1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

GTA Vice City Plugin Development

Discussion in 'SimTools Plugins' started by Pedro Pablo, Jun 27, 2016.

  1. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Hi

    Maybe you know me by "Plugin for Initial D Special Stage" and by a lot of question regarding to Wiper motors and physics in general . Now i'm in a adventure to make plugin for another game that maybe is not very accurate for a motion sim.

    I'm talking about Grand Theft Auto Vice City (my favourite GTA of all), but at least I have some documentation for this.

    I have this wiki http://www.gtamodding.com/wiki/Memory_Addresses_(VC) and this post http://gtaforums.com/topic/117195-documenting-gta3vc-memory-addresses/page-35#entry1060799390 which has a lot of info regarding to manipulate the game by memory addresses. The Vehicle Block section has info regarding to the car. By now i've used cheat engine to test this address

    0x7E49C0 - Pointer of player's car +
    • 0x04 - X Roll
    • 0x08 - Y Roll
    • 0x0C - Z Roll
    • 0x14 - X Direction
    • 0x18 - Y Direction
    • 0x1C - Z Direction
    • 0x24 - Last X Direction
    • 0x28 - Last Y Direction
    • 0x2C - Last Z Direction
    • 0x34 - X Position
    • 0x38 - Y Position
    • 0x3C - Z Position
    I understand roll as the rotation of the vehicle, direction is the orientation of the vehicle and position its the cartesian coordinate system on the game.

    Reading this post http://www.xsimulator.net/community/threads/gta5-plugin-help-pleeeease.8027/ I've got the same problem as @SilentChill, I can't have an stable value, I have big changes when i go uphill in different sectors for example. Maybe i have to follow @value1 advice and try to figure out how to get the transformation matrix and code it on the plugin.

    Fun Fact:

    0x7E49C0 is the Vehicle Pointer
    0x94AD28 is the Ped Pointer

    When the player is not in a car, the vehicle pointer changes to the ped pointer, and the X and Y values for Roll and Direction acts like the X and Y cam direction. But i don't think that will be significant for the plugin in SimTools.

    As always, any help will be appreciated, if you need screenshots please tell it. I'm still researching about PCSX2, Cheat Engine and wiper motors, but i'm in a good way in that, so I can have any news soon :D
  2. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,645
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,566 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    Hiya mate, all those addresses are just for calling the information in game you can't use them for Simtools, well I couldn't do anything with them in GTA5.

    Only way is to call the information on screen when playing the game then search for the float values in cheat engine. Its a long process but you should be able to find the rotation matrix.

    If you get the value for roll on screen make sure you convert it from degrees to radians as that is what is used in the float values, thats how I did it in GTA5
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    That's an option to use a tool to display the float values on screen. The bad thing is the game is kinda old, so trying to find a tool to display the values I'm looking for it more difficult that trying to find something in cheat engine.

    If there's another way to find the correct value without any other tool cheat engine.....
  4. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
  5. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,645
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    20,582Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,566 / 34 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Yeah I used a player position mod for GTA5 to get the values to search in cheat engine
  6. Pedro Pablo

    Pedro Pablo Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Occupation:
    Software Developer
    Location:
    Valparaiso, Chile
    Balance:
    599Coins
    Ratings:
    +47 / 0 / -0
    Well', i've got the player posotion via Cheat Engine. If I modify the value I can change it position ingame. Now i'm trying to get working the rotation (or direction) values. Maybe is that what @value1 was saying in the other topic with the transformation matrix