1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Low cost 2DOF/3DOF/6DOF motion simulator - DOF REALITY

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by Radioproffi, May 23, 2016.

  1. BJU

    BJU New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Germany, Kürten
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Hi there - my damper order is in final transfer. I will give an update, once it is installed. Really looking forward a future, more smooth movement, as the P3 is a little "jiggly" (is that word even existing?).

    @RCFlyer Did those dampers had a positive influence on the sidewards movement, caused by freeplay of rig give in its center joint?
  2. BJU

    BJU New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Germany, Kürten
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I did modify the external power supply of my DOF Realiy P3 setup. Optimized noise level from 50 to 40 dB.
    A related HOW TO will be prepared in short ...

    Turbine noise of coolers is gone and history now.
    • Like Like x 2
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. BJU

    BJU New Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Germany, Kürten
    Balance:
    9Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Damper finally arrived. But how disappointing! Almost zero effect (at least not for me). Still a lot of gearbox lash, causing complete setup to shake up as hell once system moves down (with and wihtout load on it).
    Not really as expected. I now even fear, that this extra damper friction will cause increasing wear out effect on motors, too. On each damper is an adjustment wheel to set up damping force (in total 24 clicks possibleb in rotation).
    I tried almost every position, but it does not change much. There is also no describtion (expect this amateur installation video on their homepage). So - not really clear how much extra effort is given on that damper by the adjustment wheel.

    If anyone from DOF reality team does see this thread - any optimization suggestion is highly welcome.


    Ah - and additionally of course their protection cover also does now not fit any longer, at least the extended damper rod will now poke into it while every movement. And this damper rod is now exactly in the sim seat entrance area, which might be a critical lifetime topic in respect to rod misuse in case of hitting / kicking it to hard.
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2020
  4. Tororo

    Tororo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    Yes, and I installed it by following the installation video on their damper product page without any problem. Just need to make sure movements for both directions on damper (I left equal length of exposed silver bar out of top and bottom from the damper outer casing) while locking the mounting clamp down.
  5. Tororo

    Tororo New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    81Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    The gearbox lash is still there, but the damper slowed it down with the hydraulic damping effect to the point it just blends in with the ending of real gear movement, so I don't really feel the jerky movement that bounce me around once the gearbox stop rotating. I need to leave the rotation knob setting to 3 clicks from maximum with my body weight and the setup, mind you I don't have the heaviest setup though (Thrustmaster T300s + Clubsport v3 pedals and shifters + analog seq shifter/handbreaks). Did you leave both top and bottom silver bar equal length when locking the clamp onto the outer casing to allow the damping effect on both directions? Did you have your setup balanced properly on the pivot point? I did find the motors heat up faster since now it uses extra effort to move the damper friction too, I'm wondering if setting up a cooling device would help prolonging the motor lifespan.
  6. GWiz

    GWiz Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    Messages:
    61
    Occupation:
    Dentist
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Balance:
    530Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sorry to hear that @BJU.

    I ordered the dampers for my P6 which really just consist of 3 gas struts and some mounting hardware but I can report to any others with a H6 or P6 that these work really well. The shake has been eliminated and having 3 dampers spread around the cradle gets rid of the asymmetric movement I was getting with my DIY version that I posted a video of. (I had dampers on the front only).

    There is a very slight delay/speed reduction in the rig's movement as the dampers stop the rig from moving quite as fast in a full DOF movement (0-100%) but this would be a particularly violent movement in normal usage and I haven't noticed any difference when using it in VR other than no longer having the shake/wobble at certain times.

    I always used to get a bit of a wobble at Brands Hatch after the first tight bend, coming down towards the left hander but now all movements are equally smooth and overall more immersive.

    Overall, a highly recommended upgrade for any H6/P6 users, just a shame it sounds like the H3/P3 still has wobble problems.
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Jorant

    Jorant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I think I may give up on vr in this rig and do triple screens (damn lack of any real motion cancelation on my hp reverbs). I have a p3, but would like to upgrade to p6, if only I had a good way to mount a triple screen to this. Has anyone mounted triples to their p3 or p6 yet? Any stands you could recomend?
  8. isamu

    isamu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2 / -0
    Why not sell the reverb and get one of the Pimax HMDs? Either the 8K+ or wait for the 8KX. They have very good motion compensation/cancellation from what I've read.
  9. Jorant

    Jorant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Balance:
    281Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    That's just it. From what I read, the HP reverb would have been okay for this too. I'm tired of it. So has anyone connected a triple to their p3 or p6?
  10. Brass Yeti

    Brass Yeti All show - No go

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    298Coins
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    For anyone who plays project cars 2, traction loss for my P3 stopped working. I don't think I changed any settings, but I could be wrong. I can get it to move left and right output testing Extra 1, but it does not move in the game. Are these the right settings?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
  11. Marcelo Figueiredo

    Marcelo Figueiredo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Messages:
    23
    Balance:
    204Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I have a H3 platform and my Motor 3(Traction) is locked.
    I'm using SMC3 Tools to release, but is not working.
    I tried to set the clip and limit to 0 and didn't work too.

    Any suggestion?

    thanks
  12. KydDynoMyte

    KydDynoMyte Fool's Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    RTP, NC
    Balance:
    59Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    It's a little ironic that with triple monitors attached, your reverb would probably lock onto those and solve your motion cancellation issue.
  13. DOFreality

    DOFreality Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Montreal
    Balance:
    335Coins
    Ratings:
    +44 / 5 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    pls contact our support directly, this thread is not proper place for troubleshooting
    • Informative Informative x 1
  14. Mohammed

    Mohammed Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Qatar
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    I am using Simtools 2.4 with P3. I am unable to save the OUT Type in the 2D Advanced mode to Rotational and I have to assign it every time I start Simtools. Any advice will be appreciated.
  15. marco balletta

    marco balletta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2018
    Messages:
    185
    Balance:
    1,380Coins
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1 / -0
    Hi. Do you have instructions for their installations? I have a P6 but i had never a chance to install the new parts to remove all the shaking?

    Also, what a p6 without these new parts gain and lose compared to a p6 mountain these new parts?

    Thanks
  16. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    +1
  17. Mohammed

    Mohammed Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Qatar
    Balance:
    108Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF
    You mean you have the same issue?
  18. Javo5

    Javo5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Balance:
    243Coins
    Ratings:
    +51 / 3 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Yes:
  19. Takumivs

    Takumivs Project CPT

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Occupation:
    Electronic/ Mechanical Engineer
    Location:
    South Africa
    Balance:
    - 54Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, AC motor, SCN5, SCN6, Arduino, Joyrider
    I tell what 5 years of Iracing sub will cover for this rig setup. wish they were sold here in ZA. shipping would cost alot with customs
  20. Nick Moxley

    Nick Moxley Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    2,785
    Occupation:
    Owner/Operator- Moxleys Rantals
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
    Balance:
    17,363Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,496 / 30 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, 3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    At what point in expressing Ones personal opinions about their personal experiences with a Particular product is deemed a Negative impact on the community ?