1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. WhaleDriver

    WhaleDriver Long live the Queen

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Occupation:
    Pilot
    Location:
    USA
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    Full specs of the rig here: https://pcpartpicker.com/user/TapRackBang45/saved/PfNFt6

    It's been a long time coming and I can't wait to get started on the build.
  2. Jules666

    Jules666 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi folks,

    I am looking to get 2dof platform for Elite in VR I am leaning towards DOF Reality P2 any one on here have any suggestions on the P2 or other platforms that I should consider.
    I like the idea of P2 as I can then upgrade to P3 and P6 as funds allow.

    Is there a faq on getting Elite to work with motion platforms, reading this thread it looks like there is a xml thing I need and that Wagnard is one of the 'Jedi' that creates the magic.

    So what is Elite like in VR with 2dof? Or heck even 6dof!

    Many thanks commanders.
  3. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    791Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Here is a video with the P3. It works great, however i think a 6dof for flight sims would be even better. The traction loss is also not very important but a nice addon.
    If you are only wanting a motion rig for Elite that would be quite problematic as there is no garanty that the plugin will be updated and works with every update.

    Also i don't think you need very powerfull motors, as these games need smoothness not power. On the P3 its kinda jerky sometimes. For me though its not a problem as i have the rig mainly for racing.

    So a H2 would be better maybe for you?

    https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...orizons-plugin-xml-edition.12955/#post-170998
    • Like Like x 1
  4. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    791Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  5. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Balance:
    1,145Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    Hi. I can't compare with the p3 since I have the parts to downgrade my p6 to p3 but I have installed directly the p6 and I have not tried the p3 at all.

    I have never had any sim car rig before the p6 , so I can only see videos of p3 and h3 and compare to the motion of my p6.

    I can feel the traction loss with the p6. Not sure how compares in terms of feelings with the p3 or h3 traction loss
  6. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Balance:
    1,145Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
    My video of Dirt Rally 2.0 on my dofreality p6





    I know, I suck driving, but keep in mind that I set up the max/min in tuning center so that I could enjoy the feelings of a 6 dof. That makes the car very hard to drive.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2019
  7. Istvan Fodor

    Istvan Fodor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    16Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    This is my rig guys in action:
    • Like Like x 1
  8. born2bslow

    born2bslow New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2017
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    I'm looking to order my motion sim in 2 weeks time, I'd pretty much decided it was either Prosimu T1000 3DOF or Dofreality P3, but now the H6/P6 is around to make me think twice. I can afford the P6, I don't have the skills or spare time to build, so it's buying for me. Reviews of the 6dofreality rig are proving difficult to find. It seems to be proven tech. I'll be mainly racing and playing Elite Dangerous is 6dof overkill for that?
  9. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    791Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
    Does anyone know how to add a kill switch, i mean the wiring? on the P3

    I would like to add one
  10. Benji85

    Benji85 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    118
    Balance:
    709Coins
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
  11. splendiddd

    splendiddd Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Occupation:
    CCTV security
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    791Coins
    Ratings:
    +48 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino, Motion platform
  12. LoveSquirts

    LoveSquirts New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Occupation:
    Tech Product Development (IOT)
    Location:
    Saugatuck, MI
    Balance:
    24Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi all, got my DOFReality H6 about a month ago. Pic here:


    My left control box was DOA, so don't have any feedback on movement. Haven't used the rig motion yet because replacements are on the way to USA from Ukraine....

    Attached Files:

  13. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    159
    Balance:
    1,145Coins
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0 / -0
  14. Aduro

    Aduro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    17Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Could someone describe how the 3rd degree of freedom (normally traction loss) works as a flight simulator's yaw?

    More generally, how well would a DOF Realy H3 work for a flight simulator? Is it as immersive for flight as it is for racing? Is the 6dof H6 orP6 important if you want an immersive motion experience with flight?
  15. RCFlyer

    RCFlyer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2018
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have the H3 and use it exclusively for flight simming. I sim helicopters, therefore, use the yaw capability allot. The tractionloss/yaw works fairly well. There is some lack sensitivity/accuracy, but, overall it contributes to the flight sim experience very nicely. I have no experience with the 6DOF and am interested in hearing what the 6DOF folks have to say as well.

    Danny
  16. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    565Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I couldn't get my P3 to work well enough for it to feel somewhat realistic.

    I'm not saying it cant be played with until it feels ok but for me, it was an immersion breaker.

    Andy
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019 at 05:44
  17. slipstream

    slipstream Airborne

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    When I sit in my seat I can rock back and forth as there is play where the servos connect. Is there a way to remedy this? Thanks in advance.
  18. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    565Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Sorry Slipstream but no. There is play in the worm drives and that is what you are feeling.

    You could try adjusting the weight bias forward a little to help reduce the feeling but there will always be slack in the mechanism.

    Andy
  19. slipstream

    slipstream Airborne

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Balance:
    215Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    It’s not the drives but the connection of the rods to the arms.
  20. Andy Booth

    Andy Booth Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Balance:
    565Coins
    Ratings:
    +54 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Oh!
    That sounds like an email back to DofReality to me. There shouldn't be movement there (if I understand correctly what you are saying).