1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Is this motor any good for belt tensioner?

Discussion in 'Motor actuators and drivers' started by Krzysztof Dej, Nov 9, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi I have motor like this :
    brush motor: 12V
    power: 120W
    no-load speed: 3350 RPM
    RPM under load: 2500 RPM
    no-load current: 1,2 A
    current under load: 15,4 A
    torque 0.46 N.m.
    motors include a roller.
    S2 operation type
    I can't set it in Smc3Utils to grab belt. Looks like no enough power. Pwm max is 255
    Is is a low torque or my settings?

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,810
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    29,379Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,127 / 38 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform
    What gearbox are you using?
  4. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    None
  5. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,810
    Occupation:
    Retired
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    Balance:
    29,379Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,127 / 38 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform
    You need a gear box of some sort to increase the torque. Search recent DIY belt tensioner projects to get a better idea of what is required.
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Any uniwersal gearbox for motor with Q8 shaft?
  7. adgun

    adgun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    462
    Occupation:
    mechanic
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Balance:
    5,318Coins
    Ratings:
    +114 / 3 / -0
    if i am correct the motor got a htd3m pulley, but i am not shure ,if so you could use a 72 tooth htd3m pulley and same belt. to get the needed torque the motor pulleys are 16 tooth this gives 1.89nm of torque with a 4,5 reduction , you get a speed of 600mm sec and a force of 19 kg at rated power upon a 20mm thick shaft
  8. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,078 / 21 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    reading the title I thought you were looking for advice before buying

    but I understand it's already in a prototype? Do you have pictures?

    not enough power? even without the belt?
  9. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Witout belt it's working good, but when Stretches to the max crashes Smc3Utils
    I even decrease KP to 250 and kd to 300. Pw max and pwrew r 255. Pwmin r50 becouse when increase motor going to be unstable when changing directions.
    Spec:
    brush motor: 12V
    power: 120W
    no-load speed: 3350 RPM
    RPM under load: 2500 RPM
    no-load current: 1,2 A
    current under load: 15,4 A
    torque 0.46 N.m.
    motors include a roller.
    S2 operation type

    Attached Files:

    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. RacingMat

    RacingMat Well-Known Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,243
    Location:
    Marseille - FRANCE
    Balance:
    20,616Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,078 / 21 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino
    Do you have pictures of the setup itself? Maybe some mechanical optimization would help?
  11. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yes maybe later but for me it's insane that 120 wat motor can't handle it. I wondering to add some springs to decrease tension but RC serwo 60 kg works fine.
  12. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Different motor for now but it's look like this

    Attached Files:

  13. fabrizio1203

    fabrizio1203 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    As far as I understand you should consider to reduce the rpm at least ten times (10:1 gear) in order to get a sufficient torque from that motor
  14. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    OK thanks a lot but now how to that gear? Any uniwersal?
  15. fabrizio1203

    fabrizio1203 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2022
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Italy
    Balance:
    - 12Coins
    Ratings:
    +7 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform
    Actually I started my project considering to buy motors and gear separately but it seemed to become a little too complicated to me so I eventually ordered two geared motors (wheelchair spares).
    I've seen many gear groups on sale but I was concerned about the actual compatibility with the motor shaft diameter, lenght and fixings.
    I'm sorry I can't help you
    • Informative Informative x 1
  16. Krzysztof Dej

    Krzysztof Dej Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2020
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Poland
    Balance:
    949Coins
    Ratings:
    +67 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Yeah I saw that too. Anyway thanks for sharing your thoughts, and good luck with your project
    • Like Like x 1