1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Download Package Now!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

FlyPT Mover

Discussion in 'FlyPt Mover' started by pmvcda, May 30, 2019.

  1. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Agree, but making it json or xml, makes it slower, and I want to squeeze all we can. Well, it's still fast.
    But for simplicity of use, a json (smaller than xml) string with the names used by DCS would be the way in my opinion.
  2. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Working on 2.9

    Some previews with a setup for DiRT Rally 2
    We can see the new CUBIC3 filter for traction loss working (around 10:00 minutes)



    Many changes and many loose points yet.
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Thanos

    Thanos Building the Future one AC Servo at a time... or 6

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    647
    Occupation:
    Electronics Engineer
    Location:
    United States
    Balance:
    3,980Coins
    Ratings:
    +531 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, Motion platform, 4DOF, 6DOF
    Great video, explaining the process of adding filters so well.

    When can we expect the v2.9.0? Kinda itchy to try the new cubic3 filter as yaw is terrible, jumping when going over 360 degrees...

    Really good piece of software!!

    Thanks
    Thanos
    • Like Like x 1
  4. cfischer

    cfischer Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Location:
    Colorado
    Balance:
    796Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    Excellent video! I'm excited.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF

    Need some more days to go through all sources and correct some bugs.
    Made some changes in received data, so I need to review most of the sources.
    Still need to work on the FSX plugin to make it compatible with x64.
    Running Mover in x64 is faster, specially in the interface updates, so I want to keep all on x64.
    • Like Like x 2
  6. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +216 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi,

    If you just could consider a “smooth exit” from “out of pose” when this feature is checked ( stay in last possible pose ), I would be 1000x thankful

    Cheers
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hello FlyPT,
    First, your software is amazing... Once I'm done with building my rig, I'll be making a good donation.

    I'd like to echo what @hexpod stated, but it could be I just don't know enough of your software on how to do this... ClearPath calls it "RAS" (Regressive Auto Spline)... Video LINK
    • The idea is to smooth motion from exiting a poss and finishing a poss, and the transitions (changes is velocity/torque and/or direction).

    Could you give examples on how to do this with your software? -- Or perhaps add it eventually to your software if it's not fully addressed yet?

    Again, perhaps your software can already do something like this, and if so, please give a few examples. The test would be to put the servo on a table (sitting freely, not bolted down), run it through a few rapid scenarios without it bouncing around too badly... This would translation to easy on your rigs (especially if you have monitors that are attached, which causes a long moment arm, like the weight on the arm in the video).
    ______________
    Best regards,
    Mark

    Attached are a few screenshots from the Video Link above...

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  8. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +216 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I am on clearpath and I am combining both RAS about 40ms and Mover LPF.

    If you want to “round” more the “entry curve”, you can put several LPF in cascade. Name for this is second order (two in a row) or third order (three LPF in a row)

    Cheers
  9. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +216 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda

    I am getting an error while trying to open FSX source for P3D

    I there a specific additional manipulation to be done or it should open out of the box ?

    Thanks
    4C91A8A4-B934-4D16-A356-CC3413C2899E.jpeg CD694EE8-EE58-49AD-B50A-8DA169978AA6.jpeg
  10. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +216 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    I don’t have the game installed, maybe that’s the problem.
  11. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    @hexpod
    FSX is not working...
    Have feedback from others saying the same.
    I made something on my old laptop for it to work, but I may have Alzheimer....
    Good news is that I'm now working on a dll for FSX, that allows us to use Mover in 64 bits. And that one works, while my first iteration in managed code is not working on my new laptop...
    Please wait for 2.9 to test FSX
    • Like Like x 2
  12. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Some of the new filters:

    upload_2020-1-18_17-37-12.png

    MALP = Median average of a specified number of samples
    MAHP = High pass with median average
    CUBIC = Cubic function of type: y=ax^3+bx^2+cx+d
    CUBIC3 = Cubic funcyion of type: y=ax^3
    ROLLOVER = Roll inside a specified range
    DIF = Diferential
    INT = Integration

    Might allow to play a bit more...
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
  14. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    oops.... part of my image got misaligned, sorry.

    This should be better...

    upload_2020-1-18_12-55-21.png
  15. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Forget to mention the input...

    upload_2020-1-18_13-29-13.png
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Yes, I understood, that's something I also want to add and it's missing.

    The best you can do now is this:

    upload_2020-1-18_18-30-8.png

    But the more you increase for exit smoothing, the more you loose in entry.
  17. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    If you do, it should be a great value to many... In the mean time, I'm playing around with the LDYNLP filter to help reduce the initial acceleration...
    upload_2020-1-18_14-39-45.png
  18. Mark Pattison

    Mark Pattison New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2019
    Messages:
    14
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    Michigan
    Balance:
    125Coins
    Ratings:
    +4 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Getting a little closer....
    upload_2020-1-18_15-37-46.png
    • Like Like x 1
  19. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    754
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,028Coins
    Ratings:
    +216 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    Hello,
    Apparently we have angular rates coming from P3D

    4509A9F4-7898-49C3-BE66-608DA1BDFA40.jpeg

    Waiting for native P3D support, what is the correct „game engine / mover“ setup to let through
    3accels /3 angular velocities ?

    I have strange values coming into Simtools MMF mover‘s module

    EEB7CFA7-E69E-4524-8BDE-92FF4AFF99AD.jpeg


    What DOF1 column order has to be chosen to get the P3D velocities from Simtools extras, correctly mapped in mover ?

    Thank you
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
  20. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    8,032Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,096 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Sorry for late reply,

    The correct order is to use this in SimTools:
    Axis1a = Sway
    Axis2a=Surge
    Axis3a=Heave
    Axis4a=Yaw
    Axis5a=Roll
    Axis6a=Pitch

    But you can also select in Mover the Simtools axis instead of accelerations/rotations.
    So if you have sway in axis 5, in Mover select:
    upload_2020-1-20_10-0-12.png

    But in this lat example, the received values are scaled to a range -10 and 10, while in the first example they come in a range of -100 to 100 and angles are remapped to degrees.
    Simply put, go with the first solution, the second one allows you to receive the extras in the b axis if you want to.