1. Do not share user accounts! Any account that is shared by another person will be blocked and closed. This means: we will close not only the account that is shared, but also the main account of the user who uses another person's account. We have the ability to detect account sharing, so please do not try to cheat the system. This action will take place on 04/18/2023. Read all forum rules.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  3. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  4. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant. Do not follow these rules can lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.
    Are you a company? Read our company rules

Question GP-bikes UDP plugin (and probably splash on MX-bikes)

Discussion in 'SimTools Plugins' started by Chris_Beeves, Dec 10, 2021.

  1. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    356
    Balance:
    2,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +250 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Hey guys!
    The old GP-bikes plugin is not working on newer versions of GP-bikes. It crashes simtools and takes the game with it.
    I need to get this working, since I will be building a motorcycle motion rig as my bachelors thesis starting January, and I wouldn't want to have to run motoGP18..

    The thing is, though I have some code hacking with arduinos and such, writing the plugin is a little over my level right now. So I was hoping you could help me out to make this happen!

    At this moment I have the Dirt2 UDP example plugin and some code that specify what bytes contain what data.

    I'm guessing my UDP decoding stuff needs to go under;
    upload_2021-12-10_20-8-4.png

    But I'm not really sure how to format this. Speed for example, I have something like this from the reference code (Processing):

    "
    // *** speed [m/s] ***
    pos = 33;
    speed = int(Float.intBitsToFloat((data[pos] & 0xff) | ((data[pos+1] & 0xff) << 8) | ((data[pos+2] & 0xff) << 16) | ((data[pos+3] & 0xff) << 24))); //*3.6
    "
    Are there more places in VB I need to hack away?
    Thanks in advance!
  2. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    356
    Balance:
    2,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +250 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    GP-bikes also has memory map (proxy output plugin), so maybe I will take that route instead.
    Anyone experienced in that?
  3. noorbeast

    noorbeast VR Tassie Devil Staff Member Moderator Race Director

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21,498
    Occupation:
    Innovative tech specialist for NGOs
    Location:
    St Helens, Tasmania, Australia
    Balance:
    150,608Coins
    Ratings:
    +11,017 / 55 / -2
    My Motion Simulator:
    3DOF, DC motor, JRK
    I know @yobuddy is busy with SimTools 3 development at the moment, but perhaps can assist when that is out the door as I am guessing plugins will likely need to be revamped for it.
  4. Chris_Beeves

    Chris_Beeves Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Messages:
    356
    Balance:
    2,052Coins
    Ratings:
    +250 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 4DOF
    Ooh, 3 is closing up?
    Yeah, I guess that will be the case. Thanks!
  5. yobuddy

    yobuddy Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator SimAxe Beta Tester SimTools Developer Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,375
    Occupation:
    Computer Technician
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon - USA
    Balance:
    50,302Coins
    Ratings:
    +5,149 / 18 / -0
    @Chris_Beeves
    If you can make a small 32bit vb.net app that simply catches and makes sense of the game data, I can roll it into a plugin pretty quick.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1