1. Hundreds of coffees, endless nights of debugging and coding, and countless feedback by our beta testers led to this new major release. SimTools 2.4 is probably the version with the most upgrades and improvements in a single release ever. Look at everything Dustin has included:
    SimTools 2.4 all features.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. Soma888

    Soma888 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2018
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Balance:
    149Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Have you got screen shots of how your axis are setup? Spit40 makes a good point by starting with aerofly, if that works then you know it may be something related to DCS. I had my DCS working well for a night, played it again 2 days later and it was not as smooth as before. Not sure what caused it to change. I remember reading about having your region settings correct as some regions use a comma instead of a decimal to separate numbers e.g. 4.30 vs 4,30. I can’t remember which code it was - if it was the plugin or the lua.
  2. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Balance:
    1,330Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1 / -0
    Looking forward to hear your feedback.
    I have ordered too the p3 with the upgrade so probably we will face the same setup "challenges".
    I am new at car simulators , so I have no clue of what to expect and how to handle it.
    Are you an expert on it?
  3. Grant Bagwell

    Grant Bagwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    126Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I also have a Vive Pro and I do find the cable a lot thicker than the standard Vive or Oculus. Overall this isn't a bad thing but does tend to have a weight. I find it a little difficult to get it in a position whereby I son't feelit when I turn my head. Then again for most race games it is rare that I a looking anywhere but forward.

    Hopefully the leak is true and the wireless module will be out in October (and for $300) and then all cables worries are out the window.
  4. Grant Bagwell

    Grant Bagwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    126Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I am also looking to purchase the P3, as soon as the GBP -> USD picks up a little bit. I was thinking about the H3 but for the extra $700 I think I would prefer a stronger system that will last longer. Reading people who already have theirs ordered is making me a bit itchy to press the button. Impressions and tips are always welcome!
  5. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I'm just getting into this - No expert...just reading and learning as much as I can before the system arrives
    • Like Like x 1
  6. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Balance:
    1,330Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1 / -0
    Great. We are on the same page then and go through the same.

    When are you going to get your system ?

    Did you choose to get the p3 first and then the p6 updated when it becomes available ?
  7. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I'm a complete newbie to motion sim, but have read this entire string (thank you, everyone).
    A couple questions on the P6.
    1. Does it use the same motors as the P3? P6 must if it is an upgrade to P3.
    2. If the P3 is so critical on having balance correct (motors don't work well with any extra weight), how do the P3 motors support the whole platform?
  8. greatg67

    greatg67 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Balance:
    311Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    I noticed that there does not appear to an E-Stop on the P3. Has anyone implemented a safety circuit?
  9. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Just pushed the buttons on a P3 with a Logitech wheel and pedals.
    Will try to run it with my present computer and big TV.
    Time will tell.
    • Like Like x 1
  10. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    184
    Balance:
    1,330Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1 / -0
    I was told that the p3 would would be the base for the p6. We have no info on the p6 layout. It is still in developing. So these are good points to think about and to ask the dofreality crew. Most probably they are themselves looking into all that for the past few weeks and for a few weeks more.
  11. Benji85

    Benji85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2018
    Messages:
    132
    Balance:
    770Coins
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Do yourself a favour and get vr - you won't regret it ;)
    E.D , dirt rally and projects 2 are all fantastic with my rift and there are loads of other cool games to try out to!
  12. Mousetrap

    Mousetrap New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Occupation:
    Retired EE
    Location:
    Deep North of Minnesota, USA
    Balance:
    163Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    I might try VR if I can get a good deal on a headset with the right side non-functional (my right eye is non-existent).
    But I have heard that some of the information is presented solely to one side.
  13. Grant Bagwell

    Grant Bagwell New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Balance:
    126Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    I doubt this will be true. Although some information may be laid out on the right side of the screen it is still visible with the left eye. In 3+ years VR experience I can't think of a single time something has only appeared in one eye (unless it was a bug)
  14. TR1PL3D

    TR1PL3D New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2018
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    UK
    Balance:
    133Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Motion platform
    I have also ordered a P3 and it is currently on its way to me, very excited!

    I will be using my OSW MiGE system with it. I hope that the frame can handle the forces of the DD wheel!

    That concern does lead me on to a question about pedals. Currently I have the Fanatec V3 pedals, but I want to upgrade these to the Heusinkveld ultimate pedals.

    But looking at the first few pages of this thread, I see another P3 owner had to reinforce his P3 due breakage of the pedal mount area. He is also using Heusinkveld pedals!

    Is the P3 strong enough to handle both the DD wheel and the Heusinkveld pedals?

    Anyone other member on here use the Heusinkveld pedals with the P3.

    Also, I myself am not a small person weighing in at 100kg!

    Perhaps I should have asked these questions before purchasing!
  15. cobra83400

    cobra83400 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Balance:
    52Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hello

    I asked myself the same question as you today.
    And here is their answer this Morning


    >Have you done a few things to make the pedalboard stronger?

    Yes, long ago

    >Can you do more solid on request (pedalier, shifter ..)

    all platforms are now solid

    >Do you have a video on the P6?

    yes , we are working on releasing P6 (6 DOF) and upgrades

    final design is not finished, but we will keep upper frame part that is moving now as is and provide new lower frame to mount 3 existing and 3 new motors with another control box to move the frame in all directions.
    we need about 4 weeks

    this is early prototype https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GB0oLa-yCss
    • Like Like x 1
  16. optical10

    optical10 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Balance:
    572Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    My ordered P3 hasn't arrived yet so I was wondering if somebody can do me a favour and measure the height from the bottom of the seat frame to the top where the seat is fitted and the same from the floor to the top of the wheel stand platform please?
    I need to know whether my current computer desk needs to be replaced by a TV/monitor adjustable height stand if needs be as the P3 definitely looks like a higher seating position So I presume my line of sight in its current lower position for the TV would be obscured partially?
  17. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,226Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    imma stop you right there. You NEED to get a vr headset. Get a samsung windows mixed reality headset. Would be perfect for cockpit only games
  18. optical10

    optical10 Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    Messages:
    73
    Balance:
    572Coins
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Who knew samsung @£350-£399 was better lens (Youtube) at than Vive Pro £799 with same screens! I was waiting for the Pimax 8K but £1000 min (I've got no sensors etc) the samsung is a no-brainer for now , plus saves my room reshuffle.
    Gr8 Tom's Hardware Review here.

    So thanks Mpmo, I owe-u-one :cheers;)
    • Like Like x 1
  19. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,226Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    Does anyone have gta 5? if yes, can you please test it with doreality? cause i'm having issues where i get sudden movement in the left side while i'm driving sometimes. And the guy who made the plugin for gta isn't having this issue, so it might be from the motion sim i'm using..
  20. Mpmo

    Mpmo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2017
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    United Arab Emirates
    Balance:
    1,226Coins
    Ratings:
    +27 / 2 / -0
    np brodie :)