1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Motion simulator for MSFS2020 Helicopter (Airbus H135)

Discussion in 'Flight Simulator 2020 - FS2020' started by Michael Mariacher, Apr 21, 2021.

  1. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Dear Fans,

    a short video showing motion while helicoter flying.



    Michael
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,697Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,005 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    YAW looks great, heave?
  4. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Heave, yes of course. But for viewers not as spectacular as YAW. But could be tweaked to have more movement. But as I try to lift up and land smooth, it's not a huge movement. But clearly to feel iwhen lift up, land or scratch the skids on taxiway.

    Michael
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,697Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,005 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Ok though that may be the case. IMO heave is the main motion felt in co-ordinated flight, so much so that I ended up building actuators for my sim that use 800mm long ballscrews which can move up to 500mm/sec. Really made a difference in realism.
  6. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Do you fly in VR? IMHO in VR you do not need as much movement as with a monitor setup. VR is for beginners sometimes that weird that they barely recognize a reverse YAW.
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2021
  7. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,717
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    28,697Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,005 / 37 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yes over many years tried most things in simulation, IMO done properly - big heave movement (when required) always trumps small.
  8. frsim09

    frsim09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ariège, France
    Balance:
    592Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,
    Did you do something special to have the vertical movement (heave), I can't get this movement with the helicopters on MSFS2020, and yet the movement seems to be present with the original aircraft on my 6dof.
    Thank you in advance for your answer
  9. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi, first of all my actual settings:
    MSFS2020_DOF_1-3.jpg MSFS2020_DOF_4-6.jpg MSFS2020_TuningCenter.jpg
    The video was made with less heave but more sway and surge. I'm still not fully happy, but it works more or less OK.
    Please check tuning center settings too.

    Great seeing you also like the austrian OE- livery. :cheers

    Michael
    • Like Like x 1
  10. frsim09

    frsim09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ariège, France
    Balance:
    592Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks Michael for your share, indeed, i think i have a problem on my tuning center, which I do not really know how to set :(, currently i have a value Max 10 and Min -10 !!
  11. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi, it's not that hard. Start the simulator, write down your actual settings, click on "Capture Max Min", then "Reset". Fly smooth and easy, take off, land. After, you see the new values, mostly like 1,234567. After I recommend change this value manual to a slighly higer, easier value. i.e. 1,5. This value you can then adopt in small numbers, i.e. from 1,5 to 1,3. Never 0,0!!!
    Or you try my settings as a start.
    Michael
  12. frsim09

    frsim09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ariège, France
    Balance:
    592Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Thanks a lot Michael for your help, I'll test it as soon as possible :thumbs.
  13. frsim09

    frsim09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ariège, France
    Balance:
    592Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi Michael,
    I tried with your "Max+1 and Min -1" settings on the Heave and indeed it works, but only during takeoff and landing.
    During all the rest of the flight the value in the tuning center does not move practically, do you have the same thing on your side ?
  14. Michael Mariacher

    Michael Mariacher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Balance:
    498Coins
    Ratings:
    +24 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    4DOF
    Hi,
    did you try to fly in severe weather? Or doing a step decent out of vertical flying? The next step would be, reduce the heave value in tuning center by +/-0,1. But be carefull. From 1 to 0,9 it increases output by ~11%, from 0,5 to 0,4 by 20%, from 0,2 to 0,1 ~100%. I would not go below 0,5. But try it out.
    Michael
  15. frsim09

    frsim09 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Ariège, France
    Balance:
    592Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi,
    Yes I tried in these conditions, I also reduced the heave value by steps of 0.1 and the takeoff and landing phases are much more reactive, but the flight phase remains without movement, the variations of the heave in the tuning center are very weak and have no effect. I have the impression that the Heave telemetry is not taken into account.
    Eric