1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

Question How bad is this motor for a 2dof with traction loss

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by deaddudehangin, Nov 28, 2018.

  1. deaddudehangin

    deaddudehangin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    4661, 1/17 Hp, 42 Rpm, 60:1, 65 Lb-in., 24A4BEPM-Z3


    Basically I found this motor for a fantastic deal and miss read the torque figure. I thought I said lbs-ft not lbs-in. The amount of amps it draws should of been the first clue that I must of mis-read something. Either way. Would this motor work at all? I have ran these numbers though the sim calc but basically I am a bit lost. I am unsure what I should be looking at for numbers in the calculated fields.

    What kind of numbers should I be looking for in the sim calc program or have I made a horrible mistake in motor choice and these will never work?

    The rig will be made out of 80 20 and I am thinking the motors will be mounted behind the seat and the rod ends will go either under the seat(attached to the 80 20 frame) or up the back of the seat.

    Attached Files:

  2. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    4,293Coins
    Ratings:
    +104 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino
    I dont think they have enoigh torque

    Save them and use them for a seatbelt tightener
  3. deaddudehangin

    deaddudehangin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
    Thanks for the reply. So I'll save those motors for now. I did end up getting these(picture) tarp motors. According to the ebay post they are 600 watts but 12volts at 33 amps. Which should be around 400 watts no? It also says 60 rpm(at the output shaft) with 60:1 gearing. So I could get a tach and prove out the rpm. I guess how would I prove out the wattage or amperage? I have a 30 amp 12 volt psu and 2 750 watts server psu on the way. Is there a way to under amp(I know super technical term) the motor where maybe it would take less amps for less torque? I would imagin if it is 600 watts and 60 rpm the torque must be must be more than enough.

    I did search and see some people asked the same question about this motor(or at least similar ones) and there was someone who claims to of used it but I dont see any info on his posts about it.

    Attached Files:

  4. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,461 / 30 / -1
    I've used them and it didn't end up good. It has a bronze spur gear that deform's from stress and on mine teeth started breaking off eventually. It was a 90:1 though so had smaller teeth than 60:1.
  5. deaddudehangin

    deaddudehangin New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Balance:
    19Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0

    Ya the teeth should be bigger so hopefully more durable.
    Do you recall the amperage draw?
  6. BlazinH

    BlazinH Well-Known Member SimTools 2.0 Beta Tester

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,685
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, USA
    Balance:
    12,231Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,461 / 30 / -1
    You can't trust what people selling them on the Internet say and I didn't have the means to test mine at the time. But I have a different 600 watt motor I use now that draws 135 amps when stalled. However I use sabertooth 2x60s and they never shut down.