1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. Claudio Bello

    Claudio Bello Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Brasil
    Balance:
    11Coins
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Good job ... my congratulations
  2. hazardic

    hazardic m3gt2 fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    Yeah i decided to make it bounded with the whole frame. Didn't use static mount yet though. Haven't noticed any issues except the need of resetting the view from time to time. In the last video i wasn't doing it very often but on previous it was more often. I heard this problem relates to any motion rig
  3. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thinking about taking the plunge and buying the pro kit. Quick question what the life span of these motors, how do they compare as far as speed and reliability compared to scn5 actuators. I know the wiper Motors are stronger just worried about their speed and long term reliability.
  4. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Well i just pulled the trigger and bought the pro version
  5. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hopefully the pro is the bottom one, I have a obutto revolution and the wheel holder is rock solid. I would also like to know if my the pro I ordered comes with the reinforced wheel holder.
  6. Radioproffi

    Radioproffi Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Запоріжжя
    Balance:
    1,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Thank you for your interest

    Right, on some videos binding for wheel and gearbox are different. As for now, working system in PRO and HOME versions is as on picture attached below. It's driven by intent to achieve more compactness and more comfortable seat, that's why I'm not using one centerpost. It has enough hardness even for Accuforce Direct Drive wheel .

    photo_2016-09-07_19-03-44.jpg
  7. Ruszek83

    Ruszek83 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Balance:
    64Coins
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    That is my concern as well.
    I am considering buying proversion, but I want to be sure my OSW will be rock solid, as I like to drive with a lot of FFB.
    I had to weld my obutto revolunion because it gave way to much flex here.
    FB_IMG_1472643422677.jpg
  8. Radioproffi

    Radioproffi Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Запоріжжя
    Balance:
    1,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Today completed work on a new one.

    Dynkit Pro, keyboard and monitor holder, Logitech G25, seat DXRACER.



    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  9. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Nice looking forward on receiving mine
  10. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Just bought this seat for the dkp

    image.png
    • Like Like x 1
  11. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    886Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    this looks great, has anyone tried with DCS or any combat flight sim? how does it feel?

    besides the chair, what else would i need to buy to make this complete? (I already have a rift CV1 and joystick)

    i was thinking of trying to build my own but at this price, i'm more inclined to just buy the pro version

    thanks
  12. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    886Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    sorry to hear that. i'm used to stuff vanishing into the either on the way to Thailand, but that's mostly cheap chinese junk and i just get them to send another.

    good luck with your plan B

    i don't know how they could send it 'USPS Priority International,' from Ukraine, that sounds fishy. i have some Ukrainian friends, if you want, i can ask them to call and maybe find out what's really going on.
  13. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    image.jpeg I had an issue with my package also at USPS customs. It was delayed for 10 days there. I don't think it's the shippers fault, but the inefficiency of the government workers at the postal service. I received my rig and put it together in about 30 minutes. The software took me longer but the seller has been helpful. Just hang in there, it's amazing after opening a case with USPS the package arrived a few days later. I still need to tweak some things, like wobbly wheel holder for my extremely heavy big MiGE and mount for warthog throotle. Overall I'm happy with it.
    • Like Like x 2
  14. steveh2112

    steveh2112 Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    104
    Occupation:
    semi retired
    Location:
    Phuket, Thailand
    Balance:
    886Coins
    Ratings:
    +18 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    ok, but obviously they sent it Ukrainian post with tracking number, not USPS, that's only available in US and territories and probably millitary bases i think.
  15. hazardic

    hazardic m3gt2 fan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Balance:
    393Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, Arduino
    that is a horrible news.. i have a similar issue except the usa was a origin sender country. anyway, i hope it will go well
    congrats on receiving how the base mount handles your osw? i remember you was worrying enough
  16. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,937
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    17,401Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,821 / 16 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    @aceinthesky: Yes, Mige Direct Drives are really HEAVY!
    By the way, maybe you could flip your motor by a quarter turn in order to have the sockets on the side and not in front of your eyes :)
  17. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    22,483Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,696 / 14 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    If he is using CV1 as shown in the picture above, then maybe it will not matter :).
    • Agree Agree x 1
  18. Radioproffi

    Radioproffi Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Запоріжжя
    Balance:
    1,572Coins
    Ratings:
    +59 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Unfortunately with this we have problems, now I think on a new mount for steering.

    I think we will find a solution, I still think that we should wait a little more at least until the end of next week.
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
  19. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    I'm going to install some brackets with two seaflo fans on both sides of the motor ( I know more weight on the wheel base lol) so the sockets need to be in middle. I have been thinking about it more and the wheel mount probably needs three legs. One on the opposite side of the current leg and one that goes from the wheel base to the front of rig. This would give it 3 anchor points. I just hope the Motors are up to the task having all that weight up front. They seem to already be struggling going up when flying flight sims, and using full travel of rig. By the way I'm still missing 3 buttkickers up front. Earlier in the thread I expressed concern for stability of the wheel mount and was told the mount is quite adequate, even for a direct drive wheel. The seller did say he was going to make some extra supports for wheel so I'm waiting on that.
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2016
  20. aceinthesky

    aceinthesky Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Pearland, TX
    Balance:
    267Coins
    Ratings:
    +21 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    You have to talk to a live agent. I think you press 3. You can also go by your local post office and ask the manager there for the local representative that researches lost packages in your area. I've been through this lost a few times lol.
    • Useful Useful x 1