1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. DOFreality

    DOFreality New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 5 / -0
    Happy to hear that. Let me know if anything else needed
  2. Andres Castaneda

    Andres Castaneda Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Colombia
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
  3. Ruszek83

    Ruszek83 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
  4. Andres Castaneda

    Andres Castaneda Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Colombia
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Awsome! looks fantastic.
    That is a Leo Bodnar steering wheel rigth?
  5. Ruszek83

    Ruszek83 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Nope. This is Fanatec BMW GT2 rim with Bodnar usb-mod
    :thumbs
  6. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    image.jpeg image.jpeg Lol, no words left but to laugh, I was testing my new brakes and this happened.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. hazardic

    hazardic m3gt2 fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    gosh.. i guess you set up the maximum brake force for he brake? mine is set on default but i have a different construction of pedals mount
  8. Andres Castaneda

    Andres Castaneda Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Colombia
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Could you share how did you mount your pedals? i've been watching the pics you posted, and it looks that you inverted that part of the frame. could you share more pictures please?
  9. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I bought the pro's vs the ultimates because I could see the rig was too weak and still this. I'm going to have to spend even more money again, to make a brace grin the wheel base, over the pedals, and to the front of pedal base. Only problem is I'm going to lose adjustability of pedal base.
  10. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I built my rig just like the instructions. I don't know why it looks like I have something mounted inverted?

    image.png
  11. Andres Castaneda

    Andres Castaneda Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Location:
    Colombia
    Balance:
    198Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    Sorry
    The message was for Hazardic based on this pic...

    Attached Files:

  12. DOFreality

    DOFreality New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 5 / -0
    Concerning the hazardic pedal mount:

    1. It is massive and will cost a fortune to ship abroad. I is more than 3ft (1m) long and can't be dissembled.
    2. It tremendously complicates overall platform assembly with extra elements and fittings.
    3. There is no adjustment for the pedals angle.
    4. It can't be universal for different pedals brands and models. Even Hazardic had problems with T3PA-PRO
  13. DOFreality

    DOFreality New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 5 / -0
    That is how solid our platform is :


    we test extensively for stress each unit before shipping
  14. MacThai_75

    MacThai_75 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    California USA
    Balance:
    439Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    That's all good and well ... but it still broke.
    Maybe it was weakened by you guys jumping on it. ;)
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. DOFreality

    DOFreality New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 5 / -0
    :grin:grin:grin
    Yours is the special case, that we have taken full responsibility to fix.
    Now we hiring bigger Testers. That one was only 170 pounds...
    And actually from now on, to eliminate even slim chance of having same issues, we decide reinforce all critical point of the platform.
  16. Archie

    Archie Eternal tinkerer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,023
    Location:
    Wollongong, NSW, AU
    Balance:
    3,778Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,278 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, JRK
    @MacThai_75 - Did you make your steering wheel mount, or buy it?

    I've been looking for a single pole steering wheel mount, but not found any that are strong enough and don't flex.

    Thanks.
  17. hazardic

    hazardic m3gt2 fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    well my pedal mount which consists of 2 small frames instead of the beefy one was the very first mount. it was quite uncomfy to mount t3pa indeed, but the new he pro pedals amazingly fits here, because:
    - i can make a plane pedals, or angled pedals using he brakets with he plate - forward or bacward
    - even with a plane he pedal plate i can angle pedals itself because he pedals provide such option
    However, it could be tricky to mount fanatec or thrustmaster pedals indeed, but that is not my concern anymore
    The new beefy one pedal mount in fact should be more stronger than mine. Besides there is no 100% garantee i will not have such a breakage as time follows up, because any welding contacts could be surprisingly fragile on some cases
    To summarise i can only claim our solutions with pedal mount with all seemingly difference are the same.
    Besides all my videos was made strictly for sharing my experience, i'm just a customer and user like all of you
    • Like Like x 1
  18. MacThai_75

    MacThai_75 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    California USA
    Balance:
    439Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    BTW: what do you mean mine is a special case?
    What are you doing to fix it?
    And what exactly does "we have taken full responsibility" even mean?
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016
  19. DOFreality

    DOFreality New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    73Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 5 / -0
    We got quotes from DHL and other courier services and numbers we got are about $ 1,000 USD (for two boxes of 77 pound total).
    Is this amount affordable for you and other hobby customers?
    Our mission to help enthusiasts to get affordable working out of the box platform so we choose the only option of express shipping available.
    All we asked for now is to give us and post service a bit more time. You've decided not to trust us and in order to protect yourself open PayPal dispute so now we have full amount of the payment you did (product + shipping) locked by PayPal so we can't use this money neither to purchase new components and build the missing pieces for you nor re ship them to you.
    We make platforms on order and not a big business that can afford such an impacts on the cash flow.
    We do understand that people in US used to have such levels of customer service and immediate reshipping on first request, but again we ask just for you patience and time so we can work things out. Now we don't have money and will have to invest from personal funds to find the solution.
    I think from your side putting pressure on USPS for loosing the huge box will help.
  20. MacThai_75

    MacThai_75 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    California USA
    Balance:
    439Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    Once again ... what specifically do you mean when you say ... "Yours is the special case, that we have taken full responsibility to fix."?
    What does that really mean .... in clear terms that actually define exactly what you are doing/will do?
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2016