1. For downloading SimTools plugins you need a Download Package. Get it with virtual coins that you receive for forum activity or Buy Download Package - We have a zero Spam tolerance so read our forum rules first.

    Buy Now a Download Plan!
  2. Do not try to cheat our system and do not post an unnecessary amount of useless posts only to earn credits here. We have a zero spam tolerance policy and this will cause a ban of your user account. Otherwise we wish you a pleasant stay here! Read the forum rules
  3. We have a few rules which you need to read and accept before posting anything here! Following these rules will keep the forum clean and your stay pleasant here. Do not following these rules will lead to permanent exclusion from this website: Read the forum rules.

FlyPT Mover

Discussion in 'FlyPt Mover' started by pmvcda, May 30, 2019.

  1. wannabeaflyer2

    wannabeaflyer2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    london uk
    Balance:
    7,578Coins
    Ratings:
    +875 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Hi @pmvcda LOl gonna say what we all ready know ,and im not sucking up )-) you sir are the Boss . we know you go the extra mile but Damm we really appreciate it all .
    • Friendly Friendly x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    896Coins
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi again @pmvcda
    your serial string for the Odrive works!!!! Many thanks for your great and fast support!
    For documentations reasons here is my screenshot of the output serial window:
    Wickie

    Odrive-serial-string.JPG
    • Like Like x 1
  3. PeterW

    PeterW alias Wickie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2018
    Messages:
    93
    Occupation:
    Dipl. Ing. Mb (FH)
    Location:
    Germany
    Balance:
    896Coins
    Ratings:
    +219 / 1 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Hi @Trip Rodriguez
    Thanks for your funny words - I'm laughing my ass off
    You describe it exactly as it is and surely many of us have already experienced it.
    When it comes to electronics, I sometimes feel like a monkey playing with rocket technology...
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  4. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I'm glad you guys appreciated it, I wasn't sure it would come off correctly. =) That bit about the monkey is spot-on!

    Side note, when I wrote that post I had been up nearly 48 hours straight largely from trying to learn how to make moving assemblies in Fusion 360 and having it give me a very hard time. The root cause of the problem was copy/pasted components. I now know to use "copy new" instead! I fixed it and then had another major issue a couple hours later. I thought it was a different cause but turned out that when I 95% dismantled my assembly and fixed the copy/pasted stuff I had missed one small item..... I was drawing the bottom cushion assembly of my G-seat to make sure my own little 'innovation" would actually work before I spent money on parts, and it does. =) Anyone who hasn't started playing with CAD yet, do yourself a favor and check out Fusion 360. As long as you use youtube and google to learn it's much easier than I expected and hugely rewarding. I used sketchup some the past few years and I actually find F360 easier. If you don't use tutorials, you are likely to light fire to your PC out of frustration!

    @pmvcda hopefully in about two months I'm going to be working on setting up a non-standard motion sim, it should be interesting! I have to see what updates you've made so far to rig types. What I'm planning is two parts. First an advanced G-seat running on three motors. One is heave, one is pitch and surge, and one is roll and sway. The whole seat will pitch and roll a bit in addition to the usual G-seat features. Then that whole assembly and my cockpit are going on an "elevator" platform that will go only straight up and down and will have somewhere around 24-36" (600mm to 900mm) of travel, as much as possible without the overhead cockpit panels hitting the ceiling.

    I expect to use just my Thanos AMC1280 AASD-15, three different output channels for the G-seat, and the other three will all be working together to raise and lower the elevator so three channels with the same exact heave only output. Again, if this seems odd it's because I already bought the six servos so I'm using what I have.

    Anyway, it should be interesting to see how we might set this up in FlyPT Mover.
    • Like Like x 2
  5. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Just use the direct or multi direct modules.

    Sem nome.jpg

    With this module, you set the values you want to use for one actuator.
    You can select the filter to use for each value and the result is the sum of the filtered values.
    In the end,you can apply a filter to the actuator.
    The range defines the relation between the actuator travel and the calculated value.
    In the image -100 to 100 means the lower position of the actuator corresponds to a value of -100, while the upper one is 100.

    This is for one actuator. You can add the amount of those modules you want. So for 6 actuators, use 6 modules.

    I want to see that rig working. :thumbs

    EDIT: This module, allows the use of Mover in any rig.Not the use of the motion cuing algorithm. For that you have to wait for the custom rig module.
  6. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    That looks perfect. =) I'm very excited to get it built and running and look forward to showing it off.
  7. SilentChill

    SilentChill Problem Maker

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,563
    Occupation:
    Railway Maintenance
    Location:
    Morecambe, Lancashire, England
    Balance:
    19,801Coins
    Ratings:
    +3,364 / 33 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Arduino, Motion platform, 6DOF

    and when FS2020 comes out we will be in dreamland !!!
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    Agree, so advanced it is almost like a dream :). They must have some code made by aliens for it to do all the processing that will needed to be done, to implement all those high tech features and graphical clarity on today's hardware.
    • Agree Agree x 3
  9. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I won't be in dreamland until it's got VR support (which is now "high priority" according to the devs), helicopters and gliders! ;)
    • Agree Agree x 1
  10. hexpod

    hexpod http://heXpod.xyz

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    Messages:
    814
    Location:
    berlin
    Balance:
    5,149Coins
    Ratings:
    +234 / 2 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, 6DOF
    As I understood this stuff it’s not really about “today’s hardware” it’s so called “cloud computing” named azure.
  11. SeatTime

    SeatTime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2,447
    Location:
    Newcastle Australia
    Balance:
    27,310Coins
    Ratings:
    +2,739 / 32 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    DC motor, Motion platform, 6DOF
    True, but you are also meant to be able to cache areas and run it off-line ... so that is still allot of processing CPU/GPU that needs to be done in your own computer. We will see how this all works out over the internet - maybe I'm just being a touch pessimistic, especially as I am only interested in VR, which will generate even higher loads and maybe why they were first not even going to go there.
  12. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have an internet friend who was one of the invitees to that first press demo and he said that on the topic of VR the developers just had no idea how much demand there was for VR in this market segment. Keep in mind that in every sector other than simulation VR is still basically a niche market. They were caught totally off guard by the chorus of voices demanding VR! Fortunately these are also developers who have demonstrated that they listen the the community and react accordingly.

    I agree that expectations must be curbed, this much hype is near guaranteed to lead to disappointment. I think it's probably going to be pretty great, but still very far from perfect. The photogrammatry on the forests for example, taken from public images/videos.

    Attached Files:

  13. benmax

    benmax Active Member Gold Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Balance:
    1,303Coins
    Ratings:
    +49 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    2DOF
    Hi ,
    Thinking about one thing I remember for other software .With other software you can map joystick as input to move the rig . In some case ( without plugin) you can move the rig only with a stick !
    Is it already possible ?
    It’s just a notice thinking about your software .
    Thx for your amazing job !
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2019
  14. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I have it started, but it's far from done...
    But it's going to be in Mover
    • Like Like x 3
    • Winner Winner x 1
  15. xplaner

    xplaner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Oztralia
    Balance:
    - 7Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    pmvcda ,

    I missed your birthday on the 26th , but I would be pleased to buy you a copy of Condor 2 to help make the source module.

    I checked on the condorsoaring website , but there appears to be no facility to buy and send a gift copy .

    Can I send you a donation somehow ?

    Thanks , xplaner.
    • Like Like x 1
  16. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thank's,

    If you want to, you can donate by clicking the button on the Paypal.me that appears in the main window of Mover.
  17. xplaner

    xplaner New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Oztralia
    Balance:
    - 7Coins
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    AC motor, 6DOF
    Excellent , I'll do that
  18. Trip Rodriguez

    Trip Rodriguez VR Pilot

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Messages:
    649
    Location:
    Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
    Balance:
    4,238Coins
    Ratings:
    +299 / 4 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    I've been thinking about buying Condor 2 for a while, and except for having to pay for a copy of it (Condor 2), direct support for it is something I'd definitely like to see. My only real-life stick time was four short glider lessons and I loved it.

    Also happy belated birthday FlyPT! I missed it too.
  19. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    Thank's.

    Next build is almost ready. Not perfect, but comes already with the first implementation for FSX that should be compatible with P3D.
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  20. pmvcda

    pmvcda aka FlyPT

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Portugal
    Balance:
    9,485Coins
    Ratings:
    +1,273 / 13 / -0
    My Motion Simulator:
    6DOF
    FlyPT Mover 2.8.0

    New version with:

    -Executable for 64 bits and for 32 bits (please compare).

    -First pass on FSX source (still WIP).
    upload_2019-12-7_0-14-36.png
    Port to P3D is easy, but will be done when this one is more stable.
    Works only in the 32 bit version of Mover.

    -We can now record all the received data in the sources.
    Press the square with the red circle in the sources.

    -New player source, to play the recorded files.
    Plays also files generated by PhyPhox.
    Recognises zip files that must include the files:
    Accelerometer.csv
    Gyroscope.csv
    Linear Acceleration.csv
    They should be exported from the PhyPhox application in the comma dot decimal format .
    Still problems with games that use two sources. Sorry.

    -To play a PhyPhox file or use the PhyPhox source directly with the phone, use the recommended filters.
    upload_2019-12-7_0-29-34.png
    The above setup is available in the samples folder (not the phyphox file).

    -New filter operations:
    SUB to subtract a value
    MINCROP to limit values to a minimum
    MAXCROP to limit values to a maximum

    -Solved many small bugs, but made a new bunch of them...

    -New rotations on the sources for testing (looking for the best solution):
    Rotation position with values from -180 to 180º where going beyond the limits, makes rig jump to the other side (181º is -179º)
    Rotation rollover the above range rolls between -90 and 90º. If angle above 90º it starts decreasing to 0º, so 180º results in 0º. Use it with a logistic to limit the 90º to the range you have in the rig.
    Rotation turns counts the turns we make and gives us an absolute angle, so if you are at 20º after one turn, the angle is 380º
    Rotation variation is the amount of angle variation we have since the last calculation. Use it with a gain of 40 and a low pass filter.

    Download in the first post as usual.
    • Winner Winner x 5
    • Like Like x 1