1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. xxpelle

    xxpelle Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    139Coins
    Ratings:
    +72 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    To adjust pressure and refill I use the pump which is connected with a T. upload_2018-10-21_13-16-4.jpeg
    upload_2018-10-21_13-15-33.jpeg
    • Like Like x 1
  2. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Balance:
    1,277Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    Thank you so much for the reply with suggestions!

    The SRS ShakeKit looks like a pillow to seat on and we would feel the vibrations localized under our butt.

    Would instead doing a DIY vibrations system by buying the components you suggested , give us the possibility to spread the vibration all around the dofreality rig by putting the transducers in strategic places of the rig? Do you have strategic places to put these transducers ?


    Also , how about vibration to pedals and do we need vibration to the wheel when the wheel has force feedback or just the force feedback would be enough ?

    In terms of pc, would 1 usb sound card be also enough for more than 4 transducers ?

    Thank you so much!
  3. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,959Coins
    Ratings:
    +246 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    +1 for Dayton Audio Pucks.

    I've used them in several rigs, and they work GREAT!


    Currently I have a pair (L+R) mounted to my T3PA-Pro pedal deck, as well as a pair down in the kidney area of my racing seat (again in an L+R configuration).

    I use Lepai A2020 amps to power each pair.

    Here's an old pic of my rig (a very old pic, and prior to adding my 2dof motion platform which I'm currently working on), and you can see the Lepai amps mounted along the right-hand side, along with a 4x headphone amp/splitter box above them.
    Easy to reach out and adjust everything, even in VR.

    DSCF4633.JPG

    Here you can see the two Dayton Pucks which are mounted in the area below the pedals,and just above the steel plate on the pedal deck.
    The two white dots are the 8ohm decals on the face of each puck.

    DSCF4631.JPG


    Because the pucks are located in areas which are in contact with the body (heels of feet + lower back) they don't require a lot of power in order to get their point across. :)

    Much more efficient than large transducers in each corner of the rig...I've never understood the point of that, especially on rigs with small surface areas.

    I've seen a lot of rigs that have their transducers so far away, and on such minimal structural area that the user is probably only actually feeling 25% of what's being generated, if even that.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2018
  4. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    Yes you can use multiple transducers placed around the rig. The most common is chassis mode, where a decent size transducer is placed to represent each wheel, but you can add more to simulate diufferent things, like a smaller puck like transducer on the dear stick for gear changes.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. RAHULUS

    RAHULUS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    I have just set up the DOFReality H3, and just want someone to explain, very simply, the basics in tuning/settings!

    I understand there are a lot of posts already which show how you should go about adjusting levels. I feel like I am starting one step behind everyone here... could someone help explain what the basic differences between the following are?

    1) Axis control settings - what exactly are we defining here in % values?
    2) Tuning center - what is the difference between this and the axis control settings? ie. if I have a problem which do I adjust first, the axis controls or the tuning?
    3) Motion Profiles - can someone explain what this is exactly - is it just saving the presets once you've decided on the axis control % numbers?

    Thanks very much!
  6. RAHULUS

    RAHULUS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    IGNORE - I just found the manual - that is helping me a lot
  7. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    1. Axis Allocation are how much of the individual (like traction loss) or shared % of movement is allowed for each Axis/Force. Filters define characteristics for the axis allocation, like smoothing, while the Dir box being checked orange or not defines which way an axis moves.

    2. The smaller the Tuning Center values the quicker the sim will respond, but over a reduced range of movement, while larger values do the opposite. As the name suggests the Tuning Center lets you tune a response for a given Axis Allocation force/axis.

    3. You can have settings for Axis Allocation and Tuning Center to create a generic game profile, then you can create variations of that by using Profiles in Game Manager to suit different cars and tracks. So you can have one set of Axis Allocation and Tuning Center settings but have very different Game Manager profile for an F1 compared to a Cobra in Assetto Corsa.

    See here on how to create and refine a motion profile: https://www.xsimulator.net/community/faq/steps-to-create-a-motion-profile.228/
    • Like Like x 2
  8. RAHULUS

    RAHULUS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    @noorbeast - that was perfect, ty very much for taking the time to explain it!

    So I've just taken the default settings for iRacing that were posted in the other thread. It seems as though the Tuning values need to stay relatively low in order to be effective (anything >20 seems to kill all movement on any one axis) - I was expecting these to be in the 0-100 range, but I'm finding that the slightest increments are affecting the feel significantly.

    Is this what others have found with iRacing (i'm using with the Pro Mazda if that helps)
  9. RAHULUS

    RAHULUS New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2018
    Messages:
    11
    Balance:
    46Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    On a separate note, the screws that were supplied for the wheel mount plate do not sit flush at all with the plate itself on my rig... which is causing issues when mounting my accuforce wheel.

    Anyone else found this, and any recommended solution(s)?
  10. Thug

    Thug New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Middlesbrough UK
    Balance:
    388Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Sorry if this has been asked and answered before, but just posting this in the 2 mins I have spare before I go to work.
    Does anyone know what motors the P3 uses (a UK link would be helpful)?
    I am wanting to pull the trigger on either the H3 or P3, but cant really stretch to the P3 yet. If the P3 motors are not too expensive then I might get the H3 and upgrade at a later date as the ONLY difference is the motors I believe.
  11. Kranky Pantz

    Kranky Pantz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Messages:
    315
    Location:
    Canada, Eh!
    Balance:
    1,959Coins
    Ratings:
    +246 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK, Motion platform
    Can anyone here give some insight into the electronics which come with these systems?
    Judging from their website I'm assuming that they all use the same electronics, regardless of the model #.

    Just wondering if they use JRK's in order to keep it simple, or if they are using the typical Arduino + MM's, or even some form of proprietary setup?


    Their website only offers details and pic's of the external components, not inside the control boxes.


    With the claim of it being a Next Level Racing V3 Motion Platform "killer" with their M2 seat mover...that's a very bold statement.


    Are they not wanting to give up their secrets, or is it a rats nest inside those mystery boxes? ;)
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2018
  12. Spit40

    Spit40 VR Flyer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Balance:
    2,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +176 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Its arduino. Not sure about motor driver. Might well be MM. I know its arduino as I needed to tweak their code on my early version (Jan 2017) to get the proper range of movement.

    Having the traction loss / yaw is a nice addition over 2DOF, but for flying I find the gearing too slack. I had a flight last night in turbulent conditions and there was too much jerk/kick in the yaw DOF. I'm trying to work out how to apply a constant force to one side to take up the slack, like a suspended weight on a pulley. I have no experience with constant torque springs though they could be more suitable. Any ideas anyone?

    No point me showing you a photo of the internals as from what i read the electronics is much tidier these days.
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
  14. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR - The Next Generation Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    13,143
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    99,999Coins
    Ratings:
    +8,337 / 42 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    1. A cheap LED PSU or brick dtyle PSU would do the trick.
    2. The Shakebox uses a DIN to connect the transducers to the control box.
  15. Jon B.

    Jon B. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    69Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hello,

    I just purchased a seat mover from dof reality and im hsving troubles dialing in the advanced 2d settings and getting decent heave. Do you have any suggestions on some settings for assetto corsa? Thanks!

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  16. Watchumacallit

    Watchumacallit Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    60
    Balance:
    169Coins
    Ratings:
    +62 / 1 / -0
    What model of the M2 mount did you get? Im also interested in putting one of this on my aluminum profile rig. They have different options in their website and not sure which one fits best. looking at yours that looks perfect on aluminum rigs.

    Also can you do a review on it when you get everything to work?

    Thanks!
  17. Jon B.

    Jon B. New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Balance:
    69Coins
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes I will definitely report back with a video etc when its finished and tuned. They will custom make it to fit any specs you give them. Just email them.
    • Like Like x 1
  18. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Balance:
    1,277Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    Thank you! I might give these a try.
    I like the idea of feeling vibrations in different parts of the rig based on what part of the sim car gets in touch with a kerb or else
  19. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    177
    Balance:
    1,277Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    Thanks! I am sure I will have a ton of more questions soon. Thank you for the patience and your time replying!
  20. optical10

    optical10 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Balance:
    564Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Anyone else having DOF Reality Licence activation issues?

    ps. sorted it's been updated now by them :)
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2018