference. I was moving some wires apart from each other and it seemed to make the shaking stop. Where do I put the ferrite clips, which wires?
    Thanks
  16. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,780
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,521Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,693 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Try ferrites on USB cables first.
  17. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF
    My opinion... you have ground loops.... disconnect ground of the potentiometer from the metal chassis, and the ground from the power supply (earth) from the motor drive gnd power input, only leave connected positive and negative leads from the psu...
  18. getti

    getti Currently building my first 2dof seat mover...

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Canada
    Balance:
    147Coins
    Ratings:
    +42 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I agree with you. I'm just confused which ground leads you're talking about? Also my rig chassis is made of wood, does that matter?
  19. Thanos

    Thanos Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    1,648Coins
    Ratings:
    +279 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, Joyrider, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Show your power supply and wiring in a video or photos...
  20. ne02005

    ne02005 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Argentina
    Balance:
    - 46Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    How will be the ferrites on cables? do you have some picture? I have same problem too