1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question Help with psu selection

Discussion in 'DIY Motion Simulator Building Q&A / FAQ' started by 29ford, Feb 27, 2022.

  1. 29ford

    29ford New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hey all.

    I have purchased some motors that I hope will be suitable for my rig that I want to start building. They are 24v electric wheel chair motors.
    The have a data sticker that says max Watts 520 .

    My question is would a 20a power supply be enough per motor or would I need some cushion say a 25 or 30a output.
    Any help would be appreciated

    I have attached a photo of the motor plate.

    Attached Files:

  2. Ads Master

    Ads Master

    Balance:
    Coins
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0 / -0
  3. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,760
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,700Coins
    Ratings:
    +413 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    The power supply will be subject to regenerative braking and may not like the changes in load

    what i did was very simple - use 2 x 12v batteries to power the motors - then use a smaller 24v power supply to keep the batteries topped up

    I run 6 motors x 800w this way

    a car battery is not expensive and you can buy cheap jump leads to use as high current wires

    the motors look decent - what is the gearbox rating and current ?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    this will help you work out amps
  4. 29ford

    29ford New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi gadget999

    Thanks for your reply that's a good idea. I am a little limited on space in my final location so was hoping to just run psu's but the batteries I will keep in mind. The gearboxes states 1:19.3.
  5. Gadget999

    Gadget999 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    1,760
    Location:
    London
    Balance:
    10,700Coins
    Ratings:
    +413 / 8 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, DC motor, Arduino, 6DOF
    how many motors / DOF are you building ?
  6. 29ford

    29ford New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Just a 2 DOF at the moment but plan on building it with chances of running a traction loss in the future. But defo 2 Dof at the moment as I only have 2 motors
  7. bob golding

    bob golding Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    penzance
    Balance:
    410Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    hi, worth looking on ebay. i just got a 3 kw psu for £120. normally these things are several hundred pounds new. i am not sure about the regenerative load. i am going to use h bridges so i think the regenerative load probably dissipated as heat though a blocking diode but have not checked that,.
  8. Escartiz

    Escartiz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2021
    Messages:
    34
    Balance:
    - 16Coins
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor
    I am using server power supplies, one per motor to lessen the risk of tripping them. I was advised to get plenty of overhead power to cope with the spikes generated. I went with 750w PSU's but you can find even larger like 1000w or more. For me, these turned out to be the least expensive option. You can find them very cheap on ebay. They are 12v each but with a small modification, you can put 2 in serial to generate 24v. I 3d printed caps to cover the exposed connections in the back for safety.
    • Like Like x 1
  9. bob golding

    bob golding Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Messages:
    45
    Occupation:
    retired
    Location:
    penzance
    Balance:
    410Coins
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    thanks, i managed to pick up a 3000 watt meawell one on ebay for a decnt price.
  10. 29ford

    29ford New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Balance:
    68Coins
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Thanks for all the feed back. I've managed to pick up a 1200w 24v psu for now so I will use that for testing and see how I get on from there.