1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Issues on setting up interface for non DIY system

Discussion in 'Commercial Simulators and Peripherie' started by HG_GT, May 28, 2019.

  1. HG_GT

    HG_GT New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi everybody,

    luckily I am supposed to enable our companies Bosch-Rexroth e-Series motion system for gaming purposes in order to use it for in-house teambuilding events. I am not sure whether you rate this as commercial interest or not - please let me know if you see any issues!

    The controller of this rig has a very specific interface and requires the input of a constant number of quantities (e.g. frame count, coordinates, velocities, accelerations). If the game engine only uses accelaration e.g., all the other values of the data set have to be set "0". All the motion cueing is done by the controller itself. We can see that our controller already receives date from SimTools but not in the right format/size.

    After reading the interface coding manuals I have some questions on how to build this interface:
    1. The SimTools network interface allows me to determine output configurations for startup, Interface and Output, all of this is needed by our controller. For our purpose I think we need to set these in the code...
      1. How can I include a variable frame count according to the output rate, starting with 1...x for Startup, x+1....y for interface and y+1...z for output. x can be determined by waiting for the response of the controller, that the startup position has been reached or by sending the startup parameters over a certain constant period of time that we know the system needs to get in that position
      2. With a given game plugin we can assign the movement-parameters to the respective axes. Unfortunaltely the Game Plugin Conventions regarding the units do not match the controller requirements. Where can I convert degrees in rad? What is the unit for distances in gaming convention: meter or milimeter?
    2. Is there a game plugin convention for the setup of the center of gravity/center of rotation? Most interesting: is the center of rotation usually aligned with the theretical driver hip-point?
    3. How can I test the format of the output of sim tools in order to compare it with the output log we normally get from our sim-software. I tried to set up the memory-map using the manual, but I failed.
    I would really appreciate your help. I hope I can answer all your questions in the course of finding a solution.

    Cheers!
  2. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    2,145
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    16,575Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,831 / 32 / -1
    You will need to write a custom Simtools plugin using vb.net to add count, convert rads etc., and send it to your controller in the format you require.
    Last edited: May 28, 2019
  3. HG_GT

    HG_GT New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    31Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @BlazinH Thanks for your reply. Thats what I figured out as well. Unfortunately I do not have the (vb.net) programming skills to do so and would need some help with that.

    I was wondering if anybody here could help me with that and what a good procedure would be to do so in this forum.

    Using the Network-Interface example/draft from the Tutorial (https://www.xsimulator.net/communit...ugin-for-simtools-2-0-api-documentation.8813/) I have some questions:

    1. The GameStart Function in the exampe seems to be a static one, using one input string from the user form. I would need a variing sequence of input strings for the frames 1...x. How can I realize this?
    2. The Game_SendValues Function seems to get the quantities from the respective axes sent by the game engine plugin. In my opinion I would need to add the count (and further quantities needed for the controller) and the conversion here. What I do not get is: how can the 'count++' be implemented here?
    As I said, my programming skills are not good enough to understand too much of how the code works in order to create an output sequence like

    upload_2019-5-28_19-23-9.png
    Can someone help me with this?

    Thanks in advance!
    Cheers!