1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Motion delay when playing PC2

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Joshua Schoeling, Oct 6, 2018.

  1. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    When I test the chairs movement using output testing in the game engine for SimTools, my DOFReality chair responds instantly with no problems. Now, the problem is, once I load into Project Cars 2, there is a delay from the movement of the car in the game to the movement of the chair. The delay is about 5 seconds. I am running SimTools 2.3.0. I have tried uninstalling the game and simtools and reinstalling with no luck.

    This chair has been working for 2 weeks before this started happening as well and I did not make any changes to the computer or chair.

    Any help here would be appreciated!
  2. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    To add to the issue, the longer I am in a race, the worse the delay gets.
  3. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimTools Developer SimAxe Beta Tester Gold Contributor SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,060
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    32,348Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,140 / 10 / -0
    Can you post a bit about your setup, what all you are using, etc..
    thanks man,
    yobuddy
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,348Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,681 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
  5. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I am using the DOFReality Professional P3 chair. I am running it with a Samsung Odyssey VR headset. My PC specs are;
    I7-8700k
    16gb 3000mhz ram
    GTX 1080 ti
    500gb m.2 ssd

    SimTools version is 2.3.0 and I am actually running your plugin for PC2

    I have tested the chair with other games and I have noticed a little delay in motion from them but not as bad as PC2.
  6. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello noorbeast, The chair in question was already up and running totally fine for a few weeks before this happened. Nothing changed or updated. It was running totally fine, I shut it down one night and loaded it up the next day to have this happening. I have already uninstalled everything and started from the beginning with setup and it is still happening. Ill be able to post some screen shots of the values shortly.
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    11,755
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    91,348Coins
    Ratings:
    +7,681 / 37 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    If you are absolutely certain nothing changed or was updated then contact DOFreality for support, as that would suggest a hardware problem.
  8. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I am certain that nothing changed, I will attach a picture of my tuning center settings as well.

    I do have 2 of their chairs and if I open UDP so both chairs get the same signal, the one in question still delays in movement when I am using the good chair. If I am using the chair that is having a delay issue, the good chair will move totally fine with the motion of the game coming from the delayed chair.

    Both chairs are setup exactly the same as far as settings and plugins go. I also tried switching the box which powers the motors from the good chair to the delayed chair and I am still getting the same delay issue in the one chair.

    Attached Files:

  9. Macka

    Macka Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Aerial Photographer
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    - 27Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Hmmm....am having same issue after installing fresh V2.3 yesterday. Checked it over several racing titles inc PC2 and was between 1 to 5 second lag after running for 30 seconds or so....... But "holy cow" tried DCS and it runs fine for about 15 seconds then the lag sets in and is delayed up to several minutes. I stopped the flights and the motion continued for about 4 minutes in a couple of instances. Motion was slowed motion and travels dropped to about 5 percent. The longer I flew a test the longer the pent up motion.....lol. This could be finger trouble on my part. I've checked all settings and will go over them again tomorrow in case I missed something obvious. Will report back with any findings or glaring errors on my part. Oh, I am not running same sim as Joshua but a SimX with scn5s.
  10. Joshua Schoeling

    Joshua Schoeling New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello Macka,
    I have noticed the same thing as well. It was starting to happen in every game I was playing. I did manage to some what fix the issue but it is still not back to 100%. I refreshed my UDP settings, uninstalled and reinstalled SimTools and repatched all of my plugins and it helped. Thr motion is only delayed by half a second to a second now and there is no more pent up motion either. Please report back though if you figure something else out because I would like a permanent fix
  11. Macka

    Macka Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Occupation:
    Aerial Photographer
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Balance:
    - 27Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, SCN5
    Well that was quick fix. As soon as you mentioned refreshing UDP settings I thought what would be sniffing around UDP ports upsetting the apple-cart so I thought Malwarebytes program!!!! I uninstalled it and issue gone instantly in DCS. I would assume many of the sniffing type anti-malware anti phishing type programs may cause similar issues. I haven't tried any of the driving programs yet as I am having other issues with new Profiles not saving and/or profile settings changing. But some weird stuff is going on so will do clean install of V2.3. Thx for the idea of where to start looking :)

    Edit. Did a reinstall set up Interface and DCS profile and all good now as it should be. Will try PC2 tomorrow :)
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2018